Hello, Beautiful.

And how are you, this fine 1000 degree morning? I woke up and for a moment thought I was back in Tejas. No. Just a little heat wave here in the Mitten State. Our front (water-starved) lawn even has a 1-inch crack running through it. It’s like God is bringing my two worlds together. So sweet of Him. Really.
The wedding went off fabulously. I bought shoes about an hour before the ceremony. I do not recommend this. My right heel has been paying for it ever since. But, they were 30% off $29.99 AND they have red with electric blue. Please, people. I could do nothing but buy them. The chuppah holder and chuppah itself were lovely…though there’s a secret about old barn wood. It’s old. Sometimes, when being banged on and moved around, the ‘older’ parts start to fall off. Mmmm Hmmm. All was well, though. Martha was, of course, gorgeous. And Jeff, well…Jeff was gorgeous, too. In a simple little ceremony out by a stream in Ada Park…in about 95 degree weather at 5pm, they got married and all was very well. They are now on their way to Mexico and, I assume, will be absent from tonight’s Torah discussion.

Let me introduce you too our peeps I mentioned last Thursday:

JoAnn and Jeremy (the Pottery Barn manager and police officer…oh, to be cooler couple. These two are now reading through the Torah on a 3-year cycle [instead of our 1-year cycle] and sadly do not meet with us on Monday nights anymore. We do so love them, though.)

Mike and Linda (Mike is holding his ‘missing’ glass of wine that was removed from him, we all agree, without due cause.)

Dee (just back from a visit to Isreal) and Mark (our resident softball genius who is terrified of Dee and seeks protection from Mike).

Stephanie and Jesus Jeremy (the, hands down, most decorated couple of our crowd)

and then us…in a typical self shot. For those of you wondering (my father)…Curt danced. Yes. He always dances. The dance floor was quite slippery…which only made him happier. It was a very good night.

Now…I have 4.22 days to pack/clean/prep for the camping trip of a life-time: our very first 2-week family vacation. God be with us. AND, 2 of the chicken have taken to sneaking into the pole barn and laying their daily eggs in the trash can next to Curt’s work bench. Of course. There are many many things to do before we leave, not the least of which is to figure out what Curt and I are going to talk about on the initial 24 hour all-nighter to Cheyenne. Help.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

5 responses to “Hello, Beautiful.

  • the bantam menace

    an all-nighter drive. fantastic.

    be thankful your in-laws are not with you — but that’s another story…of a 36-hour drive to arizona. incidentally it included driving through your beloved tejas, complete with appropriately-shaped grills at rest areas and sinks at mcdonalds. I kid you not! did you know this?!

    and people say we’re obsessed with our mitten. >tsk<

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Oh you will be surprised at what conversation appears on those long cross country trips! Just make sure you stop and get gas before you are close to E…. we dont have so many gas stations out here…or places to stop altogether….. Sometimes its great others….its not so great!

    Rylie is going to have such a funtime. How is she going to camp? you r new tent will surely fit the pack n play?

  • KatieKate

    Marie. I did not know this. I need a Texas shaped grill out here on the farm. Who should I talk to? I have both your books ready to return before we leave. Keep a lookout on your back porch.

    Jess, the tent will fit all of us and the entire state of Montana in it. I’m just expecting her to be dirty and full of sand for the next 2 weeks.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    I too have seen the rest-area grills. I think I have a photo, even – I’ll have to check the archive.

    What will you talk about? OHHHH the things you’ll talk about. I’m sure you’ll see some sort of highway oddity akin to The World’s Largest Peanut (off I-75 in Georgia) and of course Amarillo’s beloved Cadillac Ranch. If you guys road-trip anything like I do, there will be much slaphappiness. These are where the best jokes come from.

  • sunday

    i still think that black mountain is on the way to montana. it is all in how you look at it.

talk to me

