half way to half way to one

Rylie is 3 months old this week (Tuesday, actually..at 9:05am…when all the pain stopped, but we don’t have to dwell on the past). Oh, how we love our little girl!!! She is hysterical with her sideways grins and sweet babbling. She hates hates hates-the-way-I-hate-whistling the car but is slowly growing out of it. Our trip to Target today (nothing says Valentine’s Day like Tar-shay!) showed marked improvement in tolerable decibel levels. She loves loves loves to sleep and is a dream to put down for a nap…I hope that never changes (if she’s anything like her parents, she will always always love to sleep). My guess is she’s a petite 11 pounds…but freakishly strong and otherwise right on track for becoming a Nobel Peace Prize winner at the age of 6. Thank you for loving our little Peanut!

I made Ry a present to celebrate the occasion- I mean, you’re only 3 months old once, eh? The first one always comes out a little wonky (I’m not thrilled with her face- faces are hard)…but allow me to introduce you to Violet the Bunny. She was made from scraps…and her tail is actually a little flower I embroidered on her bum. Whaddya think? A winner with a few adjustments? I’d love to custom this and eventually sell it in my shop with some cat and bear friends.

Kids are a miracle…and not just because they start out as you-know-what and become this thing and then grow into this blob and then squeeze out of inappropriate places…no. Not just because of that. More so because God allows us to do the impossible.

or, as my husband put it the other night:

“Isn’t it amazing…we made that! She’s incredible!”
“She is. You’re right.”

pause

“I mean, it’s not like either one of us is all that great looking, either! She’s beautiful!”

*sigh* I know what he meant. I know what he means. He’s a wonderful man…the best, I’d argue.
I get to kill him first.


katiekate out

PS
I’m still trying to picture all of us with our “desired” names/nickames…and am laughing so hard! Y’all crack me up.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

13 responses to “half way to half way to one

  • The Watts

    Adorable bunny…and baby!! Happy 3-month birthday Miss Rylie!

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Rylie is beautiful, and so are both of her parents…no matter what The Boy says. Shame on him. He better have bought you flowers.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Awww Happy 3 month! I am jealous that she loves to sleep. Rylie Jayne does not love to nap!

  • sunday

    katie she really is a cute kid. i am not just saying that either. her expressions are to die for! so lets get back to this shop. tell us more. where will it be? will it be virtual? can i play in the shop?

  • KatieKate

    the boy built me a house…with plenty of room to plant a whole national park of flowers 🙂 I think I’ll let this one slide…

    The shop I would love to open is an Etsy Shop – go to etsy.com and goof around a bit – it’s all handmade goods and you run your own deal. The site take 3% of the sale…which is awesome compared to selling it in a local shop.

  • The VanderPloeg's

    Kate – the bunny is super cute! I can’t get over it. nice work! Happy 3 mo. Riley! Lainy misses you, and loves to look at all your pictures on the “puter”.

    Let’s get together soon kate – we’ll make our way out to the back 40!
    jo

  • The VanderPloeg's

    Kate – the bunny is super cute! I can’t get over it. nice work! Happy 3 mo. Riley! Lainy misses you, and loves to look at all your pictures on the “puter”.

    Let’s get together soon kate – we’ll make our way out to the back 40!
    jo

  • The VanderPloeg's

    Kate – the bunny is super cute! I can’t get over it. nice work! Happy 3 mo. Riley! Lainy misses you, and loves to look at all your pictures on the “puter”.

    Let’s get together soon kate – we’ll make our way out to the back 40!
    jo

  • the dicocco gang

    i want to see the little flower bunny bum!!

  • KatieKate

    That’s a fair request, Trace…I’ll get right on that.

  • the bantam menace

    you know, hearking back to the nicknames, I forgot to mention that after I adopted “rie” as my nickname, one of my friends told me that a french word, pronounced exactly the same way (spelled “rit”) means “to laugh”. I KID YOU NOT!!!

  • miss christine

    …. it’s true! “Rire” is the infinitive of the verb “to laugh”, but “rit” would be a conjugated form of it that aligns with the “he”, “she”, or “it” subject pronouns. Good nickname choice. 🙂

  • KatieKate

    ah…that’s what this blog is all about…people helping people.

talk to me

