Raise your hand

if you’ve ever cut your own hair. MmmHmmm…I knew you were out there. (Gail, don’t be mad at me) I was one of those kids, too. Sometimes the bangs just needed a little snip…snipsnipsnip…and snip snipsnip somemore until there are no bangs left. Hair- especially bangs- shrink up when they dry…a fact I seemed to forget every time. This brings back some terribly self-concious days in 6th grade.

I haven’t cut my own bangs in a long time, but I am suffering from “too short haircut” syndrome…particularly in the bang area. I was having maybe too much fun (see a couple of posts ago) and was not 100% involved in the hair cutting process, thus…I am in the “2-week-let-it-grow-out-a-bit” phase. gag.

Me and My Shadow are doing well. She is officially back up to birth weight- 2 weeks late, but hey. She’s proved from the beginning that she likes to do things in her own time, her own way. I sense this shall be a pattern throughout her life. Nursing is going much better, though we are having issues with *ahem* supply due to her laid-back-ness. She nurses and then has a chaser of a bottle of either formula or mamma’s milk…whatever is available. She is a happy little bugger, though. She’s also a mermaid…insisting on stuffing both legs into one pant leg. We go back and forth about how she’s too young to live under the sea, but she doesn’t seem to care.

In one week, I shall join the likes of the Bantam Menace and finish my 30th year of life. My brother turned 27 two days ago. Strange, but ok. I’m ok. I’m really ok. Mom’s making me a cake and I’m sure there will be much laughing/humiliation at old photos with feathered bangs and sweater dresses. Come one, come all.


My plans/goals for the next week:
take a one month-old and a husband on a plane to Tejas
introduce one month-old to family goats
take ridiculous photos of one month-old with family goats
take parents, husband, and one month-old to Fort Worth for best friend’s wedding
wear a black dress/tent to a best friend’s wedding
sing in said wedding with other best friend who is pregnant with twins and barely 5 feet tall
laugh about how dumb we look in said tent dresses
eat yellow cake with chocolate frosting
go to a movie without my shadow
show one month-old and husband what San Antonio looks like at Christmas
introduce one month-old to Mandi and Christan and Anna and Janna and Steph and respective families
watch my parents be into grandparents…
…and beg time to stand still


Merry Christmas, folks.
Talk to you next week.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

7 responses to “Raise your hand

  • sunday

    merry christmas to you and a happy birthday. when is it again? i hope you have a wonderful time. i would love to hear you sing. it has been way too long.

  • diane

    sounds lovely.

    enjoy every moment!

  • l.b.o.

    i! can’t! wait! (i plan on looking the most ridiculous, by the way, so don’t fret, i got your back.)

  • The Watts

    Well, our plans changed and I’m really sad because I won’t get to see you guys after all. We’re headed to Indiana on the 26th and won’t be back until the 1st. I hope you have a Merry Christmas, a Happy Birthday and a very Happy New Year! And I hope to see said one-month-old before she’s in school!

  • Laura

    I’ve been there with the bangs. I got grounded for snipping a chunk with yellow-and-white safety scissors when I was about five and was NEVER NAUGHTY AGAIN. Seriously. That incident taught me to live in constant fear of parental disapproval.

    I hear Amarillo’s lovely this time of year. I think you should introduce husband and said one-month-old to the Cadillac Ranch along I-40 just West of town.
    (I hope you know what I’m talking about, because it’s crazy and rad all at the same time.)

  • KatieKate

    I do!!! I totally know what you’re talking about! Alas, Cadillac Ranch shall have to be another adventure as Amarillo is a good 8 hours away from me and everything in Texas takes a bit of planning.

  • Jessica and Myron Carr

    I feel like I have been out of the loop for so long. thanks so much for your support with Rylie Jayne. She cant wait to meet Rylie Joy and teach her about snow! I hope you have a Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday.Wow I will 30 this year too I sure cant believe it…Love ya chick.

talk to me

