I ask you…

Is this normal? I keep going in to move her head to one side or the other, but 10 minutes later it’s back to face-down. Hmmm. She’s so darn cute. I just want to eat her. [update: I just uploaded Rylie Joy’s latest photo shoot over at flickr…get ready to giggle.]

Do you know this kid? I married him. We met for the very first time on this very day in California, 2002. I was working on staff with Young Life. He was visiting a friend from college. He was there for less than 24 hours. He said about 2 words to me…”Do you have any sunscreen?” and, “No, I don’t know your friend who lives in Michigan.” A week later he asked if he could send me a letter…6 months later I moved to Grand Rapids…2 years later we were married…and 4 years later we had a baby.

It was a good letter.

Today also happens to be his birthday. He’s 29. Curtis James, Happy Birthday. I’m so happy God made you. You’re brilliant, a fantastic dancer (quiet, Pap), and my absolute best friend. Thank you for working so I can stay home. Thank you for adopting my dream of a farm and a family. And thank you for loving chocolate cake and ice cream. I think we’ll be friends for a long, long time.

love to you all and to all a good weekend…katiekate

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

8 responses to “I ask you…

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    This week I have learned in order for Rylie Jayne to nap she must lay on her tummy. She to likes to have her face directly into the matteress..I do the same and try to turn it. It goes right back. It is to cute! I agree… Happy birthday to Curt

  • KatieKate

    Oh, Friend…I didn’t even think to ask if you had tried laying her on her tummy…we gave up on the back sleeping pretty early. She’s so much more content on her belly or propped up on her side. I hope she’s sleeping beter now!

    And it’s very good to know my Rylie isn’t the only one who prefers to breathe through her sheets!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    We too, are so very glad you two met! That must have been some letter Curt – nice work. And look at the beautiful family you’ve created. God is so good!
    Happy 29th! You are now offcially old.

  • The VanderPloeg's

    We too, are so very glad you two met! That must have been some letter Curt – nice work. And look at the beautiful family you’ve created. God is so good!
    Happy 29th! You are now offcially old.

  • The VanderPloeg's

    We too, are so very glad you two met! That must have been some letter Curt – nice work. And look at the beautiful family you’ve created. God is so good!
    Happy 29th! You are now offcially old.

  • Paxton Cox

    Katie, It looks like she is praying..starting early! I love it..at least she is in her own bed…my child isn’t. Whitney
    Hey I tagged you on my blog too by the way. WC

  • Kristen

    Rylie is going for perfect head shape-idge. She knows that other kids all over America are securing themselves a future with a helmet and public staring with their flat heads.
    Looks like you have a beauty queen on your hands.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    i was very happy to see another child in love with a frog. gracie has become OBSESSED with her’s. i thought bunny, baby, teddy bear, or blanky might have been the security object. but no, alas, she wants her frog. ALL. THE. TIME.

talk to me

