poetry and prose aside

“Well, holy crap,” to quote Daniel Charles. “Try to lay off the bottle a bit for the next few months, eh?” Sound advice from my younger brother, and a newlywed at that. Kids are so mature these days.

I’m pregnant, people. I fluxuate daily between wanting to bite people on the arm for spite and wanting to run barefoot through a grassy field a la Little House on the Prairie. And my hormones aren’t the only thing changing around here. I’ve gained 3 pounds. Curt thinks I’m making this up, but PUHlease why would I? If I continue to gain at the rate I started, I’ll be well over 300 pounds by the time Peanut arrives. My pants make me feel awkward. Frumpy. It’s going to be a summer of skirts, I can already tell, and that makes me very very happy. But what until then? I think my arms have gotten a bit longer, too. I tried on three shirts this morning and all of them were too short in the sleeves. Curt says I’m making this up, too, but PUHlease why would I?

Overall, I’m feeling fantastic- no complaints. Peanut is the size of a piece of rice, has a heartbeat, and is beginning to grow eyelids. I’m trying to get enough rest for the both of us. Saturday I put myself to bed at 8pm (after A&M lost to LSU in the last 4 seconds and my attitude went a bit south), slept for 13 hours, and then took another fabulous nap at 1pm. I’m good at sleeping. Abe weighs me down and we take in a little General Hospital everyday with our eyes closed from 3-4pm. There’s no sense lying about it. Emily should not be with Sonny and that’s that.

Cravings? Yes. Absolutely everything from here…and the Michael Miller fabric shown above. I’m obsessed with it. You were prolly wondering about food- and yes…I crave it. All the time.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

talk to me

