I shall never buy bread again.

I shall make it, as in the days of yore. I decided to approach my fear of yeast with vigor and counteracted it with my love of pretty packaging. I was overtaken by “Aunt Roe’s” recipe on the back of a beautiful bag of baking flour and knew the time had come. I am afraid no more. I shall now make one loaf of fresh bread each week for the rest of my life.

Curt is pouting (seriously) because there was no comment on his randomness from the last post. I reminded him he had been mortified when I orginally started the “boy/girl” conversations more than a year ago. Now come to find out he secretly longs for response. He looked at me yesterday and said, “Well, I think you’re writing too much in a single post. You need to simplifiy so people only have one or two topics to focus on.” This man does not understand my brain at all.

Anna Foster of Bell County: you are thirty years old and I love you. Mention one thing about my circa 1995 hair and I’ll kill you swiftly and with the ease of a ninja.

While making bread, I shall wear one of these (sans the yellow flowered fabric). And I’ll make Rylie one (or 7) and we’ll putt around the farm shooing chickens and hanging wet clothes out to dry while the bread cools. Would you like one, too?

And now, to finish my week of scatteredness:
*A&M is playing tonight- CBS, 7:27pm Eastern
*butterflies tomorrow, Lainy!
*4+ month shots afterwards
*weekend at the cabin with friends to follow
*gratuitous cute naked (nekiiiiiiiid) baby photo
*I typed this whole thing one-handed
*I’m still in my pjs, and I couldn’t care less

Happy weekend to you ALL. We love you. Go play.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

10 responses to “I shall never buy bread again.

  • Anonymous

    Let’s have your recipe. Enjoy your pictures

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    You are so gifted. In so many ways! One-handed typing is a true skill learned. I am unable to use any capitals when I try.

    And sure. I will take one, will you make us some bread too! πŸ™‚

  • sunday

    i had something’ to say, but the bloggerman must not have agreed b/c he did not post it. i won’t get into it again, but will say i love making bread and curt is funny!

  • KatieKate

    Hi, anonymous! You’re so… myserious. And direct. Qualities of a fine ninja, I’d say.

    I’d love to share the recipe for the bread, but this is what I remember: flour, yeast, honey, water…punch the dough…bake for a half hour. I emptied the flour bag (with the recipe on the back) and put the remainder in the freezer. Before I could save the recipe, my quick-as-an-arrow husband cleaned the countertops and threw the bag away. And then, without realizing it, I threw old roast beef on top of it.

    You’re welcome to try to retrieve it. Lemme know how it goes.

  • Kates dad

    Anna Foster ………. 30 years old………wow

  • Anonymous

    Ok that means I guess I will have just have to dive-in. I will try this weekend to build a loaf….I will also send you my family recipe for white and cinnamon bread. My granddaughter (7) loves to help make it. 5th Generation baker in the making.

  • anna

    30 — whoohooo!

    Hey — do you remember that time we dyed your hair? I don’t remember exactly what the shade was, but it had the word “garnet” in it, and it didn’t occur to us until afterwards that that was also the color of your (very) red truck. Good times! (Although I seem to remember you not thinking so at the time) πŸ™‚

  • KatieKate

    Anna. Foster.

    What a horrible memory.

    Yes…it was red. RED.

    ****

    And I would LOVE a family recipe for white bread and cinnamon bread!!! Send away!

  • jimmy

    This is anonymous, I am sending the recipe if it does not arrive. jeburrows@yahoo.com I didnt have my password as I am out of town currently. Enjoy

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Duuuude…your hair was kickin’.

    I dare you to kill me with the swiftness of a ninja. But that would make Josh cry, and you wouldn’t want that, would you?

talk to me

