Happy June!

Somehow, our friends went to Africa and we ended up with a cool gift. I’m ok with it. Our dear friends…in such a short time, really- hmmm- so sweet…are indeed returning to Africa. We’re happy our plan is working. I really believe they feel the freedom to go back for 2 years…or 7…because they know when they return (with grown up children and more salad forks and some fabulous fabrics and an unbelievable understanding of service in action) that they will have a home to detox in out at The Farm. Dear God, bless our friends and let them tell beautiful and hard and truthful stories about a forgotten world and its people.

In honor of June, I shall now introduce you to Katie and Danny: Fort Knox, Kentucky cira 1985ish. It’s just too great not to share. You simply must click to get the full effect: the dollar-store sunglasses, the too short one-piece terrycloth jumper, my brother’s little dance…oh sweet youth. Daniel…why oh why are you in the crate?

Someone please explain to Abe that his system cannot digest socks. He absolutely will not believe me on this, despite serveral (again, several) failed attempts. I’ve had the pleasure of helping him “rid himself” of quite a few pairs now. Seriously, people…I love the dog that much. Is this what it’s like to be a mom? What other absolutely disgusting stuff am I going to be up to my elbows in?

Maybe you shouldn’t tell me.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), a bloodhound (Hank), 2 barn cats, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

4 responses to “Happy June!

  • Miss Christine

    🙂 Oh, Abe. You should listen to your ‘mom’.

  • diane

    Kate, according to my calculations…we both have a week left of work.

    How will you celebrate?

  • the dicocco gang

    I love the idea of detoxing on the farm! You’ll have to get busy though… because two years will FLY by ! Especially now that you are a m…o…m…m…y.
    Time changes somehow.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    I had one of those jumpers, too…of course.

    I have heard stories from so many people about the dog/sock issue…all I can say is yuck. You are a real trooper!

talk to me