more from the land down under

Here we see that old Louis trying to play catch with Peanut as s/he rolled around inside my belly. Louis quickly gave up, measured me for my 33-week check up, found everything was in order, and then went back to sleep. My father keeps singing the Weeble Wobble song to me under his breath when I walk by…you know, “Weebles wobble but the don’t fall down.” Welcome home.

Like my room? I’d invite you over, but there’s really no space for you. We do have a lovely pull-out sofa bed. The day I left for college, my room transitioned into a home base for all things thread, needle, and fabric. Again, my mother is a genious…some of the most beautiful quilts, dresses, and dance attire has been born in this room. “Don’t even go there,” she said as we ventured in to look at some of her latest projects. We don’t go there. We just let her be. Now you have a small glimpse of why I am the way I am. Just let me be, I say…just let me be.

To your left you see Ruthie, the youngest of the Sebeck clan. She’s a cutie and will do anything to get a look at you (obviously). Ruth: she can’t wait to see you on Monday! To your right you see big mamma Maggie. She’s got some lips on her, no? She’d have eaten the camera if I let her but settled for some hay instead. She kissed me when I arrived, and I’m 99% sure she is responsible for the small track of poison ivy I now have on my right cheek. Why not? Why shouldn’t I get poison ivy on my face the first day I’m home?

I’m well. I’m relaxing. I find myself walking around on autopilot, remembering where the pop is (in the garage fridge), which drawer holds the silverware, where dad always hides the milkyways, and where all the light switches are in the dead of night. Funny how your brain never forgets. I miss my boy back home somethin’ fierce…but he and Abe seem to be doing well. At least they have each other. Saturday I will see some long lost friends and eat some cheesecake… both essentials for being home.

Today is Mom’s birthday- Happy Birthday to the best mom I’ve ever had! Y’all tell her happy birthday, too. We’re going out to eat tonight- which makes me happy on any occasion.

Merry weekend, folks. I’ll talk to you soon.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

2 responses to “more from the land down under

  • sunday

    YEA!! THE GOATS. LOVE THEM.

  • the dicocco gang

    happy birthday kate’s mom…
    if katie is the way she is because you are who you are… then you must be fabulous… for real!

    Katie.. we miss you tons.
    I’m glad you are peaceful…. all-be-it a little itchy.
    Go for the Burts Bees PI soap… it really is a wonder-filled item.

talk to me

