It’s 8:54am and she’s down for her morning nap…this is much more normal.

So, whaddya wanna talk about today?
Trashy tv and it’s effects on our children (and my dreams)?
The benefits of organic gardening?
Legalizing pot?
The dangers of immunizations?
Politics?
Religion?

Nah. I think we’ve tackled enough on my happy-go-lucky blog for this week. Bravo to you who commented and joined in the conversation. Y’all are ridiculously funny, educated, and smart. Thanks for making me think. As a brief follow up, here are some links I found/you sent me whilst doing our internet research:

  1. FairIndigo is a catalog selling fair trade clothing…so, mostly out-of-country, but with fantastic business sense. It’s not super expensive and they have totally normal things- like this jacket that I want and organic jeans and beautiful bags.
  2. Wonderful, inexpensive, reusable grocery sacks for stashing in your car or purse. Hello, stocking stuffer.
  3. Sippy Cup debate and test-run on the Natural Family Living Blog.

SO.

Ya wanna talk about my new glasses? ‘But, Katie,’ you say, ‘I’ve never seen you wear glasses.’ Yah. This is true, except for a brief stint in college. ‘And, Kate,’ still others of you say, ‘don’t you have perfect vision?’ Also true. I do, I do. But. A serious overestimation on our FlexSpend needs this year has left Curt and I scrambling to spend as many medical tax-free dollars as possible before December 31, 2007. Therefore, new minor magnifyers (AND some sunglasses) for moi so my eyes don’t get blurry after sewing, knitting, and reading for 10 hours a day. And, they’re red. Money well spent, I’d say.

Not interested in my frames? Ok. How ’bout this photo: Any guesses? You’re taking too long. It’s a finger- my finger. It currently has two holes in it…see? A massive one on the top and a little bugger on the bottom. ‘Now what,’ you ask, would cause such an injury?’ Again, I cannot wait for you. Get on with it.

[Here’s where I launch into the long, poetic explanation.] Walk around my house and you’ll find many things I can and have injured myself with/on. I’m not the most graceful person on Earth and most injuries come completely out of the blue for me. Things happen…a lot. These 2 particular holes match up perfectly with a sewing machine needle attached to my sewing machine I was using this week while I was (with me?) sewing.

I SEWED MY FINGER. DownUp. Perfectly. Please don’t tell my mother. ‘How does one do this?’, you ask. Damn your innocence. If you weren’t so cute, I’d really dislike you. Truthfully, I really can’t tell you. It all happened so fast. All I heared was ka-CHUNK and then I saw a broken needle in the fabric and then I saw my finger and I screamed. In cases like these (random, suprise injuries) I tend to scream like Doc when he and Marty caught the pile of rags on fire with the model car. Follow? Loud. Forcefully, but short. I tried to put the last 2 seconds into focus, but I just simple couldn’t figure out how I actually got my finger in there… how the needle broke, but not in my finger… why it took me so long to notice… what to wrap the bloody mess in… etc etc etc.

*sigh* Ya just never know, people. Ya just never know.

Tomorrow I shall be taking a break from the machine and making some sock puppets with Trace and the gang. I shall be letting someone else handle the needles. If sock-puppet-making has never been on your calendar, I highly suggest it. It totally changes your perspective on the week.

Wishing you an injury-free weekend…I am,

katiekate

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

6 responses to “It’s 8:54am and she’s down for her morning nap…this is much more normal.

  • julie do you have to let it lenger

    blessed sewing machines. blessed you for saying damn on your blog. what a treat to know you and to love you – only if one person is neiked at a time…

  • KatieKate

    i only say bad words when i randomly hurt myself and when i hit non-moving objects (like a garage door- that’s down) with my car

  • miss christine

    I’m about to tell you something my friends never believe: I once stapled my thumbs… together. Yes, together. How does one do this? I have on idea either. But I have much sympathy for your klutz tendencies because I, in many ways, have more of them than you do. šŸ™‚

    Also, I LOVE the grocery bags! Thanks for sharing!

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    my grocery bags seem so boring now. perhaps i should tye-dye them. at least then they’d have some continuity.

    we have actually been searching all morning for stainless sippy cups, so gracias for the link. it looks like amazon.com has the cheapest version of all of those so far.

    and i’m sorry you sewed your finger. now i’m going to be paranoid to make anything again. i never even thought of that as a possibility.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    In college I super-glued my finger. To my thumb. I had to call poison control and do some research online to figure out HOW TO MAKE IT STOP.

    Vegetable oil. Who woulda thought?

    Maybe one (but not two) nekid person.

  • Wende

    Ok, so I laughed through your explanation of your sewing mishap. Because, uh… yeah… I’m just that gifted too! šŸ˜€ I hope you’re healing quickly.

    Sock puppets Rock. šŸ˜€ We should do a swap! šŸ˜€

talk to me

