Hear Ye Hear Ye


We are ready.
The house is oh-so clean and impersonal.
Bring on the nosy neighbors, the optimistic newlyweds, and the skeptical investment types.
And let them fight to buy.
650 Kellogg SE is officallly for sale.


This would imply that the the boxes-o-my-youth are sorted, sifted, good-willed, and resigned to the basement…and that is indeed correct. With a little help from Saint Natalie and less from Honest Abe, the process was fairly short and painless. She was a bit brutal (*ahem* Texas was on a different style chart in the early 90s, ok?), but I shall pay her back by plastering her on the world-wide-web for all of creation to see.
My favorite find in all of this was china from my grandmother…1 full dinner set and then another different set of authentic Irish china pictured above. I didn’t dig all the way down (saving time and re-wrapping)…but me thinks it will be perfect for our Opening Day widow-Katie-has-a-new-baby tea party in November. Kristen and Jo, you’re in charge of scones. Daniel Charles, that Pound Puppy is yours…and it shall take a flight to Montana shortly along with some other friends we found in the mix. The wedding pics look fabulous, by the way. The other Abe photo displays one of the many homemade Halloween outfits supplied by my mother over the years. I was, of course, a clown. I don’t remember what the award was for, but I think we all know it was probably for my sense of style.

Happy Monday.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

9 responses to “Hear Ye Hear Ye

  • anna

    Seriously — I think I might have a picture of you in that dress that Natalie is holding, at a banquet or something? Freshman year, maybe? Is that possible?

    And please tell me that you did not give away that glowworm. Won’t your kid (and really, all kids) need a slightly-scary glowworm? Rainbo Brite, Pound Puppies… that’s quite the collection you have there!

  • miss chris

    It’s so funny to see Abe so big. I remember when you first got him and all of us could barely focus on Bible study because tiny-puppy-Abraham was so absolutely adorable. 🙂

  • KatieKate

    Anna Foster…if you do have a picture of me in that dress I will kill you.

    Chris…he’s so huge now…but twice as adorable.

  • bec

    Oh dear, a Glow Worm AND Rainbow Brite? (Why did they spell it that way anyway???) I got the Glow Worm Treehouse for Christmas one year – they didn’t have arms or legs that moved, but yes, they got a treehouse, with swings and everything. Rainbow Brite came the next year I think – but please note that I am from the South and so she is “Rainbow Briiiite” to me. Katie we all had dresses like that, don’t worry. Why our mothers let us be seen in them is a different issue altogether… 🙂 Ooh and yippee, I got the baby a present – yahoo!

  • The Watts

    “Star light, Rainbow Brite. A little wish in the moonlight. Sunbeams sparkle and shine, you’ll always be a friend of mine.”

    I love it!

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Adorable house. We are optimistic newlyweds, but sadly not of the sort who are house-hunting…otherwise I would have been at your door about five minutes ago.

  • the dicocco gang

    happy monday to you too…

  • Amanda

    Lovely Kate
    We’re all home for the summer. We have to have those milkshakes/coffee/whatever sometime soon– I have big plans for the summer and it sounds like you do too!

    Please tell me what you are up to and what your (nap) schedule looks like
    Love,
    Amanda

  • mr. chris

    now kate, in regards to your earlier comment.
    were you replying to miss chris that abe was getting bigger and more adorable.
    OR
    were you for no reason telling the world that i have grown larger but doubled my adoribility.

    choose your response carefully.
    love always, mr. chris

talk to me

