loot

Rylie and I headed into the metropolis of Lowell, Michigan to mail an etsy purchase (thank you, New York) and then stopped off at Goodwill for a little browsing that turned into $29.20 worth of wool goodies. These will all turn into soakers and dresses for winter…hopefully some will end up in the shop.

For the past couple of months, I have had the blessing of helping out friends with their kiddos- all three of them…born at the same time… natural triplets. Oh My Lanta. Michelle showed up at her 20-week prenatal appointment and the doctor said, “Hey! There’s 2! No. There’s 3. THREE babies!!!” Can you imagine? I can’t. I simply cannot imagine. So, every other week or so, I grab a feeding shift and dive back into newborn land…that’s Maggie sleeping on my skirt– isn’t she adorable? We have a special bond, as she’s a difficult eater, and I own a difficult eater- we understand each other. I’ve also been introduced to the world of reflux as Keegan loves to school people in the “are you wearing something washable?” department. Samantha has thus far given me no trouble, but she is still young. Anyway, go give them some love. Remember when your life was feeding, changing, sleeping, repeat, repeat, repeat? Now times that by three. Yeah. Yee-haw. But, man, those kids are gorgeous. GORge-us.

And now…if your life depended on it (and someday it may), I ask you:
Chocolate or Vanilla?

Off to do a little knitting while the Shoebox is quite for awhile…
and then let the teething madness continue.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

21 responses to “loot

  • diane

    vanilla.
    thank you very much.

  • Kristen

    chocolate.
    chocolate.
    chocolate.
    every day i eat some form of chocolate.
    jane too.
    i have ruined her.

  • The VanderPloeg's

    CHOCOLATE for sure.

    love the soakers…wanna make some for rory??? better yet – let’s have a sewing machine lesson – or sewing party so i can learn?!?!?!

    ps – my mom would love your calls! and yes she is awesome – glad you agree 🙂

  • The VanderPloeg's

    CHOCOLATE for sure.

    love the soakers…wanna make some for rory??? better yet – let’s have a sewing machine lesson – or sewing party so i can learn?!?!?!

    ps – my mom would love your calls! and yes she is awesome – glad you agree 🙂

  • The VanderPloeg's

    CHOCOLATE for sure.

    love the soakers…wanna make some for rory??? better yet – let’s have a sewing machine lesson – or sewing party so i can learn?!?!?!

    ps – my mom would love your calls! and yes she is awesome – glad you agree 🙂

  • Meggy-bon

    Kelly and I both vote for vanilla.

  • sunday

    oh my word. 3 newborns, 3 diapers to change, 3 spit ups to clean, 33333333333333. i can’t handle it. i think i will eat some chocolate just for her. i am shocked.

  • Mandi

    Definitely chocolate!

  • miss christine

    I have always thought that the best answer to the question is “Always chocolate, except when it comes to pudding.” 🙂

  • KatieKate

    eh? vanilla pudding? I don’t know.

    The answer is obviously chocolate…unless you’re talking about a Steak-n-Shake milkshake in which case the answer is obviously vanilla.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    isn’t chocolate supposed to be “healthy” for something? i’m pretty sure oprah said so (or dr. oz), thus i choose lots and lots of it…

    it being for my health and all.

  • Becky and Jeremiah Swann

    Uh oh I have to say vanilla…don’t know why I just like it more. but hold it for one second…She found out she was having 3 at 20 weeks? um I thought that thought was already ruled out for me Da Da daaaaa! They are all so cute though how could you do without one of them?

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Why are you asking me this question? I felt as though it was asked in the spirit of dishing up ice cream and I am coming up to the scooping table with my bowl (sort of like Oliver Twist) and you’re asking for my preference…

    …why must you taunt me with false promises of ice cream?

    And if we’re talking ice cream, I say vanilla…with chunks of chocolatey candy goodness of one sort or another.

  • diane

    it’s vanilla, people.
    french vanilla coffee creamer.
    vanilla steamers.
    extra shots of vanilla in baked goods.

    while we’re at it: let’s add caramel and cinnamon. or caramel with vanilla. or all three.

    if i HAVE to eat chocolate it has to be so dark that i can’t find it with the lights out.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    why is vanilla even an option?

  • KatieKate

    ohmygosh, the people I know are so funny!

  • sunday

    what about the cookies and cream shake from chick-fil-a. why not that?

  • sunday

    okay what is that tracker thingy at the bottom. must have more information on that one.

  • Lia

    Vanilla Ice. Ice. Baby. Ok. not really.

    It is all chocolate for me. Chocolate with little chocolate chunks and a little fudge on top in a chocolate dipped cone.

    (P.S. What is a soaker?)

  • Kim

    And now New York says thank YOU, KatieKate! I love my new bag — absolutely love it. So much that I just dumped out the contents of my summer bag and filled up my gorgeous new patchwork farmer’s market tote.

    Kudos to you for pitching in with the triplets.

    Love your blog — you’re a funny gal, with a beautiful baby.

  • Kim

    Oh, and as for the ice cream…well…if the vanilla’s made with farm-fresh milk and cream and organic eggs and vanilla beans, then that’s my choice 🙂

talk to me

