Mamma’s got a brand new bag.

Well, seriously, I do…a few of them. I’ve been werkin’, people! I’ve been sticking myself with pins sewing and planning and cutting and disregarding patterns and maybe still doing things my own rustic way… and loving it. The labels are due in a week and a half or so- thus, no grand opening of KatieKatie for June 1, per se…but definitely JUNE. I do have a small stack of schtuff ready, as I promised myself. So, for the 2 of you sitting at your ‘puter with debit card in hand to buy a new farmer’s market bag to go with your birkenstocks, I love you and it’s coming. I just want to do it right…so I’m a-gonna wait for my cutey labels.
:::
Mamma got highlights. Kissed by the sun summer caramel highlights. *Mwah!*
:::
I drove home late last night with the windows down…it was a perfect evening. I left the city, the lights, that certain wonderful-ness…hit the back highway, alone- just me and the East-bound truckers…also oddly road-trip wonderful…then into the country- through fresh cut fields and little towns…and finally into our driveway 35 miles later. I realized that, in the absolute best way- our little farm is developing its own smell. Like your college has a smell. Like your Gramma’s house has a smell. Like Dad’s garage has a smell. You know? I pulled in last night and jumped out…Curt was in the pole barn messin’ around with the tractor and I headed out to put the chickens to bed. As I was walking back through the grass- that comes up well past my knees- and into the yard, it hit me…we will have a smell. A memory smell. A wonderful, wonderful smell that instantly makes everything calm and ok and familiar. Like summer through a screen window. I hope you have a smell like that. And, if you don’t, Texas North is yours to claim.
:::
Hey- it’s festival this weekend! You locals know what that means! Funnel cakes, irish dancers, and rain!!! Yahoo! But this year it also means I’ll be doo-wappin’ backup on Purple Rain for Cool and the Gang at 9pm Saturday night on the Clock Tower stage. Pack up your umbrellas and come! If you can’t, I understand. Bec, who’s good Carolina-people, digs The Shelly Moore Band so maybe check them out instead. Gotta have music, Friends. Got. To.
:::
Have a great weekend, whatever you do.
We love you.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

6 responses to “Mamma’s got a brand new bag.

  • super smeller

    highlights – lovely. always. smell – oh garsh – just had this conversation with my neighbor when i walked over to her house two days ago and smelled her smell. wierd. i know. but i hear you and can’t wait to smell you – i mean texas north again. thanks for making my mondays and thursdays better. julie h

  • bec

    OH, KATIE. What a dear you are, giving love to the Wolfpack AND my dear friends Shelly & Mike all in ONE post! You’re the one that made me cool enough to know about Shane & Shane on the East coast before ANYONE did, so I’m just trying to give a little back. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I’m still waiting for you to tell us all one day that you have found Curt with his face pressed up against a screen, smelling with all his might. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Mandi

    Love the hair! And love those familiar smells! Can’t wait to see what shows up in your little shop!

  • OurMrsMikrut

    OH, I will be there. My BIL’s band is playing at 8:00 (also I have two CIL’s in the band – cousins in law for those not in the know)…anyway, I will make a point to make it to clock tower at 9!

    Love the do also. Your highlights look almost as good as mine. Almost. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    i’m pretty sure your blog hates me. i keep commenting, and it keeps ignoring me. and i was so flippin profound and insightful. i have no idea what i said the last 43 times.

    but i think you’ve inspired me to cut my hair. have a wonderful weekend.

    gracie and her debit card are waiting…

  • Becky and Jeremiah Swann

    I checked out The Shelly Moore Band, Good stuff! thanks for sharing!

talk to me

