Neil Diamond was on the TODAY show, ironically, today

and things couldn’t be better…
Any time Neil shows up you know it’s gonna be a good day.

Greetings from the Mitten State. We are doing fine. I am getting about 4000% of my daily vitamin C due to an extreme addiction to clementines and I’ve remembered to put on deoderant for the past 3 days in a row…grand, I say…things are grand.

Miss Rylie and I ventured out alone last week 3 separate times and all with success. Our greatest adventure was to the hair salon where Lainy (and Mom Jo) met up with us. Lainy was Ry’s first official babysitter. Fifteen minutes later, Kristen and Jane showed up (on a tobaggan, no less) and joined our little party. For the next hour, we ruled the tiny little EastTown shoppe and mesmerized all who entered with our cuteness. Since an hour was clearly not enough, the 6 of us headed across the street to City Knitting afterwards to take in some yarn and old-er ladies. Lemme tell you…if you (with or without child) are needing love and affection…or perhaps simply some yarn therapy…your local yarn shop is the place to go. Cuteness grows exponentially in these kinds of places.

We’ve also been to 2 (of about 40 upcoming family and work) Christmas parties, church, grocery shopping, 2 doctor’s appointments, Torah Bible Study, and (Salvation Army-less) Target. So, we’re movin’ around and learning how to travel together.

I tried to wash my feet this morning in the shower and nearly killed myself, so forget it.

And finally, I love our home. Many of you have tackled the 25 miles of scary country roads (where there is more than 20 feet of space between houses and even the occaional cow) to visit or bring us treats and we thank you so so very much. Most of you, once you arrive, have asked politely if we do really in fact for sure like living out here…so far…so very very far away. Sometimes I wonder. But most days…like when the sun is out on the back yard covered in snow…and I can’t see my neighbor’s SUV, but I can see Abe chasing the phantom rabbit he’s sure is out there…most days I’m absolutely thrilled and bless-ed beyond belief. Yes. This is where I want to be. Better- this is where I need to be. It’s perfect for us. It makes me love coming into town for date nights and visiting…and it makes me love coming home at night to quiet and calm…and it makes me look forward to our kids growing up with space to call their own. It’s certainly not for everyone…but it is indeed for us. Come play.
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

8 responses to “Neil Diamond was on the TODAY show, ironically, today

  • sunday

    katie you are the greatest. you make me want to move 25 miles out right now!!! i have to tell you that abe is after Atticus’ (my husky) heart. Atticus finally killed his first rabbit. He had run out of the backdoor every morning in hopes of killing and finally succedded. It made Worth so proud. Abe will get one, i just know it.

  • Jessica and Myron Carr

    i love Clemintines!!! i have been eating like 2 or 3 a day for the last 6 months…. Rylie jayne might come out a little orange herself!!!

  • Jessica and Myron Carr

    Is it just me or does Rylie look like Curt? She has his eyes I think. its hard to tell in photos…

  • The VanderPloeg's

    I love that we were part of your first adventures out and about with Rylie! She seriously is the cutest peanut ever!

    glad the lasagna was satisfactory!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    I love that we were part of your first adventures out and about with Rylie! She seriously is the cutest peanut ever!

    glad the lasagna was satisfactory!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    I love that we were part of your first adventures out and about with Rylie! She seriously is the cutest peanut ever!

    glad the lasagna was satisfactory!

  • KatieKate

    When Miss Ry sleeps, she looks exactly like her dad. I don’t know what it is…but they’re identical. The rest is a whole lotta Sebeck genes.

  • Jessica and Myron Carr

    Thats amazing. I have never really noticed how much children look like their folks until my friends started having kids. It just blows me away!!!

talk to me

