Buenos Friday!

It’s POURING here. Great nap weather.

Recent conversation with a class of 4th graders:
(as a baby BABY bambi watched us from the grass 10 feet away…no lie)
“Ok, so as we head down into the bog, I want you to be looking for evidence of animals and birds and plants. What kind of animals do you think would like to live in a wetland?”
“Deer!” “Birds!” “Owls!!!” Frogs!” “Mosquitos!”
“Yep…and there’s another one…one really good one…”
“Bears?”
“No…”
“Monkeys!”
“Noooo. I’m thinking of something small…and cute…”
Trenton (all of 3.5 feet tall and 50 pounds and an impish grin): “Me?”
Me: (in tears) “Yes. You. AND, a bunny. Rabbits, people. I’m talkin’ about rabbits. Moving on…”

And, TADA!!! Look, it’s Peanut’s first hand-knit item…a sweater- a pullover- a *ahem* jumper. An actual wearable object. It was very easy and actually very quick- wool, oatmeal color, knit in one piece. I’ll prolly put a little green border around the edges. This will be a great thing to stock my little “shop” with once I get rolling. I have a little work to do with my cuffs and edges, but for a first attempt at a sweater I’m pretty darn jazzed.

Y’all have a fabulous weekend. We are nuts enough to go watch family and friends race in the River Bank Run tomorrow morning…in the rain. Oy.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

9 responses to “Buenos Friday!

  • the bantam menace

    that’s a clever bit of art there…the sweater for your progeny…sitting right next to a lovely photo of the proud parents…

  • KatieKate

    Hey! I didn’t even think about that! It’s just the only place our dungeon of a living room has light!

  • KatieKate

    I love exclamation points!

  • bec

    Haha, I was going to say that I was pumped that you set up the fave wedding photo in your background. Kate dear, the sweater looks WONDERFUL. I love it, and that little one will need it up there in the Big Mitten!

  • miss chris

    Lol… cutest thing ever… šŸ™‚

    P.S. Your oatmeal sweater is adorable! So is the little little deer. šŸ™‚

  • the dicocco gang

    fabulous fabulous sweater!!
    You continue to amaze me.

    (mady says…” did she MAKE that? ” … then… “Dang”… I think she is impressed as well, but you never quite know with preteens…

  • The Zoo

    That sweater is awesome! I started to knit but never got past a kind of square that was 7 x 7–what can anyone do with that?!

  • KatieKate

    potholder, renee…potholder

  • diane

    (i just read your comment on my blog, and wanted to comment back atcha.)

    those photos aren’t old, isn’t that cool? Michelle showed me how to switch to Sepia-tones when taking pics and that’s what comes of it! I love it too! And those were taken from my new camera phone. it’s an amazing invention. truly.

    i’m gonna submit some to the Arts For Teens Thingy at Mars. I have some cool pictures of my students.

talk to me

