the official update

Alrighty…
so she’s 6 months, 26.5 inches long, can’t remember the head measurement but it was good, and *ta-da* a whopping 13.5 pounds…thus shattering the previous record held by Suzanne Hoek with herself being 10 pounds at 1 year old. I think my kid is going to make it. She is nothing if not consistent. We won’t talk about the shot. She did fine. Her mother- maybe not so much.

She is old enough now to look like an animal…and many of us have decided that she looks like a turtle. You know- that cute turtle ‘Cecil’ from the Bugs Bunny cartoons? She sticks her little neck out and that big head bobbles around- oh my lanta. I was always told I looked like a mouse. You? Or better yet- what would you be if you could be a wonderful fabulous animal/insect/bird/sea creature real or imaginary?

I sought after-shot [get it- after shock???] therapy in EastTown by dragging Tracy and Mady out for a walk…and we wandered for 2 hours around the old neighborhood and tried to find every lavender bush in bloom. We popped on Mamma Moore and baby Fletcher…who, like Rylie, cannot read. They will be good friends. We tried to pop in on Lainy and Mamma Jo, but sometimes the very nature of the ‘pop in’ results in the pop-ees not being home. This causes the pop-ers to continue on their merry way as popping in does not allow for cell phone usage. You understand. Lainy, were you HIDING???

And now, it’s time for chasing butterflies and gathering eggs and even a little sewing. Thank you thank you thank you for the sweet comments and emails about my KatieKate label! It actually works…when you click on it, it takes you to my etsy store! We will not talk about the embarrassing amount of time it took me to figure out how to make this happen. *sigh* Technology. I love you. I hate you.

A butterfly. That’s my ‘animal’ for today. I want to be a butterfly on a lilac bush.

Oh, Hey! PS: This weekend is Memorial Day. We’ve lost touch a bit with what this day is all about, so take some time to refresh your 7th grade history knowledge. And, on Monday…while we’re all out chasing fireflies and grilling burgers and discussing politics…take a second to remember, ok?

Love you guys.
Talk to you Tuesday.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

7 responses to “the official update

  • Mandi

    I think I would really like to be a firefly. Kind of mysterious, kind of beautiful. Everyone wants one. The very embodiement of summertime and night-owlness. Yeah. I want to be a firefly.

  • Anonymous

    think i’d be a froggy. don’t really wanna be one, but it would make gracie eternally grateful.

  • The VanderPloeg's

    We were hiding at Old Navy, Target, and Moe’s (a fabulous mexican fast food rest.). So sorry we missed your “pop in”

    I love love love the label kate! a fantastic job you did! can’t wait to see the items in the etsy shop!

    If I could be any creature today, I would pick a dog! they get spoiled by humans through non-stop petting, treats, and it’s cool to be dirty.

  • The VanderPloeg's

    We were hiding at Old Navy, Target, and Moe’s (a fabulous mexican fast food rest.). So sorry we missed your “pop in”

    I love love love the label kate! a fantastic job you did! can’t wait to see the items in the etsy shop!

    If I could be any creature today, I would pick a dog! they get spoiled by humans through non-stop petting, treats, and it’s cool to be dirty.

  • The VanderPloeg's

    We were hiding at Old Navy, Target, and Moe’s (a fabulous mexican fast food rest.). So sorry we missed your “pop in”

    I love love love the label kate! a fantastic job you did! can’t wait to see the items in the etsy shop!

    If I could be any creature today, I would pick a dog! they get spoiled by humans through non-stop petting, treats, and it’s cool to be dirty.

  • Bonnie

    Annie and Nate are telling me that I look like a dog.
    Hmmmm.
    If they are referring to the sweet face of Jake or Abe, I can live with that. If not, I’m wondering what kind of rude kids I have raised. Yes, raised – past tense. Everyday now I’m realizing that my days of influencing them are over. It’s in God’s hands now. (Okay, I know it always was.)
    Love the KatieKate logo/label. Can’t wait to watch the site develop.

  • KatieKate

    Bon…
    You have to go to the MIDDLE child for sympathy and love.

talk to me

