(much) Food For Thought Thursday

Has anyone seen my phone? This happens daily. But, this time I seem to have misplaced it really well…for almost a week now. I remember talking to my father one morning and haven’t seen it since. It could be anywhere from here to Lowes. Gah. I hate that thing. If you’re waiting for me to call you back (like you always are), it will be a bit longer.

Mary Mary quite contrary…ah. An old favorite. Rylie and I scampered all across town to buy veggie plants from local farms and pots and dirt. That’s right. I bought dirt. People, I have no green thumb. I am a little nervous. I have been known to kill ALOE– perhaps the world’s most resilient and healing plant. But, I really wanted to grow some ‘maters… and then I saw some peppers…and some cucumbers (or ‘cukes’, as the locals instructed me) SO we’re going for a little container garden this year. We’ll see.

Curt and I are buying a second home. Please don’t yell at me about the price or anything. We spend a LOT of time camping… and we plan to have it for the next 50 years. We gave my parents our super rad 3-man tent for Christmas (Yes, you can do that with loved things…I hereby free you from your fear!) since we increased in size and they decreased. I doubt all the goats will fit, but they’ve been having a hard time fitting them on the motorcycle anyway. We shall break in our vacation home this summer with an innagural trip to Big Sky Country. Daniel Charles and his better half need to meet their niece before she’s walking and they move on to Wine Country.

My given-to-me Kenmore sewing machine is being cleaned and greased and loved on at the local quilting store. In 2 weeks, the creating shall begin. WOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOO! Look out, fabric scraps and old t-shirts! Rylie needs some new pants!

Blake (on American Idol…I know you know…don’t pretend) is absolutely amazing. We’ve never followed a season before but got hooked on this one, and I simply cannot get over this guy. He has style and talent and skills like I have never seen before. I don’t think he’s American Idol pop…but I do think he’s a legend-in-the-making and I am so glad that show will put him on the map. Good night, I love that kid. Nice try, Bon Jovi, saying America would have a hard time with his rendition of your “classic” the other night. We all know it was you who didn’t want the song jived with.

I think I’ll write a book. Or rather, I’m in the process of writing a book…it’s called The Adventures of Curt and Katie Mulder: life in Texas North and beyond. What do you think? It’ll even print your comments! This site also converts your Flickr photos into a picture book, makes recipe books…you name it. A real, live, hardback book. Love. It. So the question is: do I edit and take out all the (early) posts I’m embarrassed about or do I just leave it all in there for posterity’s sake? It makes me all itchy just thinking about it.

I’m trying to get a chicken video uploaded to YouTube for you…but it seriously says ‘8 hours to completion’ so check back this weekend. I’m pretty sure it’s Oscar-worthy.

I’m typing like you’re still reading.
Bravo to you if you still are.
I love you for it. I really really do.
I have visions of many of you fake-dead and gagging of boredom on the floor.
Get up! Tomorrow’s Friday!

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

9 responses to “(much) Food For Thought Thursday

  • Becky and Jeremiah Swann

    SO I’m at work spying on your blog and I LOVE that book idea so cool! I have a question Is there a way on that site to make your blog into a book..like just transfer it all over or do you have to do alot of copy/paste action? if you haven’t researched this far yet that is cool too:)

  • diane

    Did I mention that I actually am writing a book? I’ve written about 10 pages so far. At this rate I’ll still be writing when I’m dead.

    Plus, I submitted 2 artcicles to a magazine and am waiting to be published. crazy stuff.

    LOVE that you are going to SEW your old t-shirts and what not. Reduce, reuse, recycle. Call me.

    I’m having a sewing party on Saturday. Can’t wait to see what I’ll create. I’m sure I’ll think of you.

    If you are free…you should come on down…

  • FaithChristine

    I read my mom the paragraph about killing an aloe plant (she laughed and said she has killed one also), and the paragraph about Blake (he IS amazing).

    I love reading your Monday/Thursday updates…and yes on the book! 🙂

    love you!

  • jimmy

    Love the book idea. I keep trying to get my daughter a peds Doc to write stories/book but no luck. Just think how much Rylie will love to read in a couple of years.

    And maybe u can sell like Julie Powell or the New York cabby coming out this fall.

    Did not know work looking was called spying….

    Made any bread lately to go with eggs to order?

  • sunday

    you are so creative! who could be bored reading your posts. i love the long ones.

  • KatieKate

    Ah, sewing parties, baking parties, k-nitting parties, tractor parties… oh how I love Spring!

    Jim: I am a little late on bread this week what with chicken-catching and planting and all- though your mom’s white bread will be perfect for toast! I have a loaf in the freezer.

    Becky: you’re not a very sneaky spy to leave a comment. I THINK the blurb.com thing involves downloading…so all your photos and stuff come out hi-res if that’s how they originally downloaded. It really looks like a top-quality site.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Oh my…seriously we ARE the same family…this is way to strange. We are recently discussing the fact we needed a “family” tent or even a pop up..

    I too have NO green thumb and think its fabulous you are buying dirt! I wish I had the guts and the soil we are thinking of investing in a farmers market where for 200 bucks you get 17 weeks worth of organic fruits and veggies….tons and tons of them…

    yes, leave your early posts. We must see how you have grown. Of course I think all are beautiful.

    did you know we also have a subaru…

    Love ya!

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    oh yeah… I asked Myron for a sewing machine for my 30th B-day!

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    ummm…is Colorado on the way to Montana?

    Could you make it?

talk to me

