what I did on my blogger vacation (2)

I voted.
I decorated for Peanut.
And, I just finished the Birthday Bet Beanie (or one version of it).
The Birthday Bets are still being updated on the previous post as was my doctor’s visit yesterday.
Domenica…Dad got a deer today- I’ll post that later for the fam.
:::

I now present to you: another conversation from my blogger vacation
PG-13 Warning: biologically correct word in this conversation (heads up, Trace)

Scene: Mulder Subaru, 4 Mulders, conversations overlapping, dark Autumn Friday night, headed out for pizza at Fricano’s in Grand Haven

Characters: Curt Mulder (driving), Kate Mulder (great with child and in the passenger’s seat), Natalie Mulder (smaller but also with child), Mitch Mulder (all 9 feet of him crammed behind Kate in the back seat)

Mitch: Dude, there’s all these new developments downtown that say Wolverine on them…
Natalie: I like our front steps but I think the color’s off.
Curt: Yeah, we’ve started something new over on Main.
Kate: Pick a lane, Curt. Yer gonna kill us.
Natalie: That’s that shop I was talking about.
Mitch: Who’s doing the marina thing?
Kate: Seriously, Curt. Pick a lane.
Natalie: I really wanted orange juice this morning.
Kate: I like orange juice- with lots of pulp.
Curt: I’m not sure…prolly Volkahm. He’s German.
Mitch: German? Ger-mano? (Those of you who know Mitch…are you picturing this?)
Natalie: I don’t understand what developers are.
Kate: I wonder if his name starts with a W.
Curt: Why?
Kate: Because if he’s really German, W words start with a V sound.
Mitch: VAGINA!
[silence]
[snort-laughter from the front passenger seat]
[general hilarity and guff-ahing]
Mitch: What?
Natalie: Take a left here, Curt.

In our defense, every person on Earth that we know at the
moment (including 3 of the 4 Mulder women) is pregnant.
It’s just what’s on your mind…in yer brain…on the slide shows.
But, on the bright side, I am able to talk to doctors without blushing now.

AND, I talked to Jo about breast pumps without flinching.
breast pump breast pump breast pump breast pump
I really think this pregnancy has changed me for the better.


[This photo of me and Peanut was taken by the blessedly talented Tracy DiCocco. I absolutely adore it. Please do not copy or print anything from anyone’s website without permission. It’s stealing. But you certainly may go to her blog and compliment/encourage/otherwise embarrass her.]

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

10 responses to “what I did on my blogger vacation (2)

  • sunday

    way to go pops on the deer!
    i love that picture. i just love that picture!!!!!!!!!!
    that conversation sounds like many in our household.

  • misschristine

    I <3 pregnancy photo shoots. :) When I interned for a photography studio in 11th grade, I got to see a whole lot of proofs of them - well, weddings and senior portraits, too, of course.

    P.S. Did you get to watch the Kiwi animation yet? Adorable!

  • the dicocco gang

    i simply adore how coy-ly you are showing off your knit cap.

    and I sent you pictures so you could share them… you beautiful silly :O)

  • Bill(y)

    Ok – First – I’ll take the 15th – anytime – because no one else has… and you need all the encouragement to get things moving along as you can get..
    Second – Kate – It’s not a pregnancy thing.. It just a guy thing.. Always..
    Last – I have been revisiting tonight to check out the deer pics… Did he get the buck??..

  • diane

    Kate: All I caught was this, “We were on our way to Fricano’s in Grand Haven.”

    And therefore that’s the best story EVER.

    My parents went on DATES to Fricano’s in 1964.

    I love my new k-nitted cap. Thank you for showing everyone a pic of it.

  • KatieKate

    Bill(y)…
    Yes, friend…I think he got THE buck. Biggest in the county. 200 pounds with a 21 inch spread and 8 points. Shot it from the tripod back in the woods…about an 2 hours after day break. DNR says it was 3 and a half years old.
    …Kate

  • sunday

    if those stats on the deer are true you have to send pictures. my husband will be so jealous. he just loves seeing pictures of dead deer 🙂

  • Bill(y)

    Way to go DAD!!! Whoohoo for you! Kate – Still waitin’ for pics of the deer – don’t keep me hangin! And since we both missed having the baby yesterday – I will take the next open date (20th) but hope for a quicker arrival!! ;o)

  • Laura

    Diane shouldn’t get so cocky about that hat just yet. Doesn’t she know that stripes are TOTALLY my thing?

    Have some contractions tomorrow. Some really significant ones. I’m for serious, man.

  • Amanda

    I’m going with your mom on the 18th. Except I think the contractions will begin around 10pm and the baby will arrive in the wee hours of Sunday morning.

    Sabbath Baby!

    If Peanut is born on a Sunday, does that mean she/he will be more holy?

talk to me

