turn turn turn

a time to laugh…and most of the reasons can be found here: Threadbared. I think, perhaps, I may be sarcastically related to these gals. And, if I am, then so are you, Erica.

:::

a time of war…every day since I got married, I have been fighting a silent battle. Multiple times every day, I wash my hands using the little bottle of fun soap behind the fixtures. Every evening and multiple times on weekends, the Boy wipes down the counters and puts the little bottle of soap in a cupboard or under the sink. He cannot stand for things to be left out on the counter. EVEN THE LITTLE BOTTLE OF SOAP. So, every morning and multiple times on weekends, I search for the fun little bottle of soap. When I find it, I put it back in its rightful place behind the faucet.

I will not fight my battle this week…the Boy is in Colorado Springs at a conference. We are alone. I may hide the little bottle of soap once or twice just because I miss him. But not yet.
:::
a time to be born…there’s a new kid in town! Rylie and I will be interviewing him later this week for potential prom dates. Welcome to the world, Fletcher. Your mom is a champion.

:::

a time to break down…Sunday (the singing and the praying and the crying) went…well. I hesitate to use that word, because I know things are still very much difficult for our friends. But Sunday itself went well. Rob’s message (did you know our Sundays are available to download for free on the following Tuesday?) was incredible. The music- after a simply disastrous Thursday rehearsal– was fabulous. And the team gathering upstairs was sweet and sad and strong all at the same time. So, thank you to those who joined in from afar. Nothing is louder to God’s ears than a poor man’s sorrow (that’s Patty). And we are all poor.
:::
You must always know how long to stay and when to go (also Patty).
It’s now time to bake some bread.
That’s not in the song, but it should be.
Happy Monday to you!
Oh, how we love you here at Texas North.
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

13 responses to “turn turn turn

  • Dad

    THE BYRDS === 1965

  • KatieKate

    nice, Pap

    Rylie is panting at you. She thinks she is a puppy dog.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Wish you could have come with curt. we would have come up and played for a few days… oh well wewill see you this fall is august or september betrter for you?

  • sunday

    did you see becky’s pictures of patty? worth NEVER puts things back where he found them. it makes me crazy. if he empties the dishwasher it is always a mystery where certain things end up!

  • the dicocco gang

    Fletcher?!? That used to be my name, and I SO want another boy so I can share it with him. It was what Avery was gonna’ be if she’d have cooked a bit differently. Can’t you just imagine a little African boy running around with the name Fletcher ?? I’m telling you… it’s going to happen someday.

    and I was just an hour ago thinking two things… one was that you were in your car on your way to Easttown(where I now live) and I am headed out to Camp Roger (where you used to live)… and the other was that after we were in Colorado Springs, our friends went there for spring break. And another friend went last week week. I was laughing that we all just missed each other and wondering who was going down this week!
    No joke – I was wondering just that.

    I feel very connected with you today Kate.

  • diane

    aren’t Kate and Tracy supposed to be having hot cocoa today? i wanna come tooooo…

    Kate: so. um. what did Rylie have to say about me last night? does she miss me? does she wanna snuggle some more?

    I gotta tell you, it was hard to concentrate with her in my arms. I just wanted to look at her instead. How do moms get anything done?

    when do I get my first knitting lesson?

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Kate! Can we teach our friend Diane? Oh, do let’s!

    And can I just say that these Threadbare people are FABULOUS…let’s go to Atlanta and try to convince them to befriend us. We can start a snarky, sarcastic commune. Good thought, no?

  • KatieKate

    Oh, Laura. Welcome back from your Lent-imposed hiatus. You’ve been missed.

    I think Greyhound goes to Atlanta. I’m in.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Oh, Kate. It’s so good to be back.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Ummm She is a genius!

    Rylie Jayne got some tips on Rolling over!

  • Chelsey Meek

    What a great picture of Rylie…just off the set of “Newsies”.

  • KatieKate

    Dude, Chels!
    That’s exactly what I thought!

  • Chelsey Meek

    I knew we were friends…not just anyone gets the “Newsies” refrence.

talk to me

