144 versus 167


…some miniature lilacs outside our dining room…I love me some lilac…

Yesterday at my 2nd pre-natal doctor’s appointment I learned that the heartbeat is still nice and strong but 20 beats per minute slower. This, compared to the first time, solidifies the fact that we are having either a girl or a boy. Mom had a dream that it’s a girl. Renae had a dream that it’s a boy. Hailey and Marli are certain it’s a girl. We’ve always assumed we’re having a boy (for no particular reason). Peference? The old-fashioned-ness in me would love to have a boy first…to be the big brother…to help on the farm…to eliminate having first-child-syndrome AND girl-weirdness in the junior high years. On the otherhand, the girl in me would love to have a little sidekick- wild and free…and someone to sew rompers out of vintage floral fabric for. It just really doesn’t matter. Either way, kid has to ride on a tractor and go antique-ing with me, so saddle up.

I also found out that I’m Rh(-), which in layman’s terms (thank you LBO) means I have to get a shot so that my body doesn’t make antibodies aganist the poor child when it’s blood mixes with mine in the third trimester and birth. Excellent…the part about the shot AND the part about my body thinking the baby is an alien. Love it.

I officially got the OK to fly at 33 weeks as long as I continue to have a shamelessly easy pregnancy, so I will be returning to the Home Country the first week in October. Someone please notify the the BlueBell Ice Cream factory.

My offical last day of work is June 8th. I’ve committed to one volunteer day per week throughout the summer to complete a project I started and a few other days here and there, but in the greatest sense of the word, I shall be finito. What will I do, you ask? Oh Lordy. I’m ready. Step 1: I sent off my handwriting today to make it into a viable font. Step 2: I’ve researched Etsy shops (personal web store fronts strictly for handmade goods) Step 3: I’ve collected trailers and trailers of wood to make signs and such. Step 3.5: I’ve acquired a cool barn from which to work from- this type of thing always seems to make people want to buy your fabulous stuff. Step 4: I’ve been stalking other moms/gals who do this stuff regularly…and find myself ridiculously infatuated with: Little Birds, A Bird in the Hand, SouleMama, all buttoned up, and angry chicken…just to name a few. So very fun.

Now taking suggestions for naming the Etsy shop…have at it.
Harrison? Mady? Avery? I’m thinkin’ you’re on this one.
Many happy BBQs to you all this Memorial Day weekend.
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

talk to me

