and, we’re back

Have you ever been to Lake Michigan? The “Big Lake?” Oh, man. It’s huge. It’s like the ocean, it’s so huge…without the salt and jellyfish and sharks. No sharks. We love the Lake. Sunday and Monday we frolicked in the sand outside Gary and Lin’s cottage near Pentwater… our first trip to the big water all summer. Curt and Gary have worked together for years in construction. Lin is an acclaimed art teacher in a local high school- a real life art teacher… where you learn pottery and knitting and sewing and photography and stained glass making. Can you imagine? Remember when we had art? I loved making those crayon drawings where you painted black over the top and scratched out a masterpiece. Rylie will have art class. We have spent many a happy day/night at their cottage, and we love them so very much. Thank you for a wonderful, relaxing 2 days. Rylie would especially like to thank you for the sand and the dog kisses and being ok with habitual naked-ness during diaper changes. The child is an escape ar-teest.

Lin has fantastic magazines, being the art teacher of 36 years that she is…so my inspiration boat is floating wildly to and fro. A shop update is in the works for this Friday.

Laura wore her custom KatieKate bag around town Saturday and got a random compliment at lunch!!! How very exciting for me to be liked by a complete stranger. Miracles happen everyday, folks. Now I wish I’d gone to my high school reunion. We girls were out for the day helping Diane break her year-long shopping fast. I know- me, shopping? Out with masses of people looking for bargains? You’re only half as shocked as I was…but I did it and I survived with a genuine smile on my face at the end of the day. Obviously, I’m growing people. Again, miracles. Four and a half women out shopping- 3 of them with blogs- and no one with a camera. Ridiculous.

Um…App State beat Michigan. I think I giggled all night. Yay for all my Boone friends. It’s College Football season, people. That means knitting by the fire is just around the corner. I have months and months of productive sitting/viewing ahead! I’m all kinds of happy right now.

Life is very, very good today.
And now…off to start some no-bake bread.
Y’all be good.
Go kiss a chicken or somethin’.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

8 responses to “and, we’re back

  • diane

    and you did a FINE JOB shopping, Kate. Thank you so much for coming! you gave Great Advice.

    give that baby a kiss for me, will ya?

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    go mountaineers….

    love nekid babies!!

  • bec

    KATIE KATE –
    Keep your fingers crossed, blogger is letting me post without screaming at me… YAHOO APPALACHIAN. You know that half of my high school went to school there? Dear sweet Wes was AT THE GAME and I think his wedding day and seeing his children born one day will not beat the experience of “bringing down the big house”.

    Glad all is well in the Big Mitten (at least for y’all – maybe not the Wolverines) and that you have the cutest little sand crab I’ve ever seen in my life. 🙂

    I miss y’all!

  • Becky and Jeremiah Swann

    A beachy day with no jellyfish and no sharks! Sounds ideal. I Love a big ole lake!

  • OurMrsMikrut

    What eees theees “lake” you speek ov?

    I refuse to be good.

    I am the sort of girl who owns a shirt that says, “This is my party shirt,” after all.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Oh, and I really wish we’d given that lady the address for TexasNorth (the cyber version, at least – no stalkers needed, thank you very much)…blast.

  • miss christine

    Hey now, let’s be nice to your favourite Wolverine….

  • KatieKate

    Miss Chris…
    I will ALWAYS be nice to you. I giggle not out of pompous disdain as I too have been the target of football ridicule (ahem… everytime Baylor beats A&M).

    Let’s all be friends.
    Wolverine Chris, meet Mountaineer Jessica and Mountaineer Sunday.

talk to me

