Some sweet morning

when this life is over
I’ll fly away
To a land on God’s celestial shore
I’ll fly away…

and at check-in, I’ll be handed a large large bag of all the things that fell into the “Black Hole of Katie” over the years. I look forward to seeing my #10 DPN and my #5 straight needle and my fish keys and that entire humongous box of winter clothing…not to mention my headlamp, my senior english paper rough draft, those green shorts I was in love with, and the red white and blue windbreaker I left in a hotel in Vienna when I was 11. What a reunion celebration it will be! I’m hoping the bag will also include a letter explaining a few things: the whole dinosaur thing, how I’m allergic to poison and Curt’s not, who really shot JFK, and why the English wear so much spandex. I’ve decided to be ready with 5 main questions should I actually get a personal audience with The Man Upstairs upon arrival. These questions change weekly it seems, though the dinosaur one has been up there for awhile now.

Our latest adventure happened last night, as I managed to break the garbage disposal (no, it did not involve pasta). I managed to not only back it up, but break the pipes under the sink AND expertly move the clog down into the lower basements pipes. It was truly remarkable. I’m telling you…I have a gift. The culprit? The end of an onion and a few tiny tiny snips of some Happy Valentine’s Day flowers. Awesome. [Lest you be led astray by the plethora of photos, I did in fact help…but my duties were restricted so as to avoid more harm than good thank you very much.]

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

5 responses to “Some sweet morning

  • diane

    I am SO PROUD of you and your gifts. I’m glad that you are putting your gifts to use, rather than letting them sit idle. That would surely be a waste.

    I am WITH YOU on the dinosaur question. For serious. If you find out first, can you email me? I’ll do the same for you.

  • Waldo

    I swear,ya could tear up an anvil with a rubber mallet .

  • Billy

    Just have to say I am glad it was curt with the hose next to the electrical panel.. who knows what could of happened! 🙂 Hope you guys are doing well!

  • @m

    Great entry.
    If you are truly OPEN to it, we can clear up some of the dinosaur questions somtime. 🙂
    Maybe @ vocal rehearsal. It’d be time well spent. 🙂

  • KatieKate

    Adam/Lance,
    Can you really clear up the dinosaur thing?
    I take back everything I’ve ever said about you.
    I need to clear that question off my main list so there’s room for more.

talk to me

