it all comes out in the wash

Happy Monday, folks!
Miss Rylie and I survived the weekend without Dad…did a little laundry, watched a lot of college football, stayed in our pjs 24-7. It was very, very nice. Curt danced the night away at Kevin’s wedding (far far from the single chicks on the hunt, he assured me) in Fargo, North Dakota and flew back at 7pm Sunday night. I love that kid. He’s so cute.

Back here on the farm, I feel the need to clarify a bit. Last week I mentioned the fact that Ry sleeps well…and this is true. I’m up maybe once at night for a late feeding and otherwise, she’s a goner. This does not mean in any way shape or form that she’s an angel all the time. In fact, we have discovered that she is part Peanut (right), part Gremlin (lower left). Look at that face! She can scream her head off with the best of them- especially after 8pm- and then turn on the charm in an instant. It’s unbelievable. She’s so dramatic. This is obviously not genetic.

We have found that singing works to lower the volume level…but I’ve been singing millions of songs for the better part of my life and when it comes time to soothe the Gremlin I forget every word to every song I ever learned.

But we are thankful for our girl.
We are thankful that her hairline is receeding from her eyebrows and shedding from her ears. We are thankful for her soft soft skin…that is molting before our eyes like something on the National Geographic channel. We are thankful for her sweet blue eyes…that are hopelessly crossed. We are thankful for her ability to eat and poo silmutaneously. She is truly a miracle.

So much more…but it will have to wait.
Mamma’s gotta eat.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

5 responses to “it all comes out in the wash

  • Jessica and Myron Carr

    Love it!!! What a face

  • sunday

    look at that face!!!! i mean she is seriously about to cry, but what a cute kid she is. so has her name changed from peanut to gremlin?

  • Other Mulders

    Love the photos. Keep them coming. She’s a wonder.
    Gary was just looking at your page over my shoulder and said, “Did we make the “People we think are great” list?” I explained that you needed to have a blog to get on that list. Otherwise we would surely be there.
    You will be interested to know that I just (finally) finished my orange mittens (my New York yarn). It’s snowing, and I can’t go to camp because they’re refinishing the floors. I think I’ll be walking to City Knitting tomorrow to start a new project.
    Bonnie

  • Chelsey Meek

    You’ve found her “remember when” yearbook pic…

  • The Dad (and hubby)

    Ok, they guys at work said the cry baby face looks like she is a grasshopper. Oh, well.

talk to me

