a weekend of pizza

Friday night, we went out with family and friends…and ate pizza.
Saturday afternoon at the barn, we ate pizza.
Saturday night, with family and friends, we ate pizza.
Sunday night, while watching Madagascar, we ate leftover pizza.

FOX News did not show up Saturday afternoon. We assume someone in Grand Rapids must have set themselves on fire and therefore became more news worthy than our little barn project. Either that, or Jeff is a tease…which in itself is entirely possible. In hindsite, we all agreed it was probably beter to NOT have footage of inexperienced people running bobcats and Skytraks, children running on boards with 100 year-old nails all around, and my husband walking atop a beam 20 feet in the air with no harness or ropes attached. As of 6pm Saturday, the entire structure was off the slab and laying on the ground. Curt and I have a little work left to do this week, but 99% (WHOOP! for you Aggies out there) is done, thanks to all the amazing people who came out to help. We are so blessed to know you. I’ll have pictures up soon on Flickr, but I’m close to my monthly limit, so I may have to wait until Wednesday. You’re wondering what the bucket picture is all about- and that’s for Scott. He and I are in complete agreement that you can do absolutely any project with the help of a bucket and a ladder.

In true “Katie was around and therefore something has to go bizarrely wrong” fashion, we made two trips to the gas station…one to fill up…and another about 3 hours later when we realized that the hydraulic fluid hole and the gasoline hole look amazingly similar. I’m telling you, BLACK HOLE, people…BLACK HOLE.

In all seriousness, we have no injuries, major complications, tickets, or jail time to confess. The Red Barn Project Phase One is a complete success.

In other news, little (tiny itty bitty) Sydney was able to come home on Saturday…only one day past normal. She’s had a little trouble staying warm but otherwise is doing extremely well. Doesn’t she look like a doll?

And now, I shall go to work. I’m building a new ropes course element out in the woods. You shall all be forced to look at pictures of that soon, too. More machines, more inexperienced people doing cool things, more buckets and ladders.

Y’all have a fabulous Monday.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

3 responses to “a weekend of pizza

  • diane

    I love pizza. Jealous that you ate it all weekend.

    Oh wait… so did I. Nevermind.

    I’m still working on your Reb Barn song. It’s hard cause not too many words rhyme with Barn. Not so much.

  • KatieKate

    YARN!!!
    Yarn rhymes with barn.

    I’ve just rushied in here from the kitchen after that thought breezed through my head. I was afrad I’d lose it. I’m a little out of breath now. Embarrassed.

  • tracy

    how’d your ropes go today? What beautifuly, complex, wicked puzzle have you set up for those kids now? I do so love ropes courses… I think we should all do them regularly… in family units, as groups of friends, as communities. After zipping down the rope with you darling, I am fully on board.

    I love it that you get to lead them all the time.

    I don’t love pizza.

    well, I do… I just can’t eat it and it makes me sad. Sometimes I pick the cheese off the top… but what kind of dinner is that? three pounds of mozzerella cheese.

talk to me

