…be glad with exceeding JOY… 1 Peter 4:13

conversation with Nurse Maureen, 12:30am, 3rd day in the hospital:

“Hi, Katie…just gonna check your vitals here a second.”
“MmmHmm.”
[pause]
“Your bed is very high.”
“My husband was playing…”
“Say no more. Happens all the time. Please let me lower it so you don’t hurt yourself going to the bathroom.”

:::

Oh mylanta, this child is hilariousshe has a million faces…I can’t seem to catch all of them. She’s eating well…it took a week for her to catch on to the whole feeding thing, but now she seems to be making up for lost time. She’s been spoiling us with sleep- sometimes it’s a struggle to wake her up. She sleeps hard like her mom. Her tummy is processing some serious gas (perhaps also genetic) and has been a bit cranky, but honestly, it’s impossible not to love every minute.

:::

I am recovering well…have lost 18 pounds so far (none from the thigh region, dangit) but 12 of it was from delivery. My headache is 85% better. I got shampoo in my eyes yesterday while taking a shower. Remember how ridiculously painful it was to get shampoo in your eyes when you were a kid (before the tearless kind came out)? Yeah. It’s not any less painful when you’re a month shy of 30. I am amazing. Big Brother Abe is also doing well. He has stationed himself at the front door and barks at any car he hears within a mile radius…whether it’s coming to our house or not. Again, the child sleeps through everything, so it’s ok.

:::

I finished a pair of mittens…my first completed object in awhile now. I stitched a little R and L (for Left and Right) on them. It’ll be awhile until she fits in them, but dang they’re cute- and super fast. Instant gratification.

And now it’s time for her to eat again…so I shall let you go until Monday. Curt is flying to Fargo (??!!) tomorrow for a dear friend’s wedding, so please pray for safety (him) and sanity (me) until he comes back Sunday night. Kristin and Renae have me covered on the lonliness part- thank you.

We’re expecting snow today…and missing Texas grandparents…blessings to you all and to all a good night…

love, katiekate

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

12 responses to “…be glad with exceeding JOY… 1 Peter 4:13

  • sunday

    Katie!!!! Thank you for sharing all these precious moments. You make me feel like everything will be okay in May. I also love the mittens. The L and R are perfect. Rylie is perfect as well. Can you believe you made her. that is amazing.

  • Jessica and Myron Carr

    SHe is so sweet. I am glad she is sleeping for you too!! I think you are getting some of our snow. WE had some slight blizzard conditions this week. Just stopped this morning actually. I hope you enjoy it it sure was pretty!!

  • Laura

    I used to have mittens like that that my mom made for me…except one was red and said “stop,” the other was green and said “go.” Your child is a delight, I can’t wait to meet her…

    Pray for me, please, I have a job interview today at noon!

  • The Watts

    Oh, Katie, what a beautiful little girl you have! I’m so glad you are all doing well.

  • miss christine

    Oh, goodness, it’s about TIME for the snow! It’s been grossly warm and nasty… too abnormal for almost-December! Bring on the white fluffiness… if only just so Rylie can wear her little R-L mittens. 🙂

  • miss christine

    And, P.S…. I would like you to know that recently, I’ve a craving for knitting, and I must instead sit at my computer and write essays. Sigh. Hopefully Christmas break will bring wonderful things! 🙂

  • Maddie's Mom

    Congratulations on a beautiful baby! I second the “birth to four people” idea and don’t worry about the books, they only get more confusing 🙂
    Enjoy whatever sleep you get now because it may not last too long!

  • Maddie's Mom

    Congratulations on a beautiful baby! I second the “birth to four people” idea and don’t worry about the books, they only get more confusing 🙂
    Enjoy whatever sleep you get now because it may not last too long!

  • Maddie's Mom

    Congratulations on a beautiful baby! I second the “birth to four people” idea and don’t worry about the books, they only get more confusing 🙂
    Enjoy whatever sleep you get now because it may not last too long!

  • Clay

    Congratulations Katie- she is beautfiful! I’m going to have to send some cash to you so that I can get a pair of mittens, I love them! Oh wait…I live in Hawaii…well, I won’t always live here, someday I will be somewhere cold! Newborns are exhausting, but it is also the sweetest time…take care & enjoy it :). -Kat Kennedy

  • Wendy Renard

    Hi guys, just showing wendy how to comment

    curt

  • KatieKate

    Yay for Kat!!!
    Woman, you send me your address and I’d be happy to send you the mittens. Ry can’t wear them for another year.
    Hope you are doing well…I check up on you guys all the time. Kiss that cutie (the little one) for me.

talk to me

