Why do I sew?

Why do I do anything crafty, for that reason?
I know you’re dying to know.

I do it to remind myself that I’m an idiot… that pattern instructions are in code I cannot decipher… that abbreviations are a foreign language I failed… that ‘rightside’ and ‘wrongside’ and Godhelpme ‘on the bias’ are advanced skills I am completely unable to master.

I do it to humble myself in the memory of ancestors who went before me… hand-sewing and needle-clicking along merrily by candlelight whilst being able to carry on a full-blown conversation about cooking and courting. I do it to teach Rylie about failing… about crooked seams… and about quality of work. Wear it. It’s home-made.

I sew because I need to (daily, apparently) be reminded that I am a simple, simple person… too impulsive for my own good… too impatient to double-check and too lazy low maintenance to press seams. Oh, how the oopsDANGit pile is growing. Gawd.

I’m a single mom starting today at 5am. The Mulder boys and brother-in-law Bill are headed to the U.P. for a man-cation until Monday. The planning was sparce, and, as I had nothing to do with the packing, I can only hope that there’s enough underwear between the four of them to go around. I asked The Boy what what on the menu, and he replied, “Lots of bacon.” Right. A man-cation. I hope to get MASSIVE amounts of knitting/winter sewing finished. I dream.

I leave you with my favorite recipe of all time… given to me/made for me often by Renee (man I miss y’all) when I was single and working 24-7 for YoungLife. It is the world’s best macaroni and cheese- unlike any mac and cheese I’ve ever had. Make. Freeze. Enjoy while watching 90210 reruns this Fall.

UltimateComfortFood Macaroni and Cheese
2 cups shredded cheese…throw some sharp cheddar in there so it’s not too bland
1 egg…preferably from my chickens…I’m being over run with eggs here
1 cup sour cream
2 cups small curd cottage cheese…never use large curd for anything…it’s gross
garlic…as much as your rommates or husband will allow you to put in
salt and pepper to taste
8 ounces of pasta…I prefer rigatoni, as it holds the cheese in there so well…mmmmm

preheat oven to 350
cook pasta according to package
mix together: sour cream, cottage cheese, egg, garlic, salt and pepper
add cheese, mix
add cooked pasta, mix super well
pour into a 2-quart baking dish
bake at 350 for 30 minutes

Could it BE any simpler?
You’re gonna die, it’s so good.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

7 responses to “Why do I sew?

  • miss christine

    I love your philosophies about life. I never would have thought of sewing that way. Kudos, to you, Kate Mulder. 🙂

    P.S. That picture of the Peanut is WONDERFUL and priceless! Haha, I totally laughed when your page loaded…

  • erica

    aaaaah…sewing.
    i love and hate to sew.
    i too despise measuring and pressing and all the things you are supposed to do to make sure things turn out the way they look in the picture.
    i just wing it and then get mad at myself when things are all wonky.

    as for abbreviations and vocabulary…the internet is great! you can look anything up and even see videos of how to do things.
    incredibly helpful for us beginners.

    i only wish we lived closer so i could come over and we could knit/sew/felt together and encourage each other’s bad habits. your creations inspire me.

    mmmmm…mac and cheese. once this gestational diabetes is over i am all about that recipe!!!

  • Paxton Cox

    I too have found the love of sewing…what is with the patterns?? Can they be any harder to read, I am an idiot too!! Can’t understand what my grandma is talking about bias and she truely believes in the ironing thing (my iron has been broken for a year). I love to sew and have probably made it harder with no patterns but what the heck. I am totally impressed with the pants, and have a new love of them knowing they are without pattern. You go girl. Whitney

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Okay, Kate…we’re making the mac and cheese tonight…we trust you to carry out the funeral arrangements.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Okay…we have not died…but we have had a major religious experience and I’m becoming a bit concerned that Josh is having an extramarital affair with his dinner plate over there.

    We will take eggs off your hands, chicky.

  • KatieKate

    I do not lie, people. I do not lie.

  • Rebecca Peterson

    Kate, I am going to try your mac n cheese recipe. Also, I would love to learn how to sew and actually how to read a pattern and what all those terms mean. I would really like to take a beginning sewing class, however you need to bring your sewing machine and mine is in a big cabinet…a little hard to transport every week for a class. 😦

talk to me

