so sorry, Rose

Miss Rylie has received some super cute gifts lately…one of them being a little bear all dressed for bedtime…from Cousin Rose in PA. When you squeezed the pillow, a little voice would come on and say, “Now I lay me down to sleep; I pray the Lord my soul to keep.”

Notice that’s all past-tense.


I put Rylie down for a nap one morning and came out to the living room to find Abe quietly snuggling with the bear. Later that afternoon, I found him on my bed…with the bear. And then, in early evening, I found him on the couch…with the bear… and in a moment of pity I allowed him to stay. He just looked so pathetic.

The bear is now his “baby”. If you ask him to go get his “baby” he will search high and low for it. It’s the only soft toy he hasn’t destroyed in a matter of seconds…I think he really loves it. We had to cut the voice out of the pillow, though. Abe would fall asleep on it and I’d hear “nowIlaymedowntosleep nowIlaymedowntosleep nowIlaymedowntosleep” over and over again. So, thank you, Rose, for the sweet gift. I know you intended it for Rylie, but you’ve made a 100 pound lab very very happy.

Today is January 18th…and that means it’s my father’s birthday. Happy Birthday, Pap. I am so happy to have had Rylie so Curt can know what it’s like to be loved by a little girl the way that I love you. I hope your day is fabulous…I sent you some Michigan weather to celebrate.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

9 responses to “so sorry, Rose

  • The Watts

    Happy Birthday, Mr. Dan!

    Love,
    Ruth (the girl, not the goat)

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Oh red did the same thing with a Rainbow BRite. Unfortuntaly we had to take it away. Red was getting sick, it was orange. We thought maybe it was her. She hasn’t been sick since she went away! Sweet Red…Swet Sweet Abe!

  • janna

    happy birthday, mr. dan! if you thought i was big at the wedding–you should see me now! 🙂 janna

  • Mr Dan

    You,poor,poor, Woman….hang in there………….

  • sunday

    you sure did send your dad some weather for his birthday. i feel the same way about Worth having a daughter. Now he will be adored as much as my dad is adored by all three of us. those are the most precious pictures of Abe ever. I could not take the bear away either. sweet abe!! i want to meet him so bad. i know he would have so much fun with Rainy and Atticus. I think that Atticus would end up worshipping him. he loves other dogs!!

  • the dicocco gang

    oh, that series of pictures is the best ever. Makes me want to jump in my car and come snuggle with Abe and the bear!

  • KatieKate

    Trace:
    I am not kidding when I say Abe is a great spooner. We takes naps together all the time.

    And maybe that’s weird.
    But I don’t care.

  • Chelsey Meek

    It is called “oldest-(neglected)-child-syndrome”, O(N)CS for short. Abe needs a baby too, since he now has to share his mommy and daddy.

    I’ve suffered through it. I’m sure you did too.

  • KatieKate

    I’m still suffering through it.

talk to me

