Good Morning, Good Morning, Good Morning! It’s time to rise and shine!


Occasionally, I am awoken (?) by the sound of my husband serenading me.
It’s not pleasant.
But, I’ll take it.

Hi! Missed you tons. So much to tell you.

What I did on my blog vacation, in 500 words or less:

  • saw Spring make an official entrace into my backyard
  • went to a doctor’s appointment at 10 weeks and heard a heartbeat (oh, myLANta)…Curt is now calling Peanut ChooChoo because s/he was moving like a little train that could at 167 beats per minute. Perhaps I’m having a race horse or NAScar.
  • bought a house
  • ok, I’ll elaborate: 20 years ago, 3 acres of our current farm property was sectioned off and sold to ED, a slightly odd bachelor. Ed moved this winter. Neigbor across the street bought it. Neighbor gutted the house. We put a down payment on it this Saturday and will be moving at the end of summer. Expect much more on this in the days to come, ’cause I need to work a few things out with y’all and can’t afford therapy.
  • went out to dinner with friends on a school night and toured the Holland Police Department (voluntarily)…thanks Jere. My new goal in life is to be a member of the SWAT team.
  • knitted my very first successful (Jo, get this) baby bootie/shoe/slipper thing. It was undoubtedly the most difficult pattern I have tried to follow yet. So far, the kid has one shoe.
  • tried on 4 skirts, 3 pants, and countless tops Easter morning before finidng something that fit comfortably and appropriately on my new shapely body…and I know it’s only gonna get worse.
  • welcomed Tracy and fam back from Africa Sunday morning.
  • answered my phone maybe 3 times. My aversion is gettting worse. Please don’t take it personally.
  • went to a real-live recording studio with the Band (not THE Band, Dad…they broke up) in Lansing and put some backgrounds down for the new Mars Hill live CD coming out soon.
  • came up with a few possibilities for Peanut: Audrey, Jill, Owen, Eli, Jack, Ellie…and came to the conclusion that it’s really hard to come up with a real name for a real kid that they have to keep forever.
  • spent an exhaustive amount of time trying to convince Janna and Natalie that they need to be pregnant so I am not alone int his process. Are either of you reading this? You know what you should be doing…

Ah…I’ve missed you. I feel good. Let’s get this party started again.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

11 responses to “Good Morning, Good Morning, Good Morning! It’s time to rise and shine!

  • little blonde one

    kt–nice. i’m at work. and by that i mean i’m at my job. not “at work”…

  • diane

    Welcome Back!

    FYI…my turtle’s name is Owen 🙂

    I really hope you are not going to birth a race horse. That would certianly be a painful delivery!

    You came to Holland? To my fair city? Hope you waved as you drove by my house!

    We still have to figure out when to get together and swap ideas about folding sheets, making cookies, k-nitting, etc.

  • Paxton Cox

    I have missed you! I love the name choices. I have a dog named Ellie and have such anguish because I love the name but can you have a dog and baby with the same name…we also have a dog named Boone, love the name but same problem. Your names are very classic so far! Whit
    -Hope to see pic of the new place.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Ahhh, entertainment has returned! Hurrah! And by the way, you can’t have Audrey, it’s mine… 😉 But I guess you’re having the baby first, so knock yourself out…just don’t get too mad when I copy you!

  • The Watts

    So glad you’re back! I’ve missed you! I see you’ve discovered the thrill and agony associated with picking a name for your little race horse. Jeff really wanted Audrey for a girl this time around–but obviously, we went the male route instead. Can’t wait to hear more about your new house. How exciting! So many changes in the works.

  • miss chris

    I love love love love ‘Jill’. That’s beautiful.

    🙂

  • KatieKate

    Janna-
    Get ::to work::
    -KT

  • sunday

    so glad to have you back. we missed you terribly!!! so excited about the house. please show pictures! man you have so much going on right now!

  • K Moore

    you are moving? ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! no!!!!!!!!!
    well, okay. whatever you want. you are a grown up.
    geeeeeeez.
    can we come camping on your property and then use your toilet and hot water?
    that would be sort of cheating, but who cares.
    could lots of us go camping on your property? huh? huh? sort of like woodstock without the drugs and the mud. we can play music and listen to you sing and dance around.
    the dogs and children could frolick about and we’d all live happily ever after. amen.

  • KatieKate

    The frolicking is a great idea.
    Plan on it.

    There are beds/grass/toilets/tree forts for up to 1,000 people…so plan accordingly.

  • bec

    I call a bed! I mean, I was there for the mattress shopping – do you remember that?? A lifetime ago… I think that was the same trip that we went to Ikea and I thought we had landed on another planet. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about the house!

talk to me

