the CONVERSATION about the lamp

girl: Hey! Hi! You’re great. Hey, I tried to plug in the lamp behind the bed, but it doesn’t seem to be working. Can you check it for me real quick?

boy: The what?

girl: I put a lamp behind the bed on my side and plugged it in, but it won’t come on. The bulb is fine.

boy: The little lamp? On my side?

*pause*

girl: I put a lamp behind the bed on my side and plugged it in, but it won’t come on.

boy: [looks in bedroom] Did you plug it in behind the bed?

*pause*

girl: Yes. I plugged it in behind the bed.

boy: It won’t come on?

*pause*

girl: No. No. It won’t come on. I put a lamp behind the bed on my side and plugged it in, but it won’t come on.

boy: That’s because that outlet doesn’t work. It’s never worked. You have to use a different outlet.

*pause*

[girl resumes her reading of “Marital Communication” and refers to the chapter (again) about asking clear questions.]

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

3 responses to “the CONVERSATION about the lamp

  • the bantam menace

    i love how you preface the conversation with “You’re great.” were you instructed to use that in your marital communication manual?

    also, you should compile these into a book. seriously.

  • Chris

    Is that the actual lamp? It’s gorgeous. 🙂

  • Kate

    Nope…not the lamp. We only have things that used to belong to someone else (except in our kitchen)…we don’t have anything as stylish as the dragonfly lamp.

    But you may buy us one and I’ll accept it. Thank you.

talk to me

