I wish I could post audio clips of my voicemail messages…

Because, if I could, I’d put Tracy’s up from yesterday about how my chickens remind her of junior high girls. She didn’t even say, ”Hello.” She jumped straight into, “Junior High girls. That’s what your chickens remind me of…you know where all the girls have to be touching each other and they’re constantly running this way and that and if one falls a little behind the WHOLE gaggle has to go back and retrieve them and how they get all flustered and worked up and start flappin’ an’ skippin’ around…” Oh, you are SO right, Friend! That’s exactly what they are. And then there’s the one or two guys that are everyone’s best friends and they hang around, too…offering advice and joining in on the gossip here and there, but playing the token “boy” role in the gang…and all the girls are secretly in love with him…but they’re all best friends, so no one can have him…until Brenda breaks code and starts dating Dylan behind Brandon’s back. Gang vocals. Love it.

I’m in a gang, by the way. I know you’re not surprised. On May 20, I’m singing at church but with 2 other teams as well as my own- so perhaps 9 singers…creating (and I quote) “Gang Vocals.” Apparently, Marie and I had the same reaction and emailed Troy at the same time: “Ooooooh. Gang Vocals. I always wanted to be in a gang.” This is exceedingly funny to me. We’re the same! (confession: I’m also a little geeked that Marie and I were thinking the same thing. I consider myself to be a Marie Groupie of sorts.) Always searching for a reason to wear a costume, I am excited to dig through my stash of bandanas for this gig. Gotta represent, you know.

I found some grapevine hanging in a tree this weekend. I pulled it down and made a wreath. And then I made Curt nail it to the Chicken Coop. I want this to be a friendly sort of farm. And if you lived out on a dirt road with renegade chickens roaming around and a grass up to your knees, you could have a grapevine wreath, too. And mosquitoes. They’re a little too friendly, if you ask me.

Thank you for all the love for Curt’s sister Stacy and husband Bill and the girls (all stinkin’ 4 of them). Love love love. You people are full of love and you’re wonderful. The liver/enzyme/seizure scare is over and Mamma and baby Ellie are home safe as of Tuesday evening. There is still a cloud of confusion/Nyquil-like-ness over Stace…and the best medical guess is that it’s a weird presentation of pre-ecclampsia that will get better with time. Right. Because she has time with 4 girls and a husband running around like…well, chickens. We’ll keep you posted.

And Rylie Girl, by the numbers, is officially 6 months old as of this Tuesday! The doctors don’t count it until the 21st, but DUDE. She’s been here for 24 weeks now. She is hysterical and drooling and a better traveler and smiley and grabby and slippery when wet. Her smile can absolutely kill you and her laugh, well, you’ve all heard her laugh. It’s infectious. She loves to ‘type’ while I’m typing- this looks more like scratching the pastry table that is my desk than actual typing, but it’s pretty funny. She puckers her little lips and gets to work. Basically, she’s awesome.

So, we haven’t played a game in awhile. Let’s.
You may get rid of any 3 states (not necessarily the people IN them, although that may certainly be part of your reasoning…do what you will…it’s a game). Who’s leaving the Union?
I pick:
Delaware (Who lives in Delaware??? Do they have a downtown?)
Oklahoma (because it’s really just a dusty continuation of Texas anyway)
Indiana (but only if Notre Dame can move North)

Buenos weekend, people!
I’m off to pick up my sewing machine!!!

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

18 responses to “I wish I could post audio clips of my voicemail messages…

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    ummmmm almost my mother’s entire immediate family live in Deleware!!!! and yes they do have a downtown everyyear fro prom (no stinkin lie) every single couple goes to the court house and comes out on the balcany and in introduced to the public! Funny huh…

    I am just going to say this once more cause really Kate… really…it freaks me out a little and I dont want you to ever think I am “copying” you (te he) but if I put up a video of Rylie jayne typing thats cause its our new thing too. It entertains her at work sometimes.It happened just this week. Its uncanny how the timing always is huh…Little freaked out and for further future “copycat”moments..which I know there are tons to come!

    Let’s see…
    North Dakota (its so stinkin cold up there)
    Oklahoma
    Kansas (both cause Tornados are Scary and they are no fun to drive through on the way to and from CO)

    Love ya!

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    i guess there not all union states ….oh well

  • diane

    Aren’t all 50 states in the Union?
    I’d get rid of New York, California and New Jersey.

    when are you coming over to Sew, Kate??

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    okay, so are we playing union vs. confed or just whole country? that would change my answers a bit. i’ll play whole…

    ~~idaho (cause of the potatoes i’m not allowed to eat)
    ~~nebraska (i know nothing about it and wouldn’t miss it)
    ~~tennessee (we lived there for a short while–we left. sorry cort, we can merge it with the carolinas)

  • KatieKate

    THEY GO DOWNTOWN FOR PROM AND GET INTRODUCED!!!

    bwahh-HA-HA-HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

  • Cortneytree

    Shanna, I forgive you because I assume you were in that wierd northeastern part of the state that really doesn’t count, as far as I’m concerned. I love me some Tennessee otherwise.

    I vote for three I’s: Illinois (Chicago doesn’t count, it doesn’t belong there), Iowa, and Indiana. I have been to all three many times. I have yet to have a good time. Iowa, in particular, should pack it in and move on. My fiance jokingly refers to salt, pepper, and ketchup as the Midwest Spice Rack.

    And, if we get rid of Indiana, Peyton Manning can come back and play football in the South, as God and his Momma intended.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    I think Diane is right…that was my blonde moment for the month! haha

  • KatieKate

    That’s just Diane showing off her fancy teacher self.

    true story- I once sat behind a girl in college (COLLEGE) who raised her hand in lecture and asked when Canada became a state.

    oh.
    my.
    lanta.

    I’m sure she dated more than I did.
    Well, everyone dated more than I did.

  • diane

    i was NOT showing off. promise.

    in fact, i sat here wondering if people who live Down South still think of the US as the Union vs the Confederacy…

    that’s why i asked. you must believe me.

    and kate, you have to stop avoiding me. WHEN ARE WE GOING TO SEW?? true story, last night mom said she’d learn how to Knit with me.

    and Tracy, thank you for making me laugh with your comparison of chickens to teenage girls. do you know what I call my students? chickens. all the time. b/c they follow me around like i’m the Mother Hen.

    Who am I kidding. I am the Mother Hen.

  • sunday

    well can i vote for the whole mid-west? or the parts you drive throuh on your way out west. i mean come on the whole thing is land locked and you don’t get mountains or the ocean. not North Carolina that is a state for me. i love in the mountains and i can be at the beach in no time. can’t think of anything better, well besides georgia! okay but that was not the game. oklahoma, arkansas, and i will just say nebraska but really i would never want to live in arkansas or oklahoma. okay i have said my peace. my geography maybe off but my peace is said.

  • bec

    KATIE,

    Several things.

    1. Everyone dated more than me, too. They still do, what am I talking about…

    B. And WHO wants to get rid of California?!?! PARDON? (“Fortunately, the area around where the fire took place is uninhabited” – Do you remember this? You were appalled.) 🙂

    Tres. You’re the coolest person I know. Really.

  • Grace

    I love gang vocals! My husband is a Minister of Music, and in our church, we just call that… the choir. They don’t wear bandanas, though. THAT would be something to see!

    I also love games! And my three states would be:

    1. Kansas (Cause it is the annoying tag-a-long little sister to Missouri)

    2. Hawaii (Cause if I can’t live in sunshine all the time, no one should!)

    3. Iowa (just cause)

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    I believe you Diane…I am pretty sure that is exactly what I was thinking at the time. so funny…

  • the bantam menace

    we said the exact same thing! we’re awesome!!!

    I love peyton manning. almost as much as I love katiekate 😉

    I would get rid of:

    1) pennsylvania. on our way to new york a friend of mine and I had to drive through all of pennsylvania. I had the atlas open on my lap, monitoring our progress. I was so excited when we got to the end of the page…but then I turned it and there were TWO MORE PAGES OF PENNSYLVANIA TO DRIVE THROUGH. unacceptable.

    2) nebraska. another state I had to drive through, and put me in a bad mood.

    3) georgia. I love this state, but have you ever had to drive through it, north/south?! gah.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    I second all nominations for Oklahoma. I’m not convinced that anyone actually lives there. My friend Mel and I drove through there (longest route possible – I-40 – agh) and I remember her talking to her mom on the phone and insisting, “Mom, seriously, THERE ARE NO HOMES!!!” Lots and lots of farm land, but who’s tending these crops? Where are they?

    See?

    Can I just vote Oklahoma three times? And if not, can I nominate the city of Needles, CA? Scary, scary place out in the desert.

  • sunday

    i just read about needles in a book i was reading. the book was awful too, so must be the same place. i want to say kansas too, so oklahoma, kansas, and arkansas. yup those are my three now and i am sticking to it. seriously who lives there?

  • Little House in Grand Prairie

    Happy first Mother’s Day to ya, my friend. Hope it was a nice one. Your gal just gets cuter every time I look at this blog!
    Take care.

  • Becky and Jeremiah Swann

    Ok so I think you might be my sister from another mister (I do have a sister named Katie but that is not the point) first Patty references, then the Gang, had to let you know, you are speaking my language.

talk to me

