a moving conversation between a girl and a boy

[literally, not emotionally]

girl: Hey…there were two metal tins in the basement from our wedding- stacked together and holding a bottle of dog shampoo…seen ’em?

boy: (pause) Nope…but we’ve been movin’ a lot of stuff around down there…maybe look again.

[cut to one week later]

girl: I looked down in the basement for those tins that match the 3 I have upstairs…the ones that I’m going ot use for baskets in Peanut’s closet…but they’re not there. But the dog shampoo is. Do you remember moving them? Someone had to take the shampoo out and put it on the counter.

boy: (pause) nope. I dunno, Kate.

[long pause…on a dark lonesome street…in a silent car]

girl: Curt, did you throw them away?

boy: (pause) (pause again) (grin) Yes. Yes I did. I threw them away.

girl: You LIED! TWICE to me…without even blinking! And I knew the whole time!!!

boy: Yeah…I realize now I’m not very good at it. I’ll buy you some more.

girl: Well, you can’t. We found them at a store that was going out of business…they used them for their displays.

boy: (laughing) Oops. I’m sorry. I really am.

girl: (also laughing) What you are is a LIAR. LIAR LIAR pants on fire.

It’s difficult to be married to such a wonderful man who laughs when you’re trapped in your pants and occasionally throws out your stuff. I’d be angry ‘cept I took half his clothes to Goodwill and he doesn’t know it yet.

:::

We have made it safely to Rockford…20 minutes from 650 Kellogg and 10 minutes closer to The Shoebox. I’d give you details, but they are lost in a haze of flu-like symptoms and a flurrry of vacuuming/packing/loading/trying to trap a spastic cat and shove him in a travel-kennel. We are here…everything we own save some undies and other essentials are at The Farm…and we are very happy to be on to the next phase: “Get the Shoebox DONE.”. Little Ben, who usually lives here, left us a huge sunflower on the dining room table to say ‘welcome.’ I cried. My body is slowly recovering from the past month…I think last Thursday it just finally gave up/in/out and got knock-down-drag-out sick…but that’s always how it is with me. George the cat is also coming around…still angry with us for the frenzy but adapting well. Abe could care less.

Thanks for all the well-wishes.
We love you, too.
Very very much.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

4 responses to “a moving conversation between a girl and a boy

talk to me

