the Ant Man come-th

He’ll be here “mid-morning to late afternoon.” This means “be home all day.” Just say that. Be home all day. The Shoebox is home to a world of carpenter ants that are not paying rent. They live in the dishwasher. Seems they started squatting last summer when the Shoebox was under construction. Apparently, while I was learning how to be a mother last winter, they were hibernating and plotting WWIII on the Farm. Little Buggers. Since there is no outside trail, all natural remedies have been ridiculously fruitless and I am left to the last last last resort of Home Chemical Warfare. Be Swift. Be Efficient. Be Deadly. It ends today.

Peanut went to Wabasis Lake again…a place 10 minutes from here that we are quickly falling in love with. We strapped on her first swimmy diaper and an almost perfect swimsuit and headed to the beach with some bratwurst, doritos, and Cousin Ava (parents included). Ry was a big fan of the water- more so than the bath tub.

Her smile is deceiving, though. See this bag? It’s a tease of what will be in the Etsy shop when the KatieKate labels arrive later this month. I made three cutey little bibs and a farmer’s market bag (read: deep and sturdy) for Michelle’s baby shower. Michelle is having triplets… natural triplets…in one month. Bless her soul. Rylie and I headed out for a morning with fun ladies and baby talk…and we did well for the first hour. But my child, my angel, my sweet little girl– well, she’s cutting two razors in the bottom. Every day for the last week at 12:30pm sharp (ha! sharp!) a switch flips inside Ry’s nerves and she screams her head off for two hours. We didn’t get to see much of the baby shower. I’m sure we scared Michelle to death and have made her reluctant to have any children let alone three at one time. I have never felt so helpless and embarrassed and sorry all at the same time in my life. Michelle, please forgive us. We just really wanted to see you. We promise never to visit between 12pm and 4pm again until this stage has passed. I hear that will be in 2.5 years.

It’s going to be a glorious Michigan week in June…temps in the mid-80s and sunshine all week. We usually get one of these weeks per summer. We plan to cap it all off with a Whitecaps game on Friday night- with many of you! Ah……ant anihilation, sunshine, and farm-team baseball all in one week. What’s a girl to do???

Come play. I’ve got lemonade and a hammock and tall grass to spare.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

12 responses to “the Ant Man come-th

  • sunday

    the farmers market bag sounds perfect. i also love how you write “learning how to be a mom”. i am in that process and it is not for wimps. oh bless your sweet little friend about ot have triplets. she is a much better woman then me!

  • Meg

    Are you and the ants gonna be around tonight.

  • KatieKate

    nah…we’ll be at Torah…but we’ll be around every other night

  • Becky and Jeremiah Swann

    I’m excited to see your stuff at etsy!

  • bec

    Katie Kate,

    Maybe your friend Michelle should start an email pen-palship with the woman that I have started sitting for here in NC with 10 month old triplet girls. Thoughts? Her girls are on a CLOCKWORK schedule, it is amazing!

    Get on down to NC, will ya?

    I sent your wedding photos to a pro in Raleigh the other day that wanted to see some of my “work” – he loved loved loved the shot of y’all leaving and said that he thought the leaves we SO cool. I said “yes, well, cool, that is Kate…” 🙂

  • KatieKate

    That leaves pictures is one of my top 5 as well. We figured leaves went with the Autumn theme and were a little friendier than throwing pumpkins.

  • Dad

    I was all fer the pumpkins ,myself

  • Lia

    Can I have 2 ice cubes in my lemonade when I come? I promise to karate kick your ants.

  • the dicocco gang

    i love LOVE the bag.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    I swear, reading your blog and seeing your pictures makes me more determined to be a mom…if that were possible!

    Babybabybabybabygahhhhhhhhh!

    Thanks for hosting this moment of insanity on your blog. Much appreciate the bandwidth.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    how ’bout you come meet us at wrightsville beach today instead. we can make lemonade, and there’s a hammok on the front porch overlooking the ocean. and babies and babysitters!! r.jayne and gracen would LOVE some more company for the sand castles they’re sure to build.

  • bec

    OH, KATIE, YES, you must visit Wrightsville Beach, I agree with all of your friends that I haven’t met. 🙂 Seriously, come on to NC and we’ll all meet at the beach – you have PLENTY of folks around here that want to see you, and Wrightsville is a FAVORITE!

talk to me

