missing Chelsey

pssssssst! *ahem* Me and my dial-up are slowly adding things to the shop.

I think I have figured out a way for Curt and I to get along better…we need to buy an English car. We need a car that allows ME to steer and work the pedals over on the passenger side.

It occurs to me only just now that we could just switch seats. I should think these things out before I start typing. *sigh* BUT but but (stick with my literal stream-of-conscious, please) that would remove the power of “being in the driver’s seat”…so, he has to stay over there. It’s not that he’s a bad driver. No. It’s that he’s easily distracted…but everything. Deer. Tractors. Land for Sale. Blackberrys. And where his head goes, so do-eth the vehicle. For a kid who drives quite a bit for his job, this drives me absolutely insane concerns me greatly. It is, perhaps, the thing that makes me the most nuts. Well, that…and how he asks me for things before he looks. Like, “Do we have any milk?” Why, yes…yes, I believe we do. It might be in that tall, black, cold box in the kitchen, you NUT.

So, Chels…pick me up a cutie little somethin’-somethin’ while you’re over there and ship ‘er back. Thanks. Cheers.

Laundry at the Shoebox means one thing: movies. There’s always a movie on in the background when I’m folding and ironing and such. Having worn out our VHS of Sense and Sensibility, Rylie and I headed to the store to buy Pride and Prejudice. Oh, Friends, how I love Jane Austen. Since it’s ohso difficult to read while folding laundry, I watch. And Emma Thompson has done an incredible job of helping to bring these stories to modern film…they are impeccable. I, well, I watch them over and over again. Mostly because it takes me a half hour to get back into the language…but oh, how I love them. Yesterday, I watch P&P twice in a row. Seriously (there was a LOT of laundry). There’s just something about the light and music in that movie…oh, and the long walk at the end where Darcy comes marching up in the sunrise to find Elizabeth.

Excuse me whilst I swoon.
Anything you can watch over and over and over again?

Blessings to you this weekend, friends. I’m off to see Lyle on Sunday…and take my baby out to the beach at camp this afternoon. I may or may not put clothes on her. I look at this picture and I think I can see what a little boy Mulder will look like in the future, don’t you?

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

32 responses to “missing Chelsey

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    I luuuhuhuuuve Pride and Prejudice!

    Have fun with Lyle 😉

  • CortneyTree

    Oh, honey! If you’re going to a) fold laundry for hours and hours and b)submerge into Austenland, you simply have to get MY favorite, the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudiced. It was a miniseries! It goes on for hours and hours! IT’S PERFECT IN EVERY WAY. I love it so much, my husband actually used it to propose to me.

    Of course, I may be a bit prejudiced (wocka wocka!) on this matter, but I couldn’t make it through the Kiera Knightly P&P–It’s like watching Gone With The Wind your whole life and then reading the book and realizing that, while it’s good, yeah, it just ain’t the same. And, you can’t go wrong with a Colin-Firth-as-Darcy in wet breeches. I will say, it’s more, well, English than the Kiera version, which is to say more reserved, less dramatic lighting and such, but I dig it none the less.

    Oh, and Emma Thompson, I don’t have the words for how much I love her. When she bursts into tears there at the end, I do too, EVERY time, and I laugh at us both.
    *sigh*

  • Lia

    The Princess Bride, Buttercup.
    Wooove. True Woove.

  • KatieKate

    a) I knew Lia was going to say that
    and
    b) Cort…I do indeed need to buy this mini-series. I believ I could be convinced on the Kiera issue. But Darcy in the modenr flick is so perfectly like I’d pictured him when reading…maybe maybe I can take Colin. I do so love him.

    Obviously, I have some “research” to do. Off to “fold more laundry”…

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    first, i hate laundry. hate. hate. hate. but i do it ALL the time. and yet, it’s never done. very strange. my dishes have the same problem.

    i would have said princess bride, but i suppose i should be original. hummmm. national velvet. yep. if you have not seen it, go get it. or you can just call me and i’ll recite to you word for word.

  • KatieKate

    NATIONAL VELVET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • CortneyTree

    Clearly now I have to rent National Velvet 🙂

    And as for Darcy, you can have your modern D and your Firth, too, and I think you’ll still be pleased 🙂

    OH, and, yep, Shan, I’m with ya, Laundry and Dishes are never ending at our house, and we don’t even have a young’un yet. If I had a daily “work wordrobe” too I don’t think we’d ever dig out!

  • Mandi

    “Sleepless in Seattle” and “While You Were Sleeping”, and, of course, “Princess Bride.” Could, and have, watched them over and over and over. I’m such a sap!

  • Anna

    I’m partial to Ever After and Notting Hill.

    And, um, Overboard. Love it. Have to watch it whenever it’s on tv.

    “It’s a heckuva day at sea, sir!”

    Love it!

  • KatieKate

    People.
    You are killing me with these movies.

    agreed. agreed. agreed. (Though I’m still a bit foggy on the National Velvet. I suppose I shall be re-renting this weekend. I trust you.)

    OVERBOARD!!!
    I like it when she goes, “A bub bub bub bub bub.”

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    any time you got mickey rooney and elizabeth taylor in 1944, you’re bound to have some fabulousness.

    i can’t quit thinking about movies now, by the way. more choices:

    1. parent trap (the original!)
    2. sound of music
    3. american anthem
    4. when harry met sally
    5. waiting for guffman

    i could go on…

  • Chelsey Meek

    yeah! yeah! yeah!
    I miss you too! I will be on the lookout for a little som-in’ som-in’…but in Oxford, they have two wheels, a basket and bell.

    You need to get into the Dickens flicks…try “Our Mutual Friend”. Not exactly Austen, but slow and British! Oh yes…do you have Netflix? If not…do. As a gift to your housewife/mother/crafter/friend of Chelsey self. Then, watch PBS’s reality series…”Manor House”, etc. FAB-u-lous.

    I could always go for “The Holiday” or “Little Women”.

    This is a tradition you need to share with Ry.

    Love. YOU.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Ohhhh American Anthem!!! I am afarid I own it thanks to Shanna. What about the North and South Mini-series that was a good one. I agree with Cortney Pride and Preudice mini-series is my perferred version as well.

    I could watch Elf over and over and over again! I might also be a little embarrarresed to say that I also own all 10 seasons of Friends. I know its not a movie but man I Love that show.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    About A Boy. It’s $5.50 at Target. DO IT.

    Colin Firth will always be my Mr. Darcy. I can lend you the miniseries. I have been trying to get Josh to watch it for 2 1/2 years now, but no luck thus far.

  • bec

    Hi, Jessica, I might be your new best friend. It is quite (pitifully, I’ll admit) possible that I know EVERY WORD ever spoken on Friends. Each. And. Every. One. An obsession, to put it lightly.

    And Kate, for you, I’m going to be your sweet Southern rooted friend and say that I could watch “Shag” over and over… And even moreso with “Steel Magnolias” – and, of course, Sixteen Candles and Dirty Dancing because DUH they’re just classic.

    Oh, and Father of the Bride.

    I love movies. 🙂

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    Adam’s vote: National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    i think bec is my new bestfriend. indeed, they are the classics. hopefully a new canon of movies is being formed, thanks to this list…

  • Kristen

    Kate.
    Uh.
    I don’t know how to say this, but when you said that with that picture of Rylie, you could see what a boy Mulder would look like in the future. . . . . .
    I looked at the picture, I gasped.
    I THOUGHT you were referring to Rylie’s left leg looking like male genitalia.
    I about choked.. . . and then I realized that you must be talking about her funny hair.
    Please tell me that you were talking about her funny hair, and not a very large penis.
    Oh my.
    I just typed that work.
    Oh my.

  • Anonymous

    Oh Katie Kate! How I love your little etsy. I want to buy your Sally bag and the green polka-dot tissue holder. You’re totally right, too… I have to carry tissues in my purse and I always end up wasting a bunch of little ziplocs because I get embarassed when they’re all worn out and old-looking (know what I mean or am I crazy? – maybe both.). I’ll let you know when I actually decide I can spend my money on things other than ‘learning about stuff’ (aka college).

    P.S. I love Sense & Sensibility, with Alan Rickman. It’s wonderful.

  • Anonymous

    Ooops that was me, Miss Chris!

  • cortneytree

    Jessica, Bec–I am a Friends savant. It is fascinating how much useless Friends related trivia I know. If we were all situated anywhere near each other, I’d suggest a weekly marathon.

  • KatieKate

    Are we not ALL Friends Savants? We should indeed have a marathon. We can go by themes…English, Comedy, Old South (Oh how I love Shag…Don’t sit on the furniture!), TV, etc etc.

    Kristen Moore. Sometimes I just don’t know what to do with you. Really. I just thought Rylie Joy looked like a boy in that photo (of course, EVERYONE thinks she looks like a boy…even the old ladies at Meijer). Kristen Moore, I hereby sentence you to time out.

    And ETSY folks, well- I cried. I really cried. I obviously have to make some more bags for the grand opening this weekend. Twist my arm.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Bec, Thank you….I luv Shag too!!

  • OurMrsMikrut

    If Kristen Moore has to go to time out, I’m afraid you’ll have to send me with her. I am sorry that it was at your daughter’s expense, but I laughed out loud…more like snorted and snickered and made Josh wonder what was so funny.

    You can put both Kristen and I in time out, but I can’t promise we won’t both be giggling about something that’s probably gross.

  • the bantam menace

    THIS POST IS BROUGHT TO YOU BY THE LETTER “E”

    everafter
    emma
    elf

    what is it with romantic movies and british accents?!

    LOVE colin firth.
    HATE jane austen.

    you all are so funny.

  • Chelsey Meek

    Ummm…how do I get so popular to have 25, that’s twenty-five (six after I’m done), comments on 1, that’s one, post?

  • KatieKate

    Because, dearest, you’re English this summer.

    And because you’re wonderful.

    And Rie, dear- Emma IS Jane Austen- in spite of yourself… you like her a little 🙂

  • julie harkless (broderick)

    oh heavens – i laughed so hard at the penis thing that i had to move the comment deal so i could see the penis leg again. and then i laughed so much harder. but then i thought…is kate trying to tell me something? are you thinking the baby in your uterus is a boy?
    just wondering.
    okay – movie.
    ferris behulers (sp – dang) day off. all day long. i can say the entire movie along with the actooors. it’s like i am matthew broderick – oh and if i was – i would be sooo married to sjp – how i love rabbit trails.
    love to you today – julie

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    ummm maybe I read this wrong but the baby in your uterus?

    Kate?!

  • sunday

    yeah are you not telling us something katie. i swear we are talking about having more babies here. is this true!!!! oh no. i am not ready. well jessica will have to be next and then me again. how about in in 3 years. that works. i must have missed something as well b/c we are recommending movies now and i have to add mine, of course “the jerk”, one of the greatest movies ever, and of course “Christmas Vacation”. where would the holidays be without this one. is your shop open? oh please please be open!

  • sunday

    oh yeah and of course anything with brad pitt you have to watch. also i feel like almost every situation in my life could be a “friends moment”. i felt like rachel at her baby shower when i was at my baby shower. i did not know what most things were.

  • diane

    this is not about movies, sorry.

    but in Kenya we drive on the other side of the road, so even as a passenger in my sister’s van my position in the car has not changed.

    i’m probably going to get in a car accident from turning Left into oncoming traffic when I get back to the States.

    okay, okay: Ever After.

talk to me

