I have an announcement.

[updated Friday 1/12: upon closer observation, it is evident the picture below is not in fact a group of people holding up their credit scores but rather judges who have not written down their numbers…apparently, Microsoft clip art does not celebrate credit scores. I, however, do.]
My credit score is lower than Curtis James’. My non-business, low income, always pay things on time even with $50 dollars to my name credit score is higher than his. It’s only 10 points higher, but it’s higher. And, they’re both excellent by any standard, but mine is better. Bet-ter.

Now, our marriage is not a competition. But when you live with Mr. All-American-I-Can-Do-Anything-Right-the-First-Time-I-Try-It, it’s nice to win something every once in a long while. So, I claim the credit score.

And, the child-birthing thing. I win.

My cutie husband is sick. He’s never sick…and I can’t tell you how sick, but let’s just say he came home early from work on Monday and stayed home Tuesday and is never far from the potty. Poor kid. He got it from his sister. Hopefully, we’ll just keep it on the blood-side of the family and it’ll skip right over me. I’m better (and cuter) when I’m the “take care of you” person.

This photo is from the Alamo. Rylie had a diaper change and a bottle right there on the back lawn. Her little buns touched hallowed ground…perhaps where Jim Bowie (not David Bowie, as someone in our car thought) once stood. The child is forever moving her feet and hands. When she wakes up from her naps her two little bird-legs are crossed indian-style inside her pjs. Her right arm is constantly moving up…down…updown…up…down…like a miniature chicken dance or something. You should meet her. She’s funny. And, she’s very very cute. Seriously. Ask anyone in the DFW airport or Target.

Merry weekend, folks. I hope you have a good one…and perhaps we will run into each other at Little Mexico or Tractor Supply or somewhere.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

7 responses to “I have an announcement.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Rylie wants to meet her so very badly! I hear ya on the leg crossed thing. I laughed so hard when we first brought Rylie home. Her legs would get all bunched up in her jammies…so very cute! Hope Curt feels better soon!

  • sunday

    worth had that death virus/not far from the potty on Christmas day. terrbile just terrible. i want to meet rylie so bad. i am sure she is even cuter then i can imagine. good job on the credit score and you for sure have him beat on the whole birthing a child thing 🙂

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    i dont think any man who has witnessed it would argue!!!

  • diane

    here we go:
    Rylie is adorable. Truly. Hope to meet her soon. Is she ready for a trip to Field’s Fabrics?

    Loved your trip to Tejas.

    I don’t have a retractable cord on my vacuum. And if I had to choose between laundry and vacuuming, I choose laundry. When I bought my vacuum 2 years ago the lady took one look at me and told me I was too young to buy a vacuum.

    I’d love to know my Credit Score…did you have to pay for it? I don’t have a Dave Ramsey envelop for that. Could you tell us more about that?

    My niece also talked non-stop. It is firmly believed that she came out of the womb talking, kicking and waving her hands. She is 3 and hasn’t stopped since.

    much love to you. and peace.

  • Laura

    I would just like to say, for the record, that I need to get you in check on cultural sensitivity.

    We don’t say Indian-style anymore. Oh no. We don’t even say Indian. We say American Indian (because we don’t even say Native American anymore, either). So when we speak of leg-crossing, we call it “criss-cross applesauce.”

    Take this as gospel from someone who has been in a lot of schools. They’re all saying it. Yeah, I know.

    This message was brought to you by the letters P and C.

  • KatieKate

    i meant indian as in New Dehli… dots, not feathers as Robin WIlliams would say. [imagine me sticking my tongue out at you and running around the room]

    and, yes, Diane…I think the chick is ready for her first trip to Fields…let’s talk

  • diane

    Laura, I think I need to correct even you…It is not American Indian anymore…it is First Nation people.

    Criss-cross applesauce? Hmm…I’ve also heard, “sit like a pretzel” but then again, I lived in Eastern PA and the world revolves around Pretzels over there.

    Rylie: Field’s Fabrics here we come.

talk to me

