it’s a party over here

‘Member how I bought a $25 crib (Evenflo, I have discovered…1999)? Yep. Time to sand it and paint it white. I would recommend that your husband remind you to prime it before you get 2 coats on one side, but hey- we’re all about learning here. He suggested we just let it be flaky with the first kid- you know, a little “antique character” and such. I don’t believe I verbally responded. I do believe I physically responded. My memory is fuzzy from all the spray paint fumes. As of this moment she (the crib) is completely primed and ready for her outer wear. Let the good times roll.

This morning I figured I’d make my way over to Holland…not the Podunk Texas Town where Daniel’s motorcycle breaks down and also not the country across the big pond. This would be the Holland in America- full of tall strong blonde Dutch people wearing wooden shoes and pumping water from the windmill in their front yards. Well, actually, I skipped that neighborhood and headed to Diane’s condo where we did a little quilting preparation. She’s Dutch…but to be honest, I saw no wooden shoes anywhere. Our initial conversation went something like this:

“Hi! Welcome! Did you find it ok?”
“Yep! Sorry I’m a little late. The truck in front of me caught on fire on the highway.”
“Oh- no problem. Come on in! This is my turtle, Owen. This is where I keep my sunglasses. And this is my office. I’ve never picked out a quilting pattern before!? Is that crazy?
“Nah. I’ve never actually made a quilt before.”
“Oh, fabulous! Alright. Well, should we just start cutting?”
“Sure! Have an extra pair of scissors?”

And so we cut. Diane had bought various pieces of fabric while she was on a trip to Europe…they are all now neatly cut into strips and ready to be sewn on her new Singer. It’s more than exciting. I took fabulous photos- of the crib and of our quilting extravaganza, but dang it all Blogger hates me again today. Fbbllllttttttt!

Speaking of singing (singer/singing…stay with me)- last month, I sang Ben Harper at church. Our church is so rad…honestly. Who else sings Ben Haper during worship? This past Sunday I sang again…and had to pray for everyone at the end of worship each time. Ever prayed for 8,000 people people? It’s odd.

And now I shall finish my Torah homework for tonight’s meeting. There are a lot of questions this week and Curt didn’t do his, so I can’t copy.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

14 responses to “it’s a party over here

  • diane

    Oh my goodness! I had to read our conversation over 4 times before I made it through! I am quite literally crying from laughing so hard. Mostly because your recap of the conversation is Dead On!

    “on your left is my sunglasses. come over here and I’ll show you my pottery. Oh, and don’t forget the laundry room!”

    and I haven’t sewn in 20 years and you’ve never made a quilt so what do we do? Get cozy on the floor with a pair of scissors?

    it’s too much.

    good job on the praying yesterday. I was very proud of you.

  • Miss Christine

    Ben Harper?! Wow. What song was it, might I ask? šŸ™‚

  • bec

    Katie,

    I thought of you instantly in the car last night when I was “scanning” radio stations and before I knew it heard “Mad Season” by Matchbox 20 coming through the speakers. This song always reminds me of you – I can see you dancing in the store at camp to it, with your red hat on and your shorts further down on one side because of that perma-radio on your hip and that mass of keys you had to carry around jingling the whole time. That was FIVE years ago. F-I-V-E. Whew… Thank goodness there’s music to jump start our memories and take us right back. And thank goodness for Rob Thomas. šŸ™‚

  • KatieKate

    *sigh* I still love that album so so very much, Bec…thanks for the memories

    Miss Chris- it was Better Way…I rigged the link to go to the lyrics if you find yourself unfamiliar with his brilliance of simplicity. It was a good time.

  • Chelsey Meek

    Mrs. Mulder,
    So, since you are passionately studying the Torah (for BOTH you AND your husband), might you send a bit of knowledge my way in regards to “the fall”? It will help so very much.
    Cheers

  • KatieKate

    Chelsey! I can! I can do that! (through email, of course). Oh, do I have so much cool info for your Modernism paper…who’d a thunk it?!

  • sunday

    have you read any Donald Miller? Blue Like Jazz?

  • KatieKate

    ohhhhh, Sunday…love Donald Miller. He was just at our church last month- so so great and ridiculously funny. I’ve not made it to Blue Like Jazz yet…but I have read his Motorcyle book šŸ™‚

    And woman- I figured it out. I have been stumped on trying to figure out how to make your “over the bed” sign but still be able to mail it. I’ve got it. It’s so rad I’ll have make one for myself. It’s a secret of course…but I just wanted you to know I haven’t forgotten.

  • Miss Christine

    Kate! I forgot to tell you. We’re having Friends & Family weekend at the Gap, August 3 through 6. That means I have 20 coupons to give out to, well, family & friends, and you can get 30% off everything in the store! It’s kinda like extending my employee discount to all my lovely friends for a weekend. So let me know if you’d like one! (You can get the pink shirt!) šŸ™‚

  • KatieKate

    WOOOHOOO!
    soft pink shirt from heaven here I come

  • sunday

    that is such awesome news that you have figured out the “over the bed sign”. i knew i put the right woman on the job!!! you are the best. i will pay for time, supplies, mailing, anything that you need.
    i knew you would love donald miller. he is coming to Montreat i am going to try to see if i can see him. what is the motorcycle book?

  • diane

    For the record: i want to marry Donald Miller.

    In my defense: nope, no wooden shoes on display but I do have TWO VanGoghs in my living room. does that count for anything?

    Love, love Friends and Family at the Gap. Good luck.

  • the dicocco gang

    katie-
    I’ll swap you the motorcycle book for blue like jazz for a little while.

  • KatieKate

    That’d be a fabulous trade, since it’s out of print now…but we cannot seem to find it. We’ve been looking for a week now and no luck. Perhaps as we begin to shift things around here, it will pop up and then the deal is on.

talk to me

