let me introduce you to my peeps

We have peeps! They are SOOOOOO cute. See the little head in her wing?! I just want to hug them and squeeze them and love them and put a little red bow in their hair. I was checking on the chickens Thursday night when I noticed a broken egg. I thought our experiement with natural flock planning had failed and that the eggs were duds…but then, from the tail feathers came a little rustling…and a little peeping… and then a little head popped up! It worked! Nature works! Chickens come from chickens! Yay!!!!!

After running around the coop clapping and cheering for the Mamma and her brood for a few minutes, I went in to get Curt. He helped me move her and the nest to a quieter location in the pole barn so she can raise, instruct, and mother hen them in peace for the next month or so. By Saturday night, there were five little peepers- all wobblin’ around and yellin’ at each other. It’s hilarious because when you go in to talk to her, she starts a-cluckin’ and warning you that she is not responsible for her behavior right now…but the babies get all excited with the commotion above them….and then, out of her wing feathers and her bum pops these cutey little heads with beaks! I love it. I’m trying to live it up now. I’m told they’re about to get really ugly- but don’t we all in our adolescent years? Don’t we all. As far as I can tell, she’s got 1 chicken egg and 2 turkey eggs still baking under there, and she hasn’t given up on them yet. I’ll give it a couple more days and then clean the nest out.

In other excitement, we hit a little tiny beach (nothing compared to these yahoos) for Father’s Day with all the Mulder siblings and their respective chicklets. We were planning to go to the Big Beach (read: Grand Haven), but Marli stuck 2 beads in her ears (you heard me) on the long drive from Rockford to Spring Lake and had to go to the ER to have them extracted immediately upon arrival. You just never know. So, we walked down the street to the inlet to Lake Michigan (Spring Lake, if you’re not following, is the name of the lake AND the town. Creative, eh?) and partied there. I think Ry had a good time. It’s hard to tell. She’s such a mystery, this kid.

It gave us all a chance to talk about Summer vacation…and while no strict plans are allowed, I’d like to ask for some advice. Curt and I are headed to Montana by way of Yellowstone this July and will meet up with my brother and parents in Glacier National Park. Anything we should be sure to see or a campground that’s great on the way? We’ll be camping and will have Abe and Rylie, of course. But, if there’s a Corn Maze or a big ball of twine that simply cannot be missed, well- I’m game. Like I said, on the way there we’ll go through Wyoming. I suspect the way home will be a bit more Northern and direct. Help me out. Make us exciting.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

9 responses to “let me introduce you to my peeps

  • Becky and Jeremiah Swann

    Your peeps are sooo cool! Those pictures of Rylie are adorable.
    I’m sorry I’m not familiar with the west, I too would need advice about where to go!

  • sunday

    what about coming to black mountain!!! that is on the way right? hey, are all children mysteries, b/c i can’t figure ours out either. at least they are adorable!

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    hope you enjoy the sulfer pits! i’ll try to find my old travel diary and see what we did/where we did what, etc when i was out there many a year ago.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    She is a trip!

  • Kristen

    I miss you guys. When are you coming back into town? When are Rylie’s teeth done?
    hehehe.
    When Jane woke up from her nap, she asked when baby Rylie was coming over. I explained the situation and told her that baby Ava was downstairs. Then she logically asked if Ava’s teeth hurt too.
    Do you guys have AC over there?

  • Aunt Regina

    Kate – Here’s a great little web site to help you find things along the way.
    http://www.roadsideamerica.com

    Wish we were going with you to Montana.

  • KatieKate

    sulfur pits…awesome

    Dude- Aunt Regina, you rock. That’s a GREAT site. We wish you were coming, too. We could knit and gossip in the RV/Sebeck tour bus and the boys could drive and talk about motorcycles with Bobble Head Jesus. *sigh*

    Kristen…we do indeed have air and have welcomed it these past couple days!!! The chickens are mad that we’re not sharing.

  • the dicocco gang

    get out … we missed them by hours! We are all doing a bit of a peeping baby chicken dance over here in dicoccoville. Well, Mady is rolling her nearly-a-teenager-eyes at us… but the rest of us are dancing.

talk to me

