oh my sweet lanta

Whit tagged me for this years ago, but I wasn’t reading anything fascinating at the time. Here’s my contribution long after anyone cares:

Down the Great Unknown by Edward Dolnick
pg. 123, 4th 5th and 6th sentences:

“The agency consisted of a couple of wooden huts and a handful of employees. But for Powell and his crew, who had not seen another human being since their departure from Green River Station a month before, it offered the promise of a link with the outside world. They could replenish their supplies, but that was the least of it.”

Oh, it is so so good. The true story of the first complete run through the Grand Canyon written by collecting all of the men’s journals. I love this kind of stuff. I’m also a big-time sucker for “based on a true story” movies. Love ’em.

People…we just drove in from Cleveland. We had a lovely, if quick, weekend with Rylie’s Great Grandma Betty. I got serious scoop on family and divorces and children running off to get married (mother!) and cousins and uncles I’ve never met…plus a few people I think she just threw in there for the fun of it. Gram was absolutely smitten with Rylie and thought for sure I should just leave her in Cleveland. I splurged for a hotel…for one night…a couple miles away so we could all sleep in peace, and good thing I did. Rylie slept 15 minutes (from 11pm to 11:15pm) and then was up the rest of the night. At 6:30am, Curt left for the pharmacy on the corner and I fed Ry a bottle of water to calm her down. At 6:32am, she threw up with the force of Old Faithful… water, formula, and perhaps some internal organs. It covered me, her, and some of the headboard behind us (sorry, Fairfield Inn). At 6:33am, naked and wrapped in a scratchy-but-dry hotel towel, she giggled and laughed and talked to the weatherman on tv and then promptly crashed to sleep beside me.

I am tired. I need a shower. Perhaps you can smell me from where you are sitting, yes?

AND and and, Jim (the anonymous ninja commentor from a couple posts ago) sent me a recipe for his mom’s white bread that I shall be making today. I’ll let you know how it goes. Dad, I may convert you to homemade goodness yet.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

20 responses to “oh my sweet lanta

  • The VanderPloeg's

    We miss Abe! so glad he stayed with us while you had a great visit with GG Betty.

    Can we come to Texas North this week? Aaron is out of town until Thursday! we need playmates!

    jo

  • The VanderPloeg's

    We miss Abe! so glad he stayed with us while you had a great visit with GG Betty.

    Can we come to Texas North this week? Aaron is out of town until Thursday! we need playmates!

    jo

  • The VanderPloeg's

    We miss Abe! so glad he stayed with us while you had a great visit with GG Betty.

    Can we come to Texas North this week? Aaron is out of town until Thursday! we need playmates!

    jo

  • KatieKate

    Can you COME? Bring yer runny noses over here! Abe is depressed (seriously). He keeps walking around with the monkey in his mouth looking for Max to tease. I keep laughing (seriously) about Lainy and her pancakes and her “No. No boy.” report.

    It’s supposed to be really gross weather this week. I’ll make soup and bread and we’ll send the dogs down into the basement.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Oh Kate..we to had the projectile spit-up this morning. Went all the way from the rocking chair to the toy box. Its almost like the excercist…how can they shoot so far….Good thing red was there to clean it up…(that could be gross if it wasn’t just milk huh!!!)

  • The VanderPloeg's

    Does Tuesday (tomorrow) sound good?? We’ll come in the a.m. and stay for a yummy lunch!
    we can hardly wait!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    Does Tuesday (tomorrow) sound good?? We’ll come in the a.m. and stay for a yummy lunch!
    we can hardly wait!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    Does Tuesday (tomorrow) sound good?? We’ll come in the a.m. and stay for a yummy lunch!
    we can hardly wait!

  • Cortneytree

    I definitely want a bread report! I made the no-knead bread this weekend and it was a HUGE success, it’s my new favorite recipe so far! Everything I’ve made up to now has been very sandwich-y, fine crumb with not much crust, so I was thrilled to get something different.

    Jess-Linus and Red-dog should talk. He’s a great clean-upper, too. Alls I’m sayin’…

    Matt and I have the Grand Canyon down on our list of fantasy trips we hope to one day take. Now I’m dying to read this book!

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    i love the canyon. when i was younger and stupider and in much better shape, i hiked from rim to river to rim in a day. while a great feat to accomplish and put on my checklist for life goals, it was a bit dramatic/traumatic. we almost had to have friends hellicoptered out due to dehydration, my feet were bleeding (toenails later fell off), we took a nap in an “outhouse,” and i cried for the final two miles (which took about 3 hours in the middle of the night). it was a long day, but such a perfect place be.

    we wanna come over too.

  • KatieKate

    people who can hike from rim to river to rim and sleep in outhouses are totally welcome to come over…but no toenails falling off, ok?

    Cort- isn’t that recipe awesome?! I think it will be my stand-by. I know, dangerous to say at the beginning of the bread-making experience, but it’s that good, people.

    My child has snot coming out of her ears…down her face, rubbed in her eyes. I think it’s coming from her nose. She is now that child you see in Super Wal-Mart and walk away from.

  • sunday

    i could never walk away from her! i want to make the bread, but i am still intimidated by the 20 hours! i keep trying to plan it, like “where will i be in 20 hours”. that is sort of hard to think about. of course in 20 hours i could be at the hospital! well hopefully not, but you never know. rim to river to rim! shanna that is crazy. i did the hike on a mule. does that count? of course we camped at phantom ranch.

  • Cortneytree

    Do it Sunday! I promise, it’s no big deal. I made mine in the afternoon, let it rest til’ about 9 or 10 am, and had it in the oven by about noon, so I had fresh bread for lunch 🙂 It worked great, you’ll love it because you just mix it up and forget it.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    i want bread.

  • Aunt Regina

    Send me the scoop on the family – I’ll add it to our family tree

  • Grammy

    Remember, Grandma will be 81 in a week. We did NOT run away,,,,we were married at the church 500 yards from where Grandma lives now with a full blown reception….our engagement was as long as yours KatieKate….I think she was referring to the fact that she never met Daddy until he came home for the wedding…32 years and still running….pretty good track record!

  • KatieKate

    Something about not knowing who dad was…she always thought it be “one of those other guys she was always dating” that she would marry!!! Ha! So much for Dad being the only heartbreaker in the family.

  • Mom

    It’s good to let him think that though….you know how he is.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Ha Ha… My Grandparents didn’t meet my Dad until after they were engaged. Of course when they met him they didn’t tell anyone they were engaged they saved that for later. Then Dad took mom on a ferry ride to NEw Jersey only to realize that they couldnt get back cause they were on the last ferry. Grandpa had to drive all the way up and get them cause his daughter was not going to spend the night in a truck with a truck driver! 🙂
    31 years later and still runnin’….

    I love ole’ family tales

  • Meg

    Hey there Kate. We are in California and dad has already gone surfing. Don’t let Rylie grow any until I get back okay. Talk to ya later. Meg

talk to me

