Bonjour, Mes Amies!

That’s french, for you Americanas. I grew up speaking German…but alas my high school in Texas (or, Texas South) only offered French or Spanish, so I chose the one I couldn’t learn at the corner store. In college, Steph majored in Spanish and I still had a decent grasp of Francaise, so we’d trade lingo for practice and idiocy. I plan on introducing Peanut to other languages immediately…music, computer games, corner-store employees…

Curt likes to immitate other languages…but he always sounds like a crazy Chinese guy. It’s awkward, but very very funny…in a sad kind of way. Have I mentioned that I love Curt? I do.

So, being the technological fool that I am, I have noticed a severe drop in blog reader-ship over the length of a week…200-ish on Mondays down to the low 70s by Friday. Therefore, hereto, and everafter I shall post on Mondays and Thursdays. Fine, you say. Who cares? Well, this little blog here is a practice in discipline for me to write something every week- to be creative and such…so I need a schedule to keep me on track. It’s intentional creativity, people. I’m growing. Read at will.

This Sunday’s sermon was about inheritances…what we have been given (good, bad, and ugly), what we will pass on (good, bad, and ugly), and what we will create in and of ourselves. Timely topic, Joe. I say again, timely.

  • obviously, we have the crazy chinese accent
  • we have incredible work ethics and creativity on both sides of the family- deep and wide
  • a deep, unexplainable, and perhaps at times unhealthy love for Fleetwood Mac
  • humor (this may be good bad or ugly…I do not know)
  • ridiculous perfectionism
  • extreme laid-back-ness
  • the ability to lose one’s car AND keys multiple times a day
  • unconditional devotion to microwave popcorn and ice cream at 9pm (in any time zone)
  • loyalty…fierce and strong loyalty
  • appreciation for camping and nature and all things outside except for snakes
  • fear of jumping from high places (interesting job choice, you say…I know, I know)
  • Polish hips
  • Dutch monetary beliefs
  • Irish mischief
  • absolute brilliance in all subjects

See you Thursday.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

10 responses to “Bonjour, Mes Amies!

  • OurMrsMikrut

    First off, I’d like to point out that everybody who’s anybody knows you always post on Mondays. I have no idea what the rest of your schedule is. I just check every day to see if something’s there, because you crack me up.

    Secondly, I much appreciate the intentional creativity. I need to pick up some of that from you.

    Thirdly, the four of us need to hang out sometime. Seriously.

    PS – I have some thank you cards with that french girl on them. They say Merci. How fitting.

  • KatieKate

    I totally got one of those thank you cards! That’s where I stole the chick with the poodle from! (From you, Amanda!)

    And, yes, Mrs. Mikrut- hanging out is indeed in order. I seem to have most days at 2am available…how about you?

  • The Watts

    I say intoduce Peanut to as many languages as you can, as early in life as you can. I myself speak only broken Spanish and Portuguese, but we have CDs and DVDs to hopefully make up the difference.

  • sunday

    Oh i check out your blog everyday. I love reading what you write. it toally makes my day. i wish i could write like you. i checked it all day yesterday (i work in front of computer) and i saw no posting, but then i check today and you wrote sunday. i just don’t get it! keep writing, puhlease (is that how you say it).

  • anna

    Ooh, Katie, my French is so bad now. I think we just need to go spend some time in France. I think that would do it. We could go for your babymoon. 🙂 The closest I get to speaking French these days is listening to Tony Parker talk about how he feels about the last game, which I don’t think really counts.

    I was trying to remember… what were our French class names? One of us was Cosette, right? And Fantine? Wasn’t Blake like Javert or something? Those were good times.

    Talked to Kremer lately?

  • KatieKate

    Sunday: I started the post on Sunday, but finished it Monday afternoon and forgot to change the time. You’re not going crazy!

    Anna: Oh my gosh…I totally forgot what my french name was. I have no idea…but I am sure Blake was Javert. Um…I’m game for a Paris babymoon- let’s go.

  • the dicocco gang

    we are learning a healthy dose of Afrikaans and Zulu over here in the next few months… with a light smattering of Kinyarwandan mixed in…

    how cultured do you want Peanut to be?

  • diane

    As the resident Spanish Teacher…I am MORE than willing to teach Peanut the ins and outs of Spanish.

    I’ve already started teaching my 2 yr. old niece. She knows her colors and she can count to ten!

    I am also an expert reader of, “If you give a mouse a cookie…”

    Good stuff.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    I think there is a Cosette in every high school French class in America. Possibly a Babette as well.

    2 am…well, Josh is usually up then, and I may well be too after Friday…till I get a new job, that is.

  • Kates dad

    Anna Foster ….call me

talk to me

