i DO have rocker hair

Coming one step closer to my dream of being a back up singer for Rod Stewart, I shall be joining 6 friends on March 2nd and choralling for a piece in The Mines show at the Wealthy Theatre. Let me say what you’re thinking: rad. If you’ve not seen them yet…well, they’re fantastic…and real. Adam thinks Ethan sings like a “black Sting” even though he could pass for Opie without an id card. Troy’s bald and knows his litergy. Todd breaks drum pedals when he plays. And Greg…well, Greg’s just about the coolest dad around. You should come. The Theatre is gorgeous, and a little rock and roll never hurt anyone.

Many of you have been asking how Abe is sleeping these days, what with a newborn in the house and all that jazz. Well, he seems to be doing just fine, thank you. Mom, I have not allowed him to claim the pillow (you so lovingly made for us)…it just needs a washing and he was so cute I couldn’t be mad at him. He’s 100 pounds of love, that dog.

Shall we start off this week with a question? I’ll say what you’re thinking: Yay! This particular topic came up a k-nitting k-night last Wednesday…it’s fantastic. What name did you always wish you could have? You know, like in 5th grade when Who’s the Boss reigned and all the girls wanted to change their name to Sam (*ahem* Laura). Me personally, I always wanted to be an Emily. Emily-s were always so nice and cute and popular…and rich.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

18 responses to “i DO have rocker hair

  • Julie "Jane" Lenger Harkless

    Jane. I still kinda want that to be my name. That or Yolanda. It’s a toss up. Although I have never met a pale – red head Yolanda. I still just say Jane. Thanks for the hug yesterday.

  • sunday

    i love when my dogs sleep like that. all their legs together. it makes me happy. i have to admit, i wanted to be called Sam. i guess it was b/c of “Who’s the boss”, i did not realize it then, but it makes sense now. of course i still like my real name, domenica, and like sunday as well. man so many choices. here is my question, “do you think that we name our kids the name that we wish we had?”.

  • KatieKate

    Well, let’s ask Julie:
    Did you want to name Lily Yolanda at one point?

  • The VanderPloeg's

    What a great question kate! I never liked my name growing up
    “joanna”
    everyone messed it up!!! I was joAnne
    jonah (can you even believe it?)
    joan
    it goes on and on

    And so while growing up, I always wished my name was
    Brittany.
    I named my premie cabbage patch kid Brittany cause I loved that name so much. I even had her birth certificate changed and everything!

    Now as an adult. I love my given name. And love that I choose to be called Jo!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    What a great question kate! I never liked my name growing up
    “joanna”
    everyone messed it up!!! I was joAnne
    jonah (can you even believe it?)
    joan
    it goes on and on

    And so while growing up, I always wished my name was
    Brittany.
    I named my premie cabbage patch kid Brittany cause I loved that name so much. I even had her birth certificate changed and everything!

    Now as an adult. I love my given name. And love that I choose to be called Jo!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    What a great question kate! I never liked my name growing up
    “joanna”
    everyone messed it up!!! I was joAnne
    jonah (can you even believe it?)
    joan
    it goes on and on

    And so while growing up, I always wished my name was
    Brittany.
    I named my premie cabbage patch kid Brittany cause I loved that name so much. I even had her birth certificate changed and everything!

    Now as an adult. I love my given name. And love that I choose to be called Jo!

  • miss christine

    I always wanted to be named ‘Dawn’… but as I have aged and grown wiser, I have definitely decided I’m glad I’m not named Dawn after all.

    But possible names I would consider/proposition to my husband for our children:

    Grace
    Virginia (only to be called Ginny)
    Daniel

    They’ll probably change as I continue to live on… just like my preference for Dawn faded away. šŸ™‚

  • KatieKate

    Jo had her CABBAGE PATCH DOLL’s name changed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I don’t care who you are…that’s funny.

    Chris…you’re not a Dawn. You’re a Chris. But I may steal the Ginny thing…that’s super cute.

  • The Watts

    When I was very young (VERY young), I approached my mother and asked her, in all sincerity, why she didn’t name me “Hope.” I just figured with my last name being “Pope,” it would be very clever if the first and last rhymed.

  • the bantam menace

    I was always jealous of all the other girls because they had nicknames. (you can’t really do much with “marie”)

    I didn’t truly like my name until a girl on my volleyball team asked me if she could call me “rie.” I’ve loved my name ever since.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    i think i would have liked anything but my own–shanna, which is apparently impossible to pronounce, as proven through torturous first days of school and assistant teachers. i was shannon, shana, shawna, any variation thereof. and for a painfully shy child, correcting my elders over and over was a struggle since i wouldn’t speak loudly enough to be heard the first time. by college, i was much more willing to shout that anytime you have a vowel, followed by a double consonant, it is always the short vowel sound. duh. pay attention people. it rhymes with hannah. no “n.”

    it would have been nice to be a sarah or clare. anything easily pronouncable…

  • Chelsey Meek

    O lady of many talents…you’re super cool!
    -Peyton

  • diane

    Diana. I always wished my name was Diana. Lucky for me Diane and Diana are pronounced the same in Spanish.

    My sister’s name is Dawn Marie and her nickname is Ray (like ray of sunshine that comes with the Dawn and also a derivative of Marie/rie/ray)

    Work with me, people.

  • Laura

    I believe this whole question catapulted itself into existence after Pregnant Kristen asked me, “Laura, do you like your name?” Scamming on the new guest for a baby name. Shameless, I say.

    I did want to be Sam, and maybe it was because of Who’s The Boss? But I also wanted to be Nina, and that may or may not have been because of Rags To Riches.

    Oh, and Rie, I wanted a nickname too, but Laurie was out because I had an unsavory classmate by that name, and though my grandma suggested Lauren, I said that it didn’t count as a nickname if the name ended up being LONGER.

  • the dicocco gang

    when harrison was born, people immediately began calling him harry. knowing it would stick unless i gave them an alternative we dubbed him “indiana” (direct reference to all the inquisitions on if his little baby middle name was ford). Nicknames are a funny thing.
    I always wanted to be the girl named kat. There is always one and she is always way cool and absolutely beautiful and caught in that lilly white/rebellion tension.
    I went by “Lou” for quite a many years.
    But now, like rie… I love the slightly shortened version of my own name “trace” and have been calling myself that more and more lately.

  • sunday

    man i always wanted a nick name too. i have “sun” which i love. but with my real name i always got “dom” or “domer”. i mean i am not a killer you know. not an appropriate nickname šŸ™‚

  • Jane "RED" Harkless

    The nickname – now that’s where it is at. Red. That’s what I want it to be. And yes Kate – Yolanda – was my name choice and Bob – that was Dougies name choice. Lilly will thank us one day. Oh she will.

  • miss christine

    It’s on days like today (and weeks like these, and months like these…) that I wish I had a nice 100-pound Abe to give me hugs and warm me up! šŸ™‚

    Katie Kate, you’re awesome – I just thought you should know.

talk to me

