umm…my goose may have gotten loose

How funky is your chicken?
How loose is your goose?
Now come on, everybody,
And shake your caboose!

Freeks and Geeks, anyone? Rylie and I sing this cheer many many times a day now thanks to those dvds. Chris loaned the series to me last week and I watched it…all of it. I love it. Rent it, buy it…whatever. It’s somewhere between Wonder Years and That 70’s Show humor and content-wise and is just great great great. Bill…Bill the kid who’s obsessed with Dallas…Bill is brilliant. I cannot get enough of him.

But, I digress. The goose…I have to tell you about the goose. His name is Jaleel (think a classroom of inner-city 5th graders). He was found at a campground in his slightly cracked egg. The teacher said, “Sure, put it in the chick incubator, but don’t be sad if nothing happens.” He happened. School’s out for the summer soon. The teacher called Bonnie. Bonnie called me. Bonnie showed up on my porch with a cardboard box Thursday afternoon.

Jaleel (or J-Bird, as we call him) is imprinted to humans, as that’s what he saw first when he came into this world. It’s impossible to walk around without tripping over him. If you sit on the ground, he crawls in your lap. He’s a little green fur ball that Rylie loves to touch. The chickens couldn’t care less about him and Abe thinks he’s fantastic. They swim together in his trough. I think Abe has adopted our “Why Not?” philosophy, and good for him.

Friday night, Curt and I left for downtown in the big bad city (festival and all) and when we returned after dark, Jay was gone. Gone, gone, gone. The chickens went to their coop and left the darn goose out to dry. I’d had the poor bird for 24 hours, and I’d lost him. I looked tearfully for more than a half hour thinking he’d bedded down somewhere and was just too nervous to come out, but I knew he’d run away…or worse.

The next morning I got a call from our neighbor, Dan, across the road. “Kate? This is Dan. I think we have your goose. (This, in and of itself, is funny to me.) He must have followed your car down the road, heard us talking, and taken a left to be near the voices. He ran right up to us and hasn’t left since. We have him out back and he’s fine.”

Like I said. Somehow, my goose got loose.
Based on where he was found, we think he’s a Canada goose. He’ll (she’ll?) need a buddy sometime next year ‘cause they get real sad when they’re alone. It’s also possible that he’ll (she’ll) just up and take off one day when he’s grown…joining a flock and heading yonder..and that’s just fine.

In other fowl news on the Farm, we have one mamma hen sittin’ pretty on her eggs…AND a few turkey eggs our neighbor (Doug, who is Dan’s brother of course) brought over Thursday night. He accidentally clipped the nest when he was plowing and injured the mamma. Like the quick thinkin’ farmer that he is, he scooped up the eggs and ran them over to the two young city slickers who live in a Shoebox. They should all hatch soon. Of course.

I wonder what will happen today?
*girl shakes her head, puts on her apron, and does a few twirls around the living room*

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

22 responses to “umm…my goose may have gotten loose

  • Meg

    That is the cutest animal I have ever seen. Super cute.

  • jimmy

    Can’t wait to hear what next shows up. How is the bread baking going?

  • julie

    dang kate – this is why i cannot have a blog. mine would read something like – well – we got up, put some clothes on, watched sponge bob, had a pancake and went to school. nothing like geese and eggs and babies. you inspire me to get animals – or just be more fun. jh

  • KatieKate

    yah. I’d like to see Julie be “more fun.” This town couldn’t handle you and your red heels if you became “more fun.” Please. Had a pancake! Hah!

    Jim, the baking is fabulous! But, I’ve been meaning to ask you: sometimes aloaf will come out pretty dense. Am I not kneading enough? Knead longer?

  • jimmy

    Probably not letting it rise enough, needs to happen twice in the bowl, then let it get “large” in the pan. Just before you punch it down some of the bubbles on top will burst. Could be the yeast or kneading to long before it rises as well. Making me hungry, how did the rye bread come out? Would love the recipe. Tell Curt I went by the ‘Old Engine Show’ as they were having a swap meet, lots of Red tractors.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    i’m feeling inspired to read jonathan livingston seagull again. it’s either that or go find some avian-types to move in with us. i think adam may prefer me reading at this point. gracen wants the birds.

  • KatieKate

    ok…I’ll watch my rise better. The rue bread was partly from a gift mix I got as, well, a gift, so I don’t have the complete recipe. It is fantastic, though. I never met a rye I don’t like, though.

    Shaana- you should cut your hair AND get some chickens- on the same day!!! Seriously, you have the yard for the birds- and they’re SO good for your garden and grass. I am shocked at how low maintenace they are. I think Curt and I should come over and help you build a pen.

  • KatieKate

    rue bread…rye bread…shaaaaaana

    my brain thinks too fast and rylie is obviously no good at helping me prrof-read

  • The VanderPloeg's

    KATE- lainy and i will be out ASAP to meet Jaleel 🙂 She is forever talking about the chickens…and how they need to come out of the woods so we can see them this time!!!!!!!!

    You guys are so great to be raising a beautiful little girl in the midst of all these great animals. well done!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    KATE- lainy and i will be out ASAP to meet Jaleel 🙂 She is forever talking about the chickens…and how they need to come out of the woods so we can see them this time!!!!!!!!

    You guys are so great to be raising a beautiful little girl in the midst of all these great animals. well done!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    KATE- lainy and i will be out ASAP to meet Jaleel 🙂 She is forever talking about the chickens…and how they need to come out of the woods so we can see them this time!!!!!!!!

    You guys are so great to be raising a beautiful little girl in the midst of all these great animals. well done!

  • anna

    When will your house be bigger than a shoebox? ‘Cause I think I want to move in.

    I’ll be helpful, I promise.

  • diane

    cute pics! i like the one with Rylie pinching the beak.

    julie? more fun? are you kidding me?

  • KatieKate

    I’m picturing my father’s face in reaction to anna’s comment. You can move in ANY time. We’ll make you your own coop.

    And Jo, get your buns out here- we’re here every but tomorrow. I can guarantee J-bird will be around and I’ll talk to the chickens.

  • KatieKate

    This one-handed typing today is killing me. Good job on reading my mind, folks.

    Every DAY this week but tomorrow, Jo.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Ummmm Red wants to come and chase all the birds. She wants to wait at the foot of the Lake while Abe goes to get the stick then take it from him when he gets to shore. Rylie wants to sit next to Rylie and laugh at them

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    And mama wants to give mama a BIG hug

  • Kates dad

    Anna Foster ,Your’re not leaving TeJas ………….

  • sunday

    your goose is so darn cute. i had a chicken chase me around the yard once when i was little. my family just sat inside and laughed and there is little sunday outside being chased by a chicken in a million circles. i think i still have anxiety.

  • Becky and Jeremiah Swann

    You should collect all the animals from the story “The Little Red Hen” you already have Goosey Poosey. (if you don’t know this story this comment probably seems really strange.)

  • CortneyTree

    I have to get my boy reading your blog so I can subtly insert your lifestyle in place of mine and he’ll think it’s fabulous and potentially even his idea (as opposed to my current tactic of saying, “Honey, I want chickens!” and then explaining that I’m not talking about ‘for dinner’ and also that my Blog Friend KatieKate has chickens and him looking at me like I’ve lost my mind and possibly ‘made up’ my Blog Friends). We have always talked about our future home (we refer to it as “the commune”) where I could finally have my fainting goat and grow tomatoes even though I don’t really like tomatoes, and there’d be a big ol’ kitchen with lots of windows and bread always baking. I’d have a studio where I could paint and knit and whatever, and most importantly there’d be guest “cottages”, so everyone could visit all the time (because who wouldn’t want to?)and still have their own space. Minus the house specifics, you Mulders are getting awfully close to my dream. I’m just delighted to know someone is out there making it happen! It’s inspiring, we’ll get to work right away 😉

  • KatieKate

    Seriously, Cortney…do we have the EXACT SAME plans??? Weird but wonderful I love it. There’s more rye bread in the oven right now.

    I’m still laughing with a mental picture of Little Sunday running around in circles screaming at a chicken. Sorry, Sun. It’s a really cute picture though!

talk to me

