Dear Grand Rapids at-large,

I know it’s so very difficult in these days of blazing heat, non-airconditioned 100 year-old homes, and rusted-out Accords, but please refrain from driving/mowing/painting/yard sale-ing sans shirts (men) and/or sports bra only (that’s for you ladies out there). While undoing an extra button is slighty Miami (Higgins), it is an ethical option in these days-o-swelter. Your behavior yesterday- the Lord’s Day no less- was appalling. And just so we’re clear…this includes all neighborhoods. Having a Cayman-Island-business-trip tan does not exclude you and your gut, EGR natives. It’s just. too. much, people. I cannot handle it.
Sincerely and always yours,

Mary Kathryn

*
In other news…I am in way over my head with Peanut’s new sweater. *warning: fibre lingo ahead* I started a new one because I left the pattern for the old one at Kristen’s house and can’t be bothered to go retrieve it, so I started a new one…denimn with green stripes. I cast-on for the infant size, measured after a (long) while and realize my tension had turned it into a 1-2 year-old size. Rather than start anew with lighter yarn or smaller needles I decided I was brilliant enough to fudge the pattern and make it work. Mhhmmm. Pregnancy has made me optimistic, if not overly confident. Pray for me. The sleeves will be a whole ‘nother story. This sweater could easily turn out to be like Theo’s Gordon Cartrell shirt that Denise offered to sew for him in one of my favorite Cosby episodes.
*
And finally, some memories from Memorial Day…
We spent the morning and afternoon at Lincoln Lake with the grandparents and family and then headed to John Ball Park for a little cook out and frisbee. Here are my first (barely) pregnant photos…in the middle of 17 weeeks. Please meet, if you haven’t already, Kristin (brunette) and Renae (blonde)- whom I love desperately and truly.
*
*
Peace to you and yours…as it was, as it is, and as it ever shall be and all that jazz. See you Thursday.
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

talk to me

