Pssst!

Hey…wanna know something?
It’s time! It’s time! It’s time!
And, this year we have an actual hay wagon to ride on- oh so exciting! My favorite part is how all the kids get glowsticks (for safety- so we can count them in the dark)… and how one adult will timidly ask for one… and then all the sudden everyone has one. It’s hard to resist the charm of a glowstick, I know.

So, consider yourself invited. Postcards with a map will hit the mail in a few days.

What I did while the boys were on their man-cation:

  1. I cut off all Rylie’s onsies and made them into t-shirts. Cloth diapers give her a big bum.
  2. I invented a new dress: the Urban dress…raw seams, made out of recycled t-shirts. Look for some in the shop October 1st.
  3. I knitted 2 beanies and 1 pair of baby leg warmers.
  4. I ate pizza, breadsticks, hotdogs from the Corner Bar, and popcorn – some things 2 days in a row. My body was SO not happy with me, but it was absolutely worth it.
  5. I dusted. This, friends, is monumental. I hold strictly to the belief that dust is a protective layer not to be disturbed. But, I do enjoy a little Fall cleaning…and so, see it while you can. There is no dust in my living room.
  6. I watched Fracture. I am going to ask Ryan to marry me. Wish me luck.
  7. I continued Anna Karenina. Mmmmm. Love Leo. His writing absolutely freaks me out- so very insightful. He has always been a bit intimidating to me, so Anna is the first of his works I’ve read. Something about Russia scares me… the names… the weather… the abundance of tall fur hats… the mafia …the men in tights. But, I like the book. I like it a lot.

People, what could you eat everyday for the rest of your life? Seriously.

I will say, without doubt or hesitation or fear of death by grease or constipation, pizza.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

16 responses to “Pssst!

  • Mandi

    I’m totally with you on that dust-as-protective-layer thing!

    I could (and would, if I could figure out any possible way to do it without gaining major weight) eat Mexican food, not just everyday for the rest of my life, but also for every meal.

    Wish we could make it up for your hay ride. It sounds super-fun!

  • erica

    i am too jealous of the hayride…
    why oh why dont we live closer to you!?!
    just think of the fun.

    i love the apron/dresses in your shop. too cute! can’t wait to see the new dresses. anything recycled is right up my alley.

    now we just have to wait to see what sex my little bean is…i might need you to start making some fun boy items.

  • sunday

    sushi, ice cream, and spaghetti in no particular order. and of course honey mustard as a sauce, but not with any of the above named foods. dusty is the chore i HATE the most. it grosses me out seeing the dust and i have a deep desire to clean it, but the actual dusting is such a bore and who wants to move that many picture frames? so jealous of the hayride. over christmas we are borrowing a dvd projector and watching christmas vacation on the side of our house. want to come for it?

  • diane

    THIS IS WHY WE ARE FRIENDS!

    i love pizza.
    me gusta pizza.
    eat it all. the. time.

    are you going out for Sushi Friday night with us, or what?!

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    watermelon.

    i’m in texas. i like this place…

  • KatieKate

    What the?
    Shanna-the-birthday-girl is in TEJAS??? That’s some present! I’ll send a sunset your way special delivery.

  • CortneyTree

    I’m a cook and I went to art school–I can’t pick a favorite food or favorite color EVER, it’s very frustrating. But, if at some point every day for the rest of my life, the sushi fairy visited me, well, I wouldn’t send the girl away.

  • CortneyTree

    Oh, and I am jealous of the following today:
    Your Hayride
    Sunday’s Christmas Vacation Screening
    Shanna’s Texas Adventure

    I would much rather participate in any of these activities than all the house fixing, house selling, house cleaning, house hunting brou ha ha we got goin’ on over here in Tennessee!

  • KatieKate

    Brou ha ha!!!
    That is fantastic.

  • Lia

    The power of suggestion makes me want to say pizza, but I know it is not pizza.. I just cannot think of anything else but pizza at the moment.

    Give me a day.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Sushi…..I MISS sushi….

    Sushi and Cheeseburgers. i could eat one of those everyday forEVER!

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Bombay Cuisine. Anything off the menu. Yees.

    Count us in for the hayride. I thought I saw that waffles were provided by the Mulders, but I see now it’s apples. I can’t decide whether or not to be disappointed.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    i also thought the mulders were providing waffles. i spent hours on my plane ride pondering waffles and hayrides and how the two would mesh. after thinking it perhaps a little odd, i decided that it was indeed a fabuloso idea, and i was nearly about to ‘expedia’ a plane ticket to michigan for the occasion.

  • KatieKate

    If you stay long enough, I will TOTALLY make you waffles.

    Let me go tell Abe he may need to share his bed…

  • Will B.

    The answer to the food question is French Toast. Hey Katie, it is a friend from the distant past during the California days. How is it going? I was looking for old friends on myspace, met up with your brother and he gave me the link to your blog. It appears as though congratulations are in order for multiple events since I last talked to you. It is great to see you are doing well and we will have to catch up sometime. Talk to you later.

    Will B.
    burgess68@excite.com

  • KatieKate

    Holy frijoles, it’s Will. Bec, IT’S WILL!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hi, friend.
    I shall talk with you directly. As soon as I stop jumping up and down.

talk to me

