Warning:

I have taken a Benadryl and will likely fall asleep before I finish typing this post. You see, I have the allergies. I diagnosed myself with the help of multiple television ads and the back of a few medicine boxes. I am having trouble seeing straight as the allergies have compressed my head into something resembling a flat pizza box.

Rylie and I both woke up soaking wet this morning…her due to an over-filled diaper and me because of an almost-too-real dream about high school. I seriously wake up in a cold sweat during/after bad dreams…and while I always have trouble remembering them, I find that I struggle for the rest of the day to get my brain back to normal. Thankfully, 99% of the bad things in my life are only dreams.

Due to my impending lack of coherency and the fact that my child is dangerously wearing no clothes (see above), I shall distract you with this week’s bread. It is, if I do say so myself, wicked good. I was warned that it would be, but didn’t believe it could be done without the fancy brick oven and the supercool white baker’s smock. It’s No-Knead Bread. It’s crusty and soft and oh so delicious. I am, I think, in love.

No-Knead Bread
Time: About 1 1/2 hours plus 14 to 20 hours rising

You’ll k-need (HA! Sorry…it’s the Benadryl.)
3 cups all-purpose or bread flour, more for dusting
1/4 teaspoon instant yeast [aka Rapid Rise, QuickRise, Instant Active Dry, Perfect Rise, or Bread Machine Yeast]
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
Cornmeal or wheat bran as needed

1. In a large bowl combine flour, yeast and salt. Add 1 5/8 cups water, and stir until blended; dough will be shaggy and sticky. Cover bowl with plastic wrap. Let dough rest at least 12 hours, preferably about 18 (like, overnight), at warm room temperature (like on top of your fridge).

2. Dough is ready when its surface is dotted with bubbles. Lightly flour a work surface and place dough on it; sprinkle it with a little more flour and fold it over on itself once or twice. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let rest about 15 minutes.

3. Using just enough flour to keep dough from sticking to work surface or to your fingers, gently and quickly shape dough into a ball. Generously coat a cotton towel (not terry cloth- seriously overdo the generous coating of the towel, otherwise you risk the dough sticking to the towel during the next step.) with flour, wheat bran or cornmeal; put dough seam side down on towel and dust with more flour, bran or cornmeal. Cover with another cotton towel and let rise for about 2 hours. When it is ready, dough will be more than double in size and will not readily spring back when poked with a finger.

4. At least a half-hour before dough is ready, heat oven to 450 degrees. Put a 4-quart (but I used a 2.5 one as that’s all I had) heavy covered pot (cast iron, enamel, Pyrex or ceramic) in oven as it heats. When dough is ready, carefully remove pot from oven. Slide your hand under towel and turn dough over into pot, seam side up; it may look like a mess, but that is O.K. Shake pan once or twice if dough is unevenly distributed; it will straighten out as it bakes.

5. Cover with lid and bake 30 minutes, then remove lid and bake another 15 to 30 minutes, until loaf is beautifully browned. Cool on a rack.

Yield: One 1 1/2-pound loaf. Mmmmmmm. Goodness.
Note: the dent in my finished bread is from my pot lid. I think it’s cute.

We are headed to Cleveland Saturday and Sunday to visit Rylie’s Great Gramma Kluska. She is Gramma’s only great grand child. I am excited to share Rylie with her…but I am admittedly nervous about the trip. Nervous because Gramma is terribly frail and I see myself in her hands. Nervous because it’s a 5-hour drive. Nervous because sometimes Curt gets on my nerves in the car while he’s trying to see if our speedometer is calibrated correctly mile after mile after mile. So, think of us if you find a spare moment…and pray for ease of heart, good naps, and patience sweet patience.

and now…the succumb to the medicine and rest
after I dress the nekid child
if I can remember where she is
Hey,you! Go make some bread.
love,
me
(love me)
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

12 responses to “Warning:

  • sunday

    I will make some bread b/c that looks awesome and i like the no knead! i like it a lot. i also do the calibrating thing myself, but only when you come to a cop car and they tell you the speed that you are going. i try to see the speed my car says. it is actually quite hard to do b/c you have to look at 2 different things at the same time. you will be in my prayers and you will be good!

  • Dad

    NO bread making fer me ,I’m a Mrs Baird’s man …….
    A GPS would solve the mileage problem ….
    Have fun ,be safe on your trip ….

  • CortneyTree

    Hi Katie! I have wandered over here from Shanna and Jessica’s blogs and, well, I just have to say it–I wanna be your friend! I mean, seriously, if we were geographically closer, we would have to meet and hang out, a lot. It was the bread thing that pushed me over the edge into de-lurking and actually commenting, as I’ve been baking bread for a couple of months now, and have had that no-knead recipe in the “to try soon” file. I’m so excited to hear it worked! It looks awesome. There are other little moments of synchonicity that make me want to be your friend, not just the bread, but I digress…Anyway, I wanted to introduce myself since I’m reading your blog regularly and don’t want to feel like I’m stalking you 😉 Now if I comment you’ll know who the heck I am!

  • sunday

    i love the blog world. it is where all the worlds collide! so seriously this bread takes about 20 hours? i don’t know if i have anything to put the bread in once it goes in the oven. help!

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    i think it’s very mean of all you “bread” people to keep rubbing the wonderfulness of it in the faces of the low-carbers of the world (babyweight removal tactic that IS NOT working). meanie-heads!!

    hey cort–she’s good people! it’s good to know i’m not the only one to stalk the adventures of the mulder page.

    hope you’re enjoying your benadryl. i’m an addict of it myself. i take two before bedtime for a lovely 8 hours of slumber…i have no plans for seeking therapy. i love it too much. and it’s good stuff for knocking a baby out on a long ride…recommended by my pediatrician!

  • gracen

    g z HBZ ,UE2 BN B BNYZ DG NB UX TCB B VTY JF F ◄V VD8HSBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBC VGGFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF

  • Lia Sedillos

    I am with Curt. I am definately a calibrator, although my favorite is calculating how many miles to each gas tank.

    Engineers rule.
    (Ok. I am laughing at my own joke.
    Sorry. Not really.)

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    uh oh…. Shanna said it first.I remember growing up mom gave us each half a benedryl befor our long, nightime, driving cause Dad doesnt fly, car trips… It did work quite well.

    I love that Cortney found you too…You should check her cakes out on her Flickr pictures..oh my beaut…ti…fulll

  • KatieKate

    Oh so much to say! I just woke up! Rylie is 5 years old!

    Sun…the bread only takes 20 hours ’cause you leave it overnight. You don’t have to watch it grow or anything. Ask Worth can you buy a pretty red pot from Williams Sonoma as a stay-at-home-mom gift. That sentence above explains so much about me…’ask worth can you’ *sigh*

    Cortney…that may be the nicest comment anyone ever left me. I shall now begin to stalk you, too.

    Shanna- you are ridiculous for trying a diet that excludes bread. BREAD! It’s life. And, if I’ve interpreted Gracie’s comment correctly, she agrees.

    and Lia, friend…man, I miss you.

  • sunday

    yes bread is life! i would die without bread. it is my staple. i love those pots you speak of!

  • l.b.o.

    the bread looks wonderful, but i find myself wondering…how in the world do these people have time to make their own bread? i’m still working hard to fit in two teeth brushings a day (as in, brushing my teeth twice a day, not brushing both of my teeth)…tell me this gets a little easier…i miss you.

  • KatieKate

    dearest l.b.o:
    some of our husbands are not so potent as others and therefore we only have one child to deal with at a time

    you can brush two of your teeth if you want to…

    sometimes I only brush one 🙂

talk to me

