We are Family.

I got all my sis-stas with me…

Introducing the Mulder grandchildren: we’ve got Marli, then Ellie who’s in Ava’s armpit, Rylie (about to fall apart), Sydney, and Hailey. It took 42 takes and a lot of bribing gentle prodding to get everyone on the floor at the same time for this photo.

Hailey (7), Marli (5), Sydney (1.5), and Ellie (1 month) belong to Stacy- the oldest of the Mulder children.

Ava (2 months) belongs to Mitch- the youngest Mulder boy.

Ry (6 months), of course, is Curt’s…who’s under Stace but above Mitch in birth order.

And- as far as we know- Meg, the youngest of the Mulder clan, has no children. Right, Meg? Meg?

Speedy was also found and ‘rescued’ from the wilderness. I say ‘rescued’ but you know I really mean brought in by running and screaming granddaughters and thrown on to a slick modern countertop for all the world to see.

Does Speedy like Cheerios? Maybe Speedy likes lettuce. Nope. Speedy, you like crazy little girls? No?

Maybe Speedy wants to go back out in the tall, tall grass. He’s not much on family bbqs.

And finally, a Memorial Day Weekend conversation:

boy: I think I’m going to start journalling again. It’s been a long time, and I really miss it.

girl: Good idea. [pause] But, Boy…could you not journal about me?

boy: Why? ‘Cause you’ll read it?

girl: ‘Cause I’ll read it.

boy: I’m not going to journal about you. I don’t have any problems with you!

girl: Whatever! Liar Liar pants on fire!

boy: Girl, my problems with you are very commonly known. There’s no need to journal about them.

Sooooooooooooooo sweet. *ahem*

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

14 responses to “We are Family.

  • Meg

    Don’t worry about that one. There are no little Meg’s coming anytime soon. We first need a boy then we need a ring then a wedding. Then some other stuff but we don’t need to talk about that.

  • Mandi

    So fun to have so many cousins fairly close in age! What a lot of special memories will be made over the years!

  • KatieKate

    By ‘other stuff’, I’m assumming you mean martinis.

  • meg

    How did you guess. Most people don’t get that I’m talking about martinis. People and their imaginations.

  • grammy

    Chocolate Martinis? I love chocolate martinis….but I’m here to say that I have purchased the book Skippy Jon Jones for Rylie…which I will read and give to her on this summer’s camping trip…..so please everyone, if you see it, Don’t buy it. I am practicing reading it Juuuuuuuuuuust right…Anna would be a great one to do it–with her voices—but I will put on my best grammy/teacher falling into character voice and say
    “My name is Skippito Friskito (clap,clap) I fear not a single bandito. (clap-clap) My manners are mellow, I’m sweet like the Jell-o, I get the job done, yes indeed-0.” (clap-clap)

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Is she eating Cheerios already!
    By the looks of things she is going to be a gymnast or cheerleader one! I mean I cant even do a split

  • KatieKate

    uh, no- no cheerios yet. Curt thought it would be funny to try, but she has no idea what to do with them. We’re jammin’ on the fruits and veggies though- finally.

    I’m sweet like the Jello.
    I like this book already.

  • Becky and Jeremiah Swann

    All those girls! They must have so much fun together!

  • Chelsey Meek

    I think Ry is doing the splits…I’d rather see her kicking a soccer ball. I’ll be out to work on that one.
    🙂

  • l.b.o.

    first: the cousin picture–adorable. but i am a sad, sad girl because it took me awhile to figure out which one was rylie. she’s so big next to ava and ellie! it makes me miss you and rylie even more.

    second: i’m still smiling at your conversation with curt. i can so, so hear both of you guys saying your lines. hmm. makes me miss you and curt even more.

    third: come back to texas. (even if just for a visit.) i miss you guys. and bring both rylie and curt, please.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Yo…I have this new client, who has this little baby girl (7 wks) who looks remarkably like Rylie. It was hard for me to not take my eyes off her! Weird. Your daughter has a mysterious twin sister in Ada.

  • KatieKate

    chels: I would prefer the soccer career to competetive cheer, so get your pro buns out here pronto

    lbo: I can only saldy sigh. I miss you terribly. All 4 of you. Please know that yesterday I did in fact say to the Boy in a slightly strained voice, “Please can you buy me a ticket to Austin.”

    To Rylie’s twin: if the 2 of you ever meet face to face, I fear michief will rule the earth.

  • sunday

    love thr journal conversation. i would not want to be written about either b/c i would read it too! i am bad in that way.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    perhaps rylie will be an olympic hurdle jumper?

talk to me

