there’s no stoppin’ me no-ow…

Everybody sing!

Ah…it’s one of my favorite weekends- the 4th of July. I love fireworks. Love them. We have decided at the last minute to head up North again to camp and tube and eat ice-cream…Platte River, here we come. Natalie has a new kayak and I have 3 knitting projects going (Megan…your 2nd wrist-warmer is on the needles! What? It’s 85 degrees out? Oh well.) and Sense and Sensibility to finish, so bring on the lounging. We won’t be back until Tuesday.

This morning Miss Jane, K Moore, and K Mulder (that’s me, for those of you keeping track) headed off to Hancock Fabrics for their mega-sale. I was in search for some fabric to re-upholster a chair for the baby’s room. I left with fabulous yellow chair fabric, 2 bright remnants (for skirts and aprons and baby bags and such), some vinyl (for pants…no, silly…a picnic tablecloth), and loads of wooden buttons for baby sweaters. Jane spent some time reorganzing the candy shelves. She was incredibly successful. I have the cutest photo of her at work, but of course it will not load. There are more photos here, tagged ‘Hancocks.’

Then- THEN, people…it only gets better- I ran errands like good housewives do (to the bank, to the post office, to the neighbor in a neighboring neighborhood) and stopped at Mrs. Carol’s house (who referred me to my OBGYN…love you) and she gave (gave) me her sewing machine which she never uses and two pairs of capris she found garage sale-ing yesterday. If you add up everything I brought home by noon today and divide out the money, each thing cost about 42 cents. Ok, maybe not…but it feels like it. What a morning! [this is when Katie gets up and runs around the room in happy circles]

Now I shall do a little pre-camping laundry and a little packing.

Happy 4th to you.
Celebrate what is yours…
this remarkable gift of independence and freedom…
and love it.
See you on Tuesday!
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

3 responses to “there’s no stoppin’ me no-ow…

  • sunday

    my wish is that i was one tenth as creative as you, buying all those beautiful fabrics to make beautiful things. my huband would be so jealous. please don’t tell him!

  • miss piscin

    wow. i wish i had opposable thumbs…it sounds like you have way fun with yours!!!

  • miss piscin

    oh, and sorry for the intrusion on your blog. i read your title and thought it sad me-ow at first.

talk to me

