It’s Monday already?

I lose time in this “4-hour schedule” world. Morning and afternoon mean nothing to me. It’s either feeding time, activity time, or nap time. I turned on the news this morning and it was Monday. That’s why I’m here.
;
We woke up in a winter wonderland here at the Shoebox. Beautiful fat wet snow…the kind that snowball fights were made for…and forts…and sledding…and snow angels. The kind that makes your boots all wet and you dog really really happy. I just came back inside from playing with Abe. This is the first “good” snow of the season…32 degrees mean you can go out in a sweatshirt and a hat and rainpants over your pjs and have an absolute blast. It’s been below zero for months here…with tons of that good for nothing squeaky, dry, sugar snow that hurts when the wind blows. Today… well, today is a happy day. I need to invest in some snow shoes. I spent more than a half an hour trying to walk a very short loop behind the house and spent most of the time sunk up to my knees being attacked by Abe who thought it was a glorious game.
;
Curt and I spent the weekend dreaming about Texas North…and what we’d like it to be…and how to start now. You’re going to love it…I promise. When we lay out some official plans (which may or may not involve longhorns and free-range chickens and family cabins) I will spill the beans. The first order of business is to finish the Shoebox. Plans are in the works for a finished basement (with a bathroom, Pap), a front and back porch this summer, and a ridiculously cute child running around barefoot with a sundress and apron on. Evenutally, we will need a handyman (*ahem* anyone know an older gentleman who can fix just about anything and has a serious hankering for tinkering with tractors?) and a quilter to teach sewing and such in the afternoons in the barn (*ahem* who quite possibly might also be an excellent cook and used to working with children). It’s a wonderful plan. And scary as it seems to put it out there…I think it’s really going to happen. We’re going for it.
;
In honor of (Ma)Rie, I give you the question for the week:
You may pick any car…your dream car/truck/4-wheeler, etc…to head off on a dream road trip.
What’s the car? Who would you pick up? And where are you headed?

Me? I’ll take a 1968 convertible Camaro…
and I’d grab Janna- who just had twins and needs some rest-…
and I’d drive Highway 1 from top to bottom…
and eventually wind up in a little restaurant on the other side of Tijuana.
shrimp taco, please and thank you
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

17 responses to “It’s Monday already?

  • Okie

    That must be the storm that hit on Friday morning out here in Utah. Sounds like it picked up some moisture along the way. When it hit here, it was very light and fluffy…made it tough for the kids to get a decent snowman. But we had tons of fun sledding in it on Saturday. 🙂

  • Chelsey Meek

    Family cabin…can I reserve land for mine?

    Black Range Rover (2000, the edition before the shark fins were added) with tan leather interior and wood paneling. I’d pick up KatieKate, Annalisa, Kat and Laura…a few friends that don’t know each other, but should!

  • sunday

    1995 black 4-runner with tan interior. must have a sun roof. the newer 4 runners are a better ride, but the 1995 bodystyle is the one i love. i want it to be a 5 speed. you, me, and jessica riding down the PCH in california. how perfect!

  • sunday

    oh yeah and SO jealous of the snow. i have given up on ole man winter and am eagerly awaiting spring. i am ready to garden!

  • KatieKate

    Fantastic.
    Let’s start booking these road trips now. I’m free.

    And Chels…the big secret is that everyone gets a cabin for free 🙂 Of course, if you’d like to take up permanent residence (and teach my children), then you may have one of your own.

  • l.b.o.

    come get me. but do they make pumps that plug into the cigarette lighters? wait–this is fantasy-land and i’m sure there is no pumping in fantasy-land…just come.

  • The Watts

    Anything cooler than a minivan, going literally anywhere, with my favortie Sweetie, Jeff.

  • Mom

    Minivan? You mean a VW van with a sunroof?
    Better yet, one Gold Wing with the stereo up REAL LOUD!!!

  • the dicocco gang

    well, after having just arrived in colorado after a 3 day roadtrip in the minivan with the fam… I’m staying put for a few weeks because dreaming of logging highway miles is not a fabulous thought :O)
    missing you though… I will brave the road and come home

  • erica

    old vw bus with the little kitchenette and bed inside.
    chris as my co-pilot.
    cruising cross country picking up and dropping off friends along the way.
    all the folks we have missed from all over the place that we met while working outdoor ed.
    doing a big loop to california and back.
    performing puppet shows along the way.
    and thrift shopping.
    until there is no room left in the van because of all the treasures.

  • KatieKate

    Yay! Tracy is safe.
    And Erica and Skogs are comign to pick me up!

    I should have made it madatory that I be a part of EVERYONE’s road trip…or at least a leg of it. I’m inviting myself.

  • bec

    Katie – I pose your questions to my friends around here and it has become a wonderful game. Wes would like to know why no one picked Dr. Pepper as their one drink, as it is “23 flavors – I mean that’s got to be all KINDS of good stuff.” Wes, Wes, Wes… As for me, put me in a Tahoe Z71. (I’m an NC State girl, don’t forget. We’re a Chevy truck kind of crowd, that’s what all the boys down here love. 🙂 I’d have to join in on the California road trip thing. I’d like to start at the top and see Lake Tahoe, San Fran, L.A., and end up in beloved San Diego, probably out at Coronado. Just a girls trip – the Tahoe can swing through and pick up you and the little one on the way out from NC!

  • the bantam menace

    i’m sure you saw this coming, but here it is: a 2007 4-door RED jeep wrangler (with the half doors, not the pansy steel doors that make it look like a stupid H2), top down, Bantam and Menace name tags in place. since I can fit three of you, it must be kate (who has invited herself along and has no idea what she’s just gotten herself into!!!), lindsey and elizabeth!!! wondering why I’m not taking my sister or tasha, two of my other favorite people ever??? well, this is an obvious CARAVAN and tasha and lisa are in their OWN jeeps (silver “Mr. Jeep” and red “Bunji” respectively!!!) anyone else want to invite themselves along?! there’s room for six more!!!!!

    oh, yeah. and we would take a roadtrip down to Virginia (I’ve never been anywhere greener), hit up the Chesepeake Bay Bridge Tunnel, then over to six flags in maryland to ride the superman (the greatest ride EVER)!!!

    or, classic road trip scenario, scrap the plan on the way and just do whatever we feel like 😀

  • The Watts

    I think you are absolutely right to invite yourself along, but we can’t possibly come pick you up until there are no snow pictures posted here! When it gets to be Spring there like it is here, then we’ll talk.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    ’78 CJ-7 Jeep with the top off (in early june, i think). perhaps i’ll swing by michigan and introduce myself appropriately to the author. we can then load the girlies up in the back and head to colorado to visit a very special mutual acquaintance who happens to have yet another little girl in tow. and really, if we wait ’til june, i could head through the NC mountains and pick up another lovely mother/daughter team. we might need to rent a minivan instead.

  • KatieKate

    Do they make convertible minivans? That’s really the question.

  • the bantam menace

    I’ll be you could find a bridge lowe enough mid-road trip that could accomplish that for you, katiekate…

talk to me

