Curt wants to buy a bra

for the Subaru. I am opposed to this on several levels…the most prominent being that I do not feel 5 years and 70,000 miles is old enough to start wearing foundations. And, while we’re on the subject, why in tarnation does a bug deflector share the same name with supporter-of-life-giving-milk-producers? Honestly. You’d think in our ridicluous and expansive English/American language that we could come up with two different names. Please.

In other news, I’d like to share with you that I may die soon from icky-river-foot/unknown-water-bourne-pathogen-in-questionable-water-source disease. It’s so true. Last night Curt and I went out the the old farm to clear a pathway for driving and walking without losing limbs to wild thornage and I, Mary Kathryn, slipped into the creek. All the way in…landed on the rock I was trying to ‘hop’ (so questionable) to and came out soaked and carrying a heavy load of silt in my shoes. What’s even more fabulous is the seaweed- you heard me– that I pulled out of my socks 3 hours later when we returned home. It’s a seasonal inland creek, people. Where’s the seaweed coming from? Please excuse the photo. I was trying not to cry. In fact, I look like an alien. But look at the big shrub-chompers I was weilding!

This would be a good time to let y’all in on the news that earlier this summer Curt and I bought some property 35 miles from downtown GR with the intent of building later later much later. It’s a true dream come true for this personal-space-impaired girl who would likes neighbors to be miles away. For now, it shall be prime camping and hiking ground. There are so few places left in this world that are still wild and undeveloped. We plan to keep this as natural as possible…a little island in the middle of everything. You will inevitably ask me how much land and I will tell you enough…for us and all our friends and family. Need a place to stay? Come on over. If you’re in the market for home-grown meth, I think a few of our neighbors (again, miles away) can help you out. Old oak trees? Check. If you’re looking for wildlife, we’ve got that covered. Organic corn? Our closer neighors are all about it. If you want coffee shops, not so much. Mosquitos, yes. Paved roads…not for a mile or so. The picture to your left is me (blurry…because why I don’t know) in the meadow where one day we shall live and you shall come visit and we shall gaze happily at the grazing deer and Abe coexisting happily ever after.

I shall add a super cute photo of the boy and his nieces reading at Grandma’s house this past week.

Abe just brought me an empty bread bag. This is bad news for all parties involved.

I’ll go for now…and wish you all the best. Abe not included.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

One response to “Curt wants to buy a bra

  • Anna

    Congratulations on the land!

    However, you are freaking me out with your adult-ness. Married, with dogs and a house, and now, acreage.

    Where does it end, Katie, where does it end?!

    P.S. I’ll come help clear paths in exchange for a place to stay. 🙂

talk to me

