and, she’s back

Having dominated the mountain of laundry, I live to blog another day. Thank you for all your love and support.

Time was, I used to be something of a writer of letters…a giver of gifts…a maker of signs and trinkets…handwrit-ess queen. Somewhere along the past few years it all seemed to drift away…or perhaps is in a yet-unpacked box upstairs. Well, I bought a new box. Yesterday (amidst Tracy’s and my synchronized laundry dances), I finished the Blue Baby Blanket of Death- hereafter know as “Wyatt’s blanket.” Wyatt, born this past winter, is probably graduating from kindergarten right about now, but his blanket is finished. I had to start over 3 times. I had to count 161 stiches and 8 repeats 32 times. I used words on this blanket I didn’t even know I knew. I saw colors of anxiety and frustration that would have hospitalized someone weaker…but not me. I, you see, am back. I have fought, and I have won. That creative girl? The one who knows how to wrap surprise package or two? I can feel her getting stronger again. Look out, people. “So here it is,” I shout proudly, “in all it’s glory!”

(Abe was confused by the photo shoot, so we moved inside…sorry for the lighting issues.)
(Please indulge me by gazing adoringly and clicking to enlarge the photos.)

The boy and I are off to Cleveland to be with the Kluskas and do the whole my-cousin’s-wedding thing for the weekend. I’m wearing sweat pants- the whole time. See you on Monday!

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

talk to me

