perhaps my favorite-est ever


“Been farmin’ long, Jane?”

uh…can you get any cuter? break. my. heart.

Here’s Lainy (named for Winona in Reality Bites, Anna!!!) and Jane (as in Miss Jane) on a field trip out to the Shoebox to officially sign up for the Hayride on October 27th. Signing up in person comes with a complimentary test-ride around the front yard on the John Deere. They obviously needed no introduction. Lainy waved goodbye to the pole barn (with the mower parked inside) 3 times before she finally walked away. Bye-Bye.

Whelp, seeing as how this place is not actually ours and we hear the owners are coming back on Saturday, we’ve decided to pack up and leave. It has been glorious…and uneventful…or had been until (look closely):

Honest-to-Sam, I was just sitting there k-nitting when I looked over at the jungle plant (that reaches the ceiling and is supported by twisty-ties on the halogen lamp) just up an’ FELL OVER. 3 feet of jungle and possibly 20 years of growth…collapsed on the floor. No witnesses to my innocence. Black hole people, black hole. I took the branch to camp with me on Tuesday to explain. Bev (the wife) saw me first.
:::
“Oh my gosh! Is that our plant?!”
“Yes.”
“That’s our wedding plant!”
“Of course it is.”
“Yeah…it’s actually quite a story. Doug’s mom has the original…technically this plant is 48 years old. She grew us a sprout from it when we got married and it’s been growing ever since.”
“You don’t say.”
[long pause]
“Doug’s going to be thrilled it’s dead. He hates this thing!”
:::
Like I said. We’re moving 10 miles closer to the Farm this Saturday. I’m trying my best not to kill/damage/injure everything in my path. It’s obviously time for us to move on. Catch ya next week!
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

6 responses to “perhaps my favorite-est ever

  • sunday

    sounds like you did them a favor, well not YOU per-se, but you know what i mean. love your adventures!!!

  • diane

    I love the 2 ladies on the John Deere. I love the original poster of those 2 boys in a field with their hands in their over-alls…My grandpa had that poster in his kitchen.

    Good times.

    Sign me up for the Hayride. I’ll bring brownies and homemade Hot Cocoa.

  • Miss Christine

    I wanna sign up for the hayride! I’ll be at schoooool, though… sad…. 😦

    P.S. You’re right… cutest picture ever!

  • The Watts

    We would love to sign up for the hayride, but it doesn’t look like we’re going to be anywhere close to Michigan in October. 😦 We’re hoping you are still planning to come to Texas (also in October, I think you said) so you can introduce us to Ruthie the goat. (Ruth was absolutely thrilled by that news).

  • OurMrsMikrut

    We would like to sign up. We would, however, like to sign up in person so that we, too, can ride Johnny Dear.

  • KatieKate

    Mandi…my parent’s are hosting the 3rd Annual Sebeck Hayride in Texas…it’s possible they are already expecting Ruth…which would mean she’d need someone to drive her there. You’ll get an invitation.

talk to me

