buenos sunday night/monday, people

There are some new Rylie photos up on Flickr. I’m a bit ridiculous with the camera, so for you family and friends who are dying to see her know that’s it updated several times a week (and sometimes several times a day).

a conversation with my father

“You know, I think that mobile was Danny‘s.”
“Really? Well, I’m not giving it back.”
“No, seriously…’member you had the Mother Goose one?”
“Do I remember?”
“Yeah…Dan had the King Cole one and you had Mother Goose.”
“No. I don’t remember.”

[pause]

“Well…you were really little.”
“When I had the mobile? Yes. Yes, I was.”

It’s slow around here this week, and I am not complaining. Curt or I or both of us has been sick since Christmas Day and we are hoping this is the week we kick “it”. The 4-Runner has officially bit the dust to the tune of $4,000 or a new-to-us vehicle, so the Boy will be happily shopping for another one (another 4-Runner) this week. We plan a memorial for Old Grey with lots of pictures from the sand dunes and snow. He so loved that truck. I will be k-nitting (my secret project) on Wednesday and that’s it. No more. No nothing planned. Nada. This may be the week Curt and I run out of things to talk about.

But then again, just when I think perpetual silence is on our horizon the Boy comes up with genius like this: “If you had to drink one thing- with no adverse effects- for the rest of you life, what would you pick?” Brilliant question. This is why I married this kid.

My answer, without hesitation, is Tropical Punch Kool-Aid…sugar version. Yours?

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

25 responses to “buenos sunday night/monday, people

  • The Zoo

    Man, that is such a hard decision. I think I would pick Ice Tea-half and half. You only get sweet tea here in Georgia so you have to order it half sweet and half unsweetened to actually be able to swallow the stuff!

    I love your blogs Kate! You allow us to enter in to everything about you all and it is so much fun! Thank you!

    Love,
    Renee

  • diane

    I LOVE RED KOOL-AID!!

    Once, while in the midst of youth group, a student asked me, “What’s your favorite Kool-aid flavor?”

    Without hesitation my answer, “Red.”

    This week at house church the (odd) question was from Fight Club, “If you could be in a fight with anyone, who would it be?”

    My answer: Nancy Carlson Paige (Matt Damon’s mom…my graduate prof.)

    are we on for Saturday?

  • the dicocco gang

    hmmm.. probably chocolate milk.
    the homemade kind, not the hershey’s syrup stuff.

    but I sure would miss dr. pepper!

  • Anonymous

    Hey Kate.
    Ihhh, I don’t know if it is kosher to use your blog like this. . . . but I am wondering what the dicocco gang meant by “the homemade kind, not the hershey’s syrup stuff.” How do you make homemade chocolate milk? Are we talking dutch unprocessed cocoa or something?
    By the way, the world is getting smaller and smaller. This Saturday, I re-met Maddie DiCocco and her dad, Bill, I believe. I ran into them at Marie Catrib’s while Jane Moore was hanging IN the kitchen WITH Marie. Maddie and Bill started talking to Marie while Jane was in her arms and Paul and I just laughed from our table talking about how wonderfully cozy GR is.
    So Kate, whenever you are in GR, let’s go to Marie’s where “everybody knows your name. . . . dah dah dah.”
    To quote, 22 month old Jane Moore: “Hi Marie (give her googley eyes and smile), cookie? Cookie? Maaah-rie?”
    Works everytime.

    Uhhh, so I went on this rampage because I want to know how to make homemade chocolate milk.

    Sorry. km. (I am too embarassed to further identify myself)

  • KatieKate

    The DiCoccos prolly have the tap on some special commune cow at their farmer’s co-op that only makes chocolate milk…un-processed and DDT free.

    I don’t know what that means. What’s the chemical in milk? RHA?

    Now I’m embarrassed.
    And you can use my blog any ol’ way you want to.

  • sunday

    i am so sad about Curt’s 4-runner. I too know the sad demise of a 4 runner, mine (the boy, not your husband) bit the dust too. Jessica’s dad bought it from me and kept me updated but he sold him as well. i wish i still had that truck. it was amazing!! i would say milkshakes (cookies-n-cream), a frosty from wendy’s, smoothies, and diet coke. i am pregnant i can pick as many as i want!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    hands down it would be Dr. Pepper. invented in the city of waco, texas. i’ve been to the dr. pepper museum there in waco. very interesting. kate – you been there?
    jo

  • The VanderPloeg's

    hands down it would be Dr. Pepper. invented in the city of waco, texas. i’ve been to the dr. pepper museum there in waco. very interesting. kate – you been there?
    jo

  • The VanderPloeg's

    hands down it would be Dr. Pepper. invented in the city of waco, texas. i’ve been to the dr. pepper museum there in waco. very interesting. kate – you been there?
    jo

  • KatieKate

    I have NOT been to the DP museum (I know- I am ashmaed of myself)…but I am so proud that some of my Northern friends know of the magic of Dr. Pepper. I thought it was only a Southern thing.

    And, I’m still laughing at Sunday- who picked 42 things to drink.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Love the picture of “Rylie” reading the four wheel drive book/mag. All to familiar!!

  • erica

    snapple peach iced tea
    i like to snap the caps
    …and you learn stuff with every bottle.
    what’s better than that?!

  • Curt

    “strait up”…thats what my wife said in Torah Club tonight…anyway…strait up Coca Cola Classic.

  • Little House in Grand Prairie

    Mango tea from chili’s – love it.
    I love Rylie’s serious little face in the yellow hat. I think I have seen that look on her mom?

  • anna

    Four things, in reverse order of importance:

    1. I’m sorry y’all have been sick. I hope you’re feeling better. I went on a two-week “feeling really cruddy” kick myself right after Christmas, and it sucks. So I hope things are better that way.

    2. My condolences on the 4-Runner. I know that feeling. When it was finally time to get rid of my Cherokee AJ, I cried. Actual, “I’ll never love a car the way I love you” tears. Best of luck on finding a new ride. And btw, I love my new car Xander.

    3. Representing for the alcoholix: Margaritas, on the rocks, with salt! (You did say no adverse effects!) 😉

    4. You have the cutest baby ever. Those pictures in the car seat, especially that last one, are to die for.

  • KatieKate

    anna move to michigan

    i miss you

  • Kate's dad

    Anna ,,,, move ta Michigan…

  • Kate's dad

    Anna ,,,, move ta Michigan…

  • Kate's dad

    Anna ,,,, move ta Michigan…

  • Anna

    Ah, Kate, thanks. Wait — you guys still have snow, right? Um, maybe I can just move there half the year.

    Dan — hey now! That hurts!

  • KatieKate

    There will be no fighting on my blog. Dad, you have to be nice to people or they won’t be your friends.

  • Kate's Dad

    Was only trying ta help … Sorry Anna , stay here in Texas with us …… we all love ya … 🙂

  • Kate's Dad

    Was only trying ta help … Sorry Anna , stay here in Texas with us …… we all love ya … 🙂

  • Kate's Dad

    Was only trying ta help … Sorry Anna , stay here in Texas with us …… we all love ya … 🙂

  • the dicocco gang

    kristen… oh, sorry… I mean almost-anonymous km… you know, you make a giant pan of hot chocolate (with cocoa from Penzeys and sugar and whole, never skim, milk) and then put what’s left into the fridge for later… but it’s too much trouble to heat back up so I drink it cold. billy told me he saw you guys at maries… isn’t this town wonderful??

    and jo… i haven’t been to the place in texas… but one year for christmas, my harrison had some bottles of dr. pepper (made with real cane sugar apparently) shipped up here for me. For real. Isn’t that precious?? Sometimes I use a bottle for a flower vase just to remember how sweet that boy is!

talk to me

