I need your help.

Someone please caption this for me.

All I do is giggle when I look at it, and I have not the talent KMoore’s other half, Paul (PMoore…tee he he) has for marrying words with photos. In fact, in 8th grade I applied to be on the yearbook staff but accepted an office aide position instead. I was one of those kids who got to walk the halls and interrupt class to hand out messages from parents and parole officers- my 5 minutes of coolness in the Belton School District. As I was filing papers one day into students’ (top secret) files, I came across my yearbook application complete with the lame photo we were supposed to showcase our skills with. In the top right corner of the paper, scribbled in Mrs. W’s handwriting was simply, “No.”

Failure. My therapist* says to surrender this burden and let people help me. So, I turn to you.

Do you see this hat? Erica made it. There are shoes, too. She made them. There was also a baby quilt she found while thrifting with these sweet girls on them. Erica found it. Erica has my number big time. I cried. My conversation with Curt went something** like this:
:::
[me crying]
What’s wrong?
[me holding up tear-stained hat and shoes and blanket]
A present?
[me nodding]
From who?
[me holding up card]
Chris and Erica? Cake-topper Chris and Erica?
[me nodding]
You love you friends, don’t you, Kate?
[me crumbling into a sobbing mess on the floor]
Well, that’s nice. You wanna go for a walk?
:::

I love you, too.

*I don’t have a real therapist; she’s just my imaginary therapist because I don’t think we could afford the therapy I need…especially after diving into Dutch world where every salad is made with whipped cream and apples.
**conversation not to scale…author’s emotions have been known to affect memory recall

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

12 responses to “I need your help.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Oh My..

    Way to cute but I am afaraid I can not help you because i am so overcome by cuteness.

  • Anonymous

    Caption:
    “From Russia, with love.”

  • DAD

    I LOVE MY GRANDPAP >>>>>>>>>>>>>>

  • the bantam menace

    how about “heart me”

  • Chelsey Meek

    How about…I’ve got love in my head (instead of heart…get it?)

    -or-
    A Head Full of Love

  • KatieKate

    Rie you crack me up, woman!

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    I just looked at “the life of rylie” via Flicker. These two have to meet!! Not only do they share the same name and middle inital,but they also share the same taste in clothing…too funny.

    You have one picture with Rylie in a little white outfit. Was this outfit either yours or Curts? My mom sent me 2 blankets that look just like it, that where mine when Iwas a munchkin…

  • Little House in Grand Prairie

    Bless my heart?
    She is too cute, Katie.
    I am going to check out the Flicker pics right now.

  • KristenDeckingaMoore

    How about. . . . . “How can a girl like me be taken seriously when my mom dresses me in a hat that looks like Martha Stewart Kids went to Russia?”

    Is the title too long? Of course it is!

  • KatieKate

    Jess…it’s not my nightgown, but it is Curt’s favorite outfit that she has. He puts it on her all the time.

    KMoore…do they have Martha Stewart in Russia? She does like her vodka.

  • erica

    Thanks Katie!
    You have made my day!
    and to think, my crafting brought you to tears!
    I figured the hat and booties were a bit too big for her now…
    they’re not meant to remind you of marge simpson’s hair or russia…that’s just a silly side effect. hopefully she’ll grow into the look!

    miss you,
    erica

  • Laura

    I. Love. That. Hat. (That’s not a caption suggestion, it’s just the plain and honest truth!)

talk to me

